We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkstone

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Parkstone to your Saves list
Parkstone
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-8 Ardayre Rd, Ayrshire, KA9 1QN,, Prestwick KA9 1QN, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Prestwick
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous Weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Spent last weekend at the Parkstone - 4 middle-aged 'girls' celebrating one of our friends birthday!
The bedrooms were lovely and the beds very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and beautifully cooked. We had lunch out on both days but had dinner both nights in the hotel. We had bottles of wine both nights with dinner and didn't find the prices too expensive.
The hotel is in an excellent setting being right on the prom and has a nice beer garden at the front of it looking out to the sea. There is ample parking and the gardens are lovely. The hotel is spotlessly clean and very well maintained. We found it to be excellent value for money and would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkstone_Prestwick, Owner at Parkstone, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - it is most appreciated.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards.

Stewart Clarkson
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    65
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
162
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I do hope this review is published as my recent comments were not.
We spent one night on the 9th March on a DBB deal.
A young man named George gave us a warm friendly welcome, he also offered us a choice of rooms. Having relied on his recommendation we were not disappointed with the spacious clean sea view room.
Dinner was three courses and the standard and choice was exceptional, even a free glass of wine was served with dinner.
All staff we met were polite friendly and the most professional staff I have experienced an a Scottish Hotel. Top marks to them and their mentors.
After a comfortable night's sleep we enjoyed a sumptuous breakfast delicious smoked salmon.
We were checked out by the owner and would certainly return, in fact we can't wait.
Have highly recommended to family and friends.

Room Tip: Request a sea view and you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkstone_Prestwick, Owner at Parkstone, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - it is most appreciated.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards.

Stewart Clarkson
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Got a last minute deal on a Saturday morning for two nights with dinner on one night. The previous reviews seemed too good to be true so expectations were high. We had room 32 which we later found out was still to be refurbished but was still clean and comfortable. There's a nice family run feel about the place and the staff were all friendly and polite. The location is right on the esplanade and it's a good base for exploring the area.

We took our inclusive dinner the first night and really enjoyed our meals, so much so we didn't hesitate to eat in the restaurant on the second night also. Breakfast was very good on both mornings. Will come back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkstone_Prestwick, Owner at Parkstone, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review; it is most appreciated.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hopefully when you return all our bedrooms will be of the same standard.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel.

Kind regards.

Stewart Clarkson
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I booked last year for our party of 8 golfers which required a £45/head advance fee. Quite understandable as the peak season approaches for golf visitors to this special west coast of Scotland with Turnberry, Royal Troon, Prestwick and Western Gailes all in close proximity. The single rooms at £54pp including breakfast were quite small but all had en suite facilities and were quite adequate. Twin bedded rooms or doubles were £74pp including breakfast all with en suite bathrooms and rather more generous space. Although on three floors there are no lifts so this is a hotel for the fit and agile? My only real grumble was the absence of safety handles to ease access in and out of the bath to use the shower. With two metal hips, I have to be very careful with this manoeuvre and certainly use such handles if available. They are not costly and would help to prevent any bad slips. The breakfasts were freshly cooked and perfectly acceptable but offered without much imagination eg very little fresh fruit, choice of yoghurts, moderate coffee and packaged, cold pastry and bread items. However, the staff were most accommodating and pleasant so I would certainly return.

Room Tip: Certainly ask for No.12 as it faces the sea and offers great hanging and draw space in the entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkstone_Prestwick, Manager at Parkstone, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review - it is appreciated.

I take on board your point regarding safety handles and will certainly take this forward with our Maintenance Department.

I am sorry you found our breakfast only acceptable. There is always a choice of fresh melon, orange and berries available together with a basket of fruit such as bananas, apples, plums or whatever is in season. As to the "packaged" pastry - this is a requirement from Environmental Health as it is a self-service buffet. Our coffee is freshly ground with beans being supplied by Brodies of Mussleburgh.

I hope this answers all your points and hope you might visit again.

Kind regards.
Sandra Clarkson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freuchie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Although my party of 9 golfers have never been to Prestwick before,I can honestly say that my dealings with Parkstone Hotel have to date been excellent - no supplementary charge for single room was a really nice gesture and much appreciated.
This is our 17th year of a few days golf away and we have experienced many hotels during that time but I anticipate this year will be exceptional if the majority of reviews are to be believed.
The only establishment matching the really high ratings is my local hotel in Freuchie,The Lomond Hills and I am sure my group will have an enjoyable stay in The Parkstone.

Room Tip: Just remember this is a review in advance - I fully expect to give a better review on my return in M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkstone_Prestwick, Manager at Parkstone, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review in advance - that's a first for us. I hope your stay with us will live up to expectations. I only hope that the horrendous weather we have had over the last day wont affect your golf.

Kind regards.

Sandra Clarkson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

just had a great night through amazon at this hotel. great ,well presented and cooked three course meal, great views from the executive triple room wonderful breakfast with amazing variety, and not forgetting the staff. from the moment we booked in until the check out,any staff we came into contact with were a credit to the hotel. i would have no hesitation in booking this hotel in the future

Room Tip: watch which switch you use to turn the bathroom light on as the fan stays on quite a while,ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkstone_Prestwick, Owner at Parkstone, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - it is most appreciated.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return again in the future.

Kind regards.

Stewart Clarkson
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Just back from a 2 night stay at this hotel. We normally stay in Troon but decided to try Prestwick for a change as we have passed through it on numerous occasions. We decided on the Parkstone and we were not disappointed. As other reviewers have said it is perhaps a bit dated but it is a family run hotel still in the original family. Dinner in the restaurant on both nights was excellent with a good choice of dishes and served well presented by a friendly and pleasant staff. Breakfast was served in another room where there was a wide range of starters served buffet style with order then taken for hot breakfast which had a good few options apart from the standard Scottish breakfast such as kippers, porridge and omelettes. This appears to be an extremely well run hotel and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkstone_Prestwick, Owner at Parkstone, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - it is most appreciated.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return again in the future.

Kind regards.

Stewart Clarkson
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkstone

Address: 6-8 Ardayre Rd, Ayrshire, KA9 1QN,, Prestwick KA9 1QN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Prestwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Prestwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkstone 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seafront location; adjacent to Prestwick Golf Club and St Nicholas Golf Club. The Hotel has 30 ensuite bedrooms, restaurant, bar and caters for early morning departures or late arrivals. The Hotel is 2 minutes from Prestwick Town rail station and a five minute walk to the centre of town. Prestwick International Airport is two minutes by taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Parkstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkstone Hotel Prestwick
Parkstone Prestwick, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkstone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.