We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub grub, reasonably priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caprice

Caprice
112-114 Main Street, Prestwick, Scotland
01292 471571
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 34 Restaurants in Prestwick
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Tapas, Brasserie, Pizza & Pasta, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Caprice Bar Restaurant is situated in the heart of Prestwick town centre.
Mauchline
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good pub grub, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Located in the main street in Prestwick. Parking was an issue. Menu was nice and also good for the kids we had with us. Service was good. Food was pretty decent pub grub with a few wee surprises. Reasonably priced.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    27
    23
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We had our regular girls'lunch at Caprice today because it used to be very good.Today it was seriously not good. The tempura starters were good but mushroom pot watery. Only 1 of 7 main courses was ok. All of the seafood pastas and risottos were dry , tasteless and not big on seafood and some of it seriously overcooked . We asked more more sauce thinking we might get more seafood but only more sauce without seafood arrived. It wasn't busy so maybe that says something. Things need to improve before we go back

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Slow service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Could have been good but service so slow an hour wait to get the starters which were only ordered because the waitress informed the mains would be slow after the initial 45 min wait. Understand there was a large party to cater for but then why take a reservation if you cannot accommodate.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ribeye steak? I don't think so!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Went to Caprice on Friday and ordered a ribeye steak. What was put down to me looked like a slice of beef ham done in a George Foreman grill. I had asked for medium/well done and the "steak" I got was frazzled!!
When I queried the type of steak I was told that all of the ribeyes were precut to that thickness!
I was offered a fillet steak which I accepted but it was very thin also. My partner's meal had to be returned to the kitchen to keep it warm whilst my 2nd steak was being prepared.
I noticed a couple at the next table who had ordered chips with their pizza, and despite asking twice for them, they were delivered just as they were finishing their pizza. Not a great night out.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wick
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beer expensive compared to other places.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Had a good pizza, but at £3.85 for a pint, when across the road they were advertising £1 less :(
Most places were empty at 7pm, thought I was going into a place with some atmosphere, but so so quite I eat and left within 40 minutes.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caprice also viewed

 
Prestwick, South Ayrshire
 

Been to Caprice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caprice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.