We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Hotel Prestwick

Save Saved
You added Carlton Hotel Prestwick to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   187 Ayr Road, Prestwick KA9 1TP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Prestwick
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Perfect wedding venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Just had our wedding at the Carlton and i can not speak highly enough of the place. From start to finish everything went like clockwork and all my guests raved about the venue, the staff, the food and the fish and chip buffet. If your looking for a venue in ayrshire look no further. We will be back after our honeymoon for a carvery for sure. Mark and Vicki Doolan 23/03/13

Nic your wedding co-ordinator made our day and experience so much more special when she took over and deserves credit for all her hard work and attention to detail.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    76
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
44
132
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Got a great Groupon deal to stay at this Hotel and must say we were absolutely delighted with our stay. The deal included a bottle of wine on arrival, dinner, bed and breakfast. The staff were all very helpful and friendly and the food was excellent from an impressive menu choice. None of the staf mentioned the fact that we were on a Groupon deal and there certainly was no negativity towards us. Really enjoyed our stay and have already booked to return to one of their Tribute Act Nights.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I Stay in Ayr myself and ever since the Carlton/Logans has been refurbished, The level of service, hospitality, food and overall experience has succeeded in impressing me and many of my family.

We come here for birthdays, tribute nights (which are amazing), Christmas party nights which are awesome, and even been invited along to weddings which are amazing. The staff are so friendly and never show any signs of stress which I know they must be under having to deal with most of the public lol.

Basically I would say that the Carlton is one of the best restaurant/hotel in Scotland by far. And very Good for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddington, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Last minute decision for a night away with no child.
Lovely hotel and staff

Refurb is amazing. When visiting family normally opt for ayr which sadly has no hotels which in my opinion can compare to this one.

Robert please look at doing similar in ayr and please put square sausage on the breakfast menu.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Scotland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I hosted a major dinner dance with 240 people here, and we also had all the bedrooms booked for guests. The staff were great at planning and running the night, couldn't do enough to ensure it ran smoothly. Attention to detail was terrific. Result was a fantastic event that everyone raved about.

The food was great, the hotel was able to provide choices for starters, mains and desert for 240 people, not many hotels will do that, most will only provide a set meal for an event this size.

We also stayed the night, despite living only 4 miles away! Bedroom was great, spacious, modern, we slept like logs. Breakfast was up to the standard of the dinner the night before.

Great event staff, great all round.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Myself and 3 friends attended the rod Stewart/Tina turner tribute night..what a fantastic night it was.The 2 course meal was cooked to perfection and the staff were very attentive throughout the whole night especially the bar girl called LAURA.Myself and 2 friends danced the night away to great music and a wonderful atmosphere ..Can't wait for the next tribute night

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This Hotel was chosen for its location. We had booked an executive room which advertised a King Bed. We arrived early at 12 noon and check in was not until 2pm but the very helpful and friendly reception staff were able to allocate a room straight away for us which was much appreciated.We were able to quickly change our atire before leaving for an event and we did not return until late evening. We were disappointed to see we did not have a King bed .Also my wife wanted a bath but was unable to as the water was not hot enough. Trying to get to sleep was a nightmare as the room was located above one of the bars and there was a constant thud as people went in and out of the door to that bar.The next morning we had to wait for about 10 mins for the water in the shower to heat up which was unacceptable. The breakfast was OK but the staff were not!. We were the only people in to start with and we found the 5 staff very unfriendly. They were more interested in dancing to the music than serving us. We even had to remove our dirty plates to another table as the staff were no where to be found. This Hotel was saved from having a worst score due to the friendly and helpful Reception staff. We stayed in room 206 which we do not believe to be an executive room although we were charged for one!!!.We probably will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back should be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Carlton Hotel Prestwick, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest.
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor, we welcome all feedback as it allows us to improve our customer experience.

With regards to the size of the bed, I would like to extend my apologies that the Carlton’s profile on booking.com stated that King beds were standard within rooms, this is in fact not the case. Since hearing of your complaint we have notified booking.com and requested that they change this information on their website as so not to disappoint customers. One point I would like to make is that all of the rooms within the hotel are Executive and I am sorry that 206 failed to meet your expectations of what an Executive room should be.

Addressing the shower/bath situation we are looking into the water issue and will hopefully find a way to improve these facilities for our guests.

I would also like to express my disappointment at your breakfast experience. Staff at The Carlton are often praised for their attentive service and I am sorry to hear that the friendly and helpful service you received from reception staff upon entering the hotel was not maintained throughout all aspects of your stay.

I welcome the opportunity to discuss this further, I can be contacted at Robert@rad.ltd.uk.

Robert Kyle
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carlton Hotel Prestwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Prestwick

Address: 187 Ayr Road, Prestwick KA9 1TP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Prestwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Prestwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel Prestwick 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton hotel is ideally situated in Prestwick, Ayrshire. Within close proximity to Prestwick International Airport and only a 45 minute drive from Glasgow Airport this makes The Carlton an ideal base, or stop over for every travel opportunity. The Carlton Hotel combines a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere with a modern streamlined interior. From the public spaces through to the 39 guest rooms the use of bold colour, rich textures and contemporary artwork creates a vibrant ambience throughout. The introduction of LOGANS Bar Restaurant compliments this unique environment, providing a first class experience whatever the occasion. From laid back dining to full on glamour enjoy the finest produce locally sourced with carefully selected wines. The Carvery restaurant situated in the Barony suite remains as popular as ever and welcomes customers old and new. Diners are able to enjoy a fantastic choice of carved meats with a wide choice of alternatives within a relaxed and spacious environment.Owners Robert and Vivien Kyle of the RAD group of hotels are well known for their attention to detail from the standard of service they and their staff provide, to the quality of interiors throughout their establishments. An extensive refurbishment programme at The Carlton Hotel has created a stunning new look to the front of the hotel offering a fantastic banqueting and dining area accommodating up to 220 guests. Whether you are looking for a once in a life time wedding venue, an impressive function suite or a great restaurant, the Carlton Hotel Prestwick will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Carlton Hotel Prestwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Prestwick Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Hotel Prestwick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.