We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cakes to die for!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Murrays

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Murrays
101 Main Street, Prestwick KA9 1JS, Scotland
01292738386
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 34 Restaurants in Prestwick
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cakes to die for!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Had afternoon tea here as we were staying in Prestwick for the weekend. The home baked cakes were delicious and the service excellent!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    9
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Lovely eclectic feel to the place, staff very friendly. Food is delicious and good sized portions. Great for lunch. Will definitely be back.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Best cafe in Prestwick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Visited a few cafes in Prestwick recently and Murrays comes out top time and time again. The surroundings are so welcoming and the service is consistent. I adore the iced ginger cake and the orange and cranberry cake is to die for!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NR GLASGOW
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Visited with my disabled mother. Interesting and welcoming place with lots of curious ornaments and a vast selection of various cook books, however unfortunately this is where the +ve review ends. We both ordered tea and scones, the tea was tea. The scones were small and dry and at best I would in my opinion below average, my mum was fairly upset to find a clothing fibre in hers. The disabled toilet facilities could be improved with more thorough cleaning. Reading previous reviews I feel we maybe visited on a 'off' day, however I feel that we will not be visiting again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quirky decor, friendly service and lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This was my third visit to Murray's and my first since becoming a mum and having a pushchair with me. The cafe is quite small so we folded the pram wheels and left them in the entrance and took the baby into the cafe in his car seat. The owner was really friendly and helpful. We had soup/sandwich, coffees and cake - all very tasty and nicely presented. I love the decor - the vintage china on display, selection of cook books to read and quirky furniture. The staff were really helpful setting up the changing station when I needed to change baby's nappy. Fab cafe - well worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murrays also viewed

 
Prestwick, South Ayrshire
Prestwick, South Ayrshire
 

Been to Murrays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murrays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.