We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated and faded!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Brewers Fayre Monkton Lodge

Brewers Fayre Monkton Lodge
Kilmarnock Road | Monkton, Prestwick KA9 2RJ, Scotland
01292 678262
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 33 Restaurants in Prestwick
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ayrshire, Scotland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Dated and faded!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Food was cold, service was poor though lassie at the bar who took the order was cheery enough. Toilets were not clean. Decor was worn and everywhere felt grubby.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    22
    18
    16
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“OK meal, friendly helpful staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Food was slightly less than standard I would expect from Brewers Fayre and food was served cold, however staff were very attentive and helpful and crockery, cutlery and glasses were immaculately clean.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Buffet not well stocked!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at the Premier Inn next door with our 2 daughters and went here for dinner in the Evening. They have a large soft play area inside which the kids loved and ran around in for hours which was great as we had a bit of time to eat and drink in peace!! We stayed on a Saturday and the buffet that night was the "Chicken Feast" so we opted for that. The chicken on offer was quite good for a buffet, the chicken wings were a bit dry and very small but the main problem was that there was never enough food out ot be chosen from. The place was very busy and a lot of people seemed to be eating the buffet so it looked like they couldn't keep up with the demand and when they did put some fresh food out it was gone within seconds as everyone was waiting for it and they only put a small amount out at a time. We also ordered a chicken dinner from the kids menu but it didn't get touched because the chicken was black (it looked like it had been cooked on a dirty griddle) and the mashed potatoes looked like they had been left under a hot lamp for a long time and were hard and unappetising.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“No return visit.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stopped for drink at 22:40 (during licensed hours) to find no draught beer available as taps/pipes had already been cleaned. Offered only bottled beers, to then be told that the cash drawers had been removed from the registers therefore nothing at all available! (All this accomplished before our arrival and well before last orders usual time of 22:45). Duty Manager arrives and gets very confused about actual times, till times, last order times and the time of our arrival. Offers no apology for having closed early, resulting in our having had a wasted journey. When asked about closing time as advertised, replies "it's up to us when we close." Nice to see that in such austere times there are still businesses out there paying their employees to turn customers away, and away we shall stay.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Ideal drop in.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Staff were very helpful and mannerly, service slow, but the place was very very busy, so our wait was acceptable under these circumstances. Food was lovely, and good portions. Although we did not eat at the buffet, it looked brilliant and spotless. Chef was in attendance at all time we noticed. They serve a special buffet everyday, with differing choices. It was nice to see young people working behind the bar and serving, all very courtious. We will most certainly drop in for a meal again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brewers Fayre Monkton Lodge also viewed

Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Brewers Fayre Monkton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brewers Fayre Monkton Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.