We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very impressive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fernbank Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fernbank Guest House to your Saves list
Fernbank Guest House
213 Main Street, Prestwick KA9 1LH, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 19 Prestwick B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“very impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Hard to know what to expect at times but this B&B excelled. Wish I could have taken the bed home, it was that comfy. There were quite a few members of my family staying and all of us were taken care of beautifully. Thank you very much Dave and Linda.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airmanPrestwick, Owner at Fernbank Guest House, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Both Linda and I were delighted by your kind words. We enjoyed your stay as much as you obviously did and we were so glad that we were able to help your family celebrate such an important occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    24
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
47
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed here and for good reason, it is an excellent bed & breakfast, rooms are very clean and there is a large choice for breakfast whether you prefer hot, cold or both! Linda & Dave were as welcoming as the last time we stayed and welcomed us back as if we were old friends, they also gave us tips for the best places to visit and to eat out If we visit Scotland again then this will be the place where we would stay, would not consider anywhere else

Room Tip: Room 8 is our favourite as you do not have to enter the main guest house, access is through a patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Booked the Fernbank as an overnight stay when returning on a late night flight from our hoilday in June...This guest house is a real gem. The bedroom was imacculate with an ensuite, the bed was so comfortable didn't expect this comfort for the price we paid. Arrived late so Linda advised us beforehand how to enter the guest house. In the morning we were very warmly greated by Linda & David with an amazing full breakfast.

The dining area was compact but very well laid out and I enjoyed listening to the other guests thanking the proprioters for their stay or getting directions from the owners on how to get to places. All in all I would definately recommend Fernbank and would book again without hesitation so much so I've already recommended Fernbank.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airmanPrestwick, Owner at Fernbank Guest House, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are delighted that your stay was so comfortable and that we were able to help with your late arrival. Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I travel extensively throughout the UK on business and typically stop in guest houses. I have been a guest at Fernbank on over 20 occasions over the last 6 years which in itself is an obvious recommendation.
Your hosts, Linda and David, are always cheerful and welcoming and a mine of local information.
The guest house always appears freshly decorated and is immaculately clean. The rooms contain high quality furniture and particular mention of the excellent linen and towels should be made.
I always have the cooked breakfast which is perfectly cooked with obvious quality ingredients. Lots of other options are available with cereals, yogurts, fruit and juices etc available.
There is a car park at the rear of the house and a small pleasant garden equipped with seating.
Prestwick’s varied selection of restaurants, bars and multitude of independent shops are all on the doorstep. The locals are always friendly and welcoming. The seafront is a short stroll of approx 300 metres away.
I have stopped at maybe several hundred guest houses throughout the UK. Fernbank is undoubtedly the best of these. It is truly a home from home for me and comes with my highest recommendations.

Room Tip: The 2 ground floor rooms with direct access to the garden are my personal favourites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airmanPrestwick, Owner at Fernbank Guest House, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dean,

Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoy your time at Fernbank and look forward to seeing you again soon. For the record, you are a 5 star guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine NI
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I admit it, I'm fussy and hard to please and not much gets past me when eating out or staying somewhere. I am pleased to say that I had a pleasant stay at Fernbank recently. Everything was spotless, the bed was very comfortable (which can often not be the case in B&Bs), nice en suite bathroom with decent shower, a very good breakfast served by a very pleasant host and all for under £30 a night. I would have no hesitation in recommending Fernbank and will stay again.

Room Tip: I booked the de-luxe at a little extra but I would say that all the rooms are of a good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airmanPrestwick, Owner at Fernbank Guest House, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Google Translation
La ringrazio molto per i gentili. Siamo anche stati felici con voi e mi piacerebbe vedere di nuovo in futuro.

Sorry for the rough translation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamalou-les-Bains, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This was our first trip to Prestwick for a family wedding. We were warmly welcomed to Fernbank and stayed in a lovely, spacious room. The decor was imaginative and elegant and facilities excellent. The guest house represents very good value for money. We would not hesitate to book again. Prestwick is a charming little town with good restaurants and pubs. We particularly liked the Pinewood restaurant, almost opposite the hotel. The airport is a convenient 5 minutes drive away but we noticed no aircraft noise at all. Super breakfast. Thank you to our hosts.

Room Tip: The large room on the ground floor at the front of the house was very spacious with a lovely comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I have worked in travel and tourism for many years, specialising in the personal touch and have visited many hotels and guest houses.
Linda and David your Guest House is on par with quality hotels I have visited in the past, Clean, Comfortable and the breakfast was very enjoyable, and you both are great hosts. We are looking forward to a return visit. Elaine Murphy

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fernbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernbank Guest House

Address: 213 Main Street, Prestwick KA9 1LH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Prestwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Prestwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great, family run Guest house just 1.5 Km from Prestwick Airport. All rooms have power shower/WC, freeview TV, free Superfast Wi-Fi and tea/coffee. Close to Prestwick's many excellent restaurants, bars and cafes and superbly placed for all Ayrshires great golf courses. Arrive as Guests - Depart as Friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fernbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernbank Guest House Prestwick, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fernbank Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.