We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class Scottish Hotel, Restaurant & Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Hotel Prestwick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton Hotel Prestwick to your Saves list
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   187 Ayr Road, Prestwick KA9 1TP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Prestwick
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Top Class Scottish Hotel, Restaurant & Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Booked an overnight on a 5pm deal and have to say this Hotel has exceeded all my expectations. We go away every month on a deal and this is now our No.1
It sits between Prestwick and Ayr (so handy for Ayr Racing) and a few minutes into the lovely, little town of Prestwick.
The decor and furnishings throughout are luxury modern and immaculately clean. The rooms have everything you would require and the bed and linen quality.
The Staff were friendly,happy, pleasant, polite, informative, sooo professional and couldn't do enough for us and actually looked as though they enjoyed their job and wanted to do their upmost to ensure you had a fantastic experience. Always smiling.
The Restaurants- we ate in Logans Restaurant for both dinner and breakfast and have to say the Service,food and quality was fantastic. We sent 'compliments to the Chef and their team' after each course as we were so impressed with the choice, quality, preparation and presentation.
We did go into Prestwick for a few hours but decided we wanted to return to the Hotel and sit in the modern Cocktail Bar.
Had the good old Scottish weather behaved itself the following day we would have booked an additional evening as we enjoyed it so much. However, we will definately love to go back and would even consider one of the Shows or during the Festive Period.
It is a rare find that you get everything soooo right which the owner does. Well Done!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Carlton Hotel Prestwick, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for such a fantastic review of the Carlton Hotel, Prestwick its reviews like this that really do make us love our job and motivate us to keep providing such fantastic experiences for our guests.

Kind Regards,

Robert Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    98
    23
    7
    4
See reviews for
59
165
13
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Quality location next to race course football ground and prestwick main bar area
Clean hotel -rooms very clean with all utilities required
Well organised friendly staff
Good food -breakfast superb variety
Will return again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Carlton Hotel Prestwick, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is always great to get such fantastic feedback. Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely words, we will pass this on to the team at Carlton Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Robert Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Had an overnight stay on a 5pm deal (£30 towards dinner, bottle of wine and breakfast). Hotel was a bit further out that we had thought (we don’t drive and had walked from Prestwick train station but thankfully it was a lovely day). Check-in was smooth, receptionist very friendly and helpful. Room was large and clean, comfy enough bed and ample pillows. We had to have dinner in Logan’s Bar as there was a wedding on in the Carvery. Great choice on the menu and the food was lovely. Service a bit slow but it was very busy. We had asked if we could keep our table as we knew the bar was busy and we were told yes no problem only to be asked a bit later to move to the exact same size of table at the other side of where we were sitting because someone wanted our table for dinner. As were just having a drink we moved! As the place was busy we went looking for our bill. Signed it off and went to our room. Once in the room I noticed we had been overcharged. Went down to reception and again the receptionist was friendly and sorted this for us (same girl as at check-in). We had decided to pay £3 per tray and have breakfast in our room at 9am on the Sunday. By 9.45 this hadn’t arrived. I phoned reception and was advised that the night porter had “thrown” out the breakfast requests but I am not sure if that was before or after it was supposed to have been passed to the kitchen. We were offered coffee/croissants for the room or something for the train journey but decided against it. We had wanted a cooked breakfast and breakfast finished at 10 and this wasn’t offered. We decided to check-out early and head home. Again the same receptionist was there (poor girl couldn’t have spent much time at home that weekend!). She kindly deducted some money from our bill. Other than these few mistakes we would certainly go back to this hotel but only on a deal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Haven't stayed at the hotel but have been to Logan's bar restaurant about once a month since May and always enjoyed dinner there. There's a wide range on the menu plus some specials. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Carlton Hotel Prestwick, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely words regarding our hotel following your recent visit to Logan's Restaurant. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and will pass on your comments to Head Chef Ian.

Hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards

Robert Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

.We stayed for my wife,s birthday on the 5pm .co.uk deal ( £30 towards dinner, bottle of wine ,AND breakfast !!!! ) .If Carlsberg done value for money hotel deal,s then this is it ! Wher e do I start ....the staff were all friendly and even asked the chef if he could add a main course meal from the old menu (which he did ) .The hotel itself has a contemporary feel to it and is tastefully decorated throughout with separate dining room,s .The hotel is situated on a main road but is far enough back that it doesn,t cause any noise problem,s .The bedroom was spotlessly clean and the bed huge ! Now to the best part of the carlton ....the fabulous food.My wife and I have ate in many nice places but this place is well worth staying for just for the standard of it,s restaurant,s .We had steak,s and have to say the quality of the cooking and the meat is truly exceptional.The starter,s were really good (you must try the Carlton scotch egg ) and the pudding,s were also well presented .Have to mention the reasonable price of both food and drink and the full Scottish breakfast was simply perfect with hot plate,s as well....! I know your thinking im only reviewing it so well because of the terrific 5pm deal but we were so impressed we would have paid full price , it,s that good .

Room Tip: Rooms have ironboard and iron and wifi,s available also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Carlton Hotel Prestwick, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a fantastic review of the Carlton Hotel Prestwick, its reviews like this that really do make us love our job and motivate us to keep providing such fantastic experience for our guests.

Great to hear of how you were looked after by the team and I am delighted to hear that you would visit again!

Hope to see you soon!

Kind Regards,

Robert Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hi to Luke and the Carlton Hotel Team
On behalf of the members of Ayr Writers' Club, I'd like to say a very big thank you and well done to managers and all Carlton Hotel staff for your part in the success of our first night of 2013.
From the smiley warm welcome at Reception to the staff bringing the extra chairs and tables, teas and coffees you all made it run smoothly.
Thanks to your organisation, we were able to concentrate on the writing, so we had a thoroughly enjoyable and productive evening.

Till next week, best wishes to you all,
Rhona Anderson
Vice President, Ayr Writers' Club

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Carlton Hotel Prestwick, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is always great to get such fantastic feedback. Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely words, we will pass this on to Luke and the team at the Carlton Hotel.

Kind Regards,


Robert Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Booked this hotel via a 5pm voucher, b&b, bottle of wine in room & £30 towards dinner. Arrived around 4pm, check in was good even though the boy was in training. Good quality carpets in corridors and rooms, you could see this hotel had been refurbished as it was modern throughout. Room was great, large comfy bed (2 singles together) with nice tiled bathroom & lovely toiletries. The wine was in an ice bucket with plenty of ice & wine glasses at the side. The only thing I can comment on is the table & chairs could have been of better quality. We had dinner in the bar, where the food & service was great, the bill for a couple of drinks & 3 courses was just over £50. Location could be better, it's between Prestwick & Ayr. Would definitely recommend & return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Do have dinner at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Carlton Hotel Prestwick, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Great Review! Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay at the Carlton Hotel Prestwick. Fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would visit again.

I am very pleased we were able to be consistent in providing you with the great service we give to all our guests.

Kind Regards,


Robert Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Hotel Prestwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Prestwick

Address: 187 Ayr Road, Prestwick KA9 1TP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Prestwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Prestwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel Prestwick 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton hotel is ideally situated in Prestwick, Ayrshire. Within close proximity to Prestwick International Airport and only a 45 minute drive from Glasgow Airport this makes The Carlton an ideal base, or stop over for every travel opportunity. The Carlton Hotel combines a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere with a modern streamlined interior. From the public spaces through to the 39 guest rooms the use of bold colour, rich textures and contemporary artwork creates a vibrant ambience throughout. The introduction of LOGANS Bar Restaurant compliments this unique environment, providing a first class experience whatever the occasion. From laid back dining to full on glamour enjoy the finest produce locally sourced with carefully selected wines. The Carvery restaurant situated in the Barony suite remains as popular as ever and welcomes customers old and new. Diners are able to enjoy a fantastic choice of carved meats with a wide choice of alternatives within a relaxed and spacious environment.Owners Robert and Vivien Kyle of the RAD group of hotels are well known for their attention to detail from the standard of service they and their staff provide, to the quality of interiors throughout their establishments. An extensive refurbishment programme at The Carlton Hotel has created a stunning new look to the front of the hotel offering a fantastic banqueting and dining area accommodating up to 220 guests. Whether you are looking for a once in a life time wedding venue, an impressive function suite or a great restaurant, the Carlton Hotel Prestwick will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carlton Hotel Prestwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Prestwick Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Hotel Prestwick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.