We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling. Do not attempt to stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Prestwick Old Course Hotel

Save Saved
You added Prestwick Old Course Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Prestwick Old Course Hotel
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   13 Links Road, Prestwick KA9 1QG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 Prestwick B&B and Inns
Waterford, Ireland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Appalling. Do not attempt to stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

In essence this hotel is very poorly run and the website is not an accurate portrayal at all. You have to ring for reception, but my MIL had no phone and therefore had to wait an hour and a half to be checked in. The rooms did not feel clean and the overriding smell of fried food was very offputting.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    11
    3
    7
See reviews for
12
19
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

My Wife and I had a very nice 2day break. the room was nice and big with a king size bed. The room was nice and warm. The shower room was very poor. The extract fan did not work. The shower was very bad. It was electric and very hard to regulate. I did report it but nothing was done to get it better. The breakfast was good and it was made while you waited.There was no evening meals it was only in the busy time that they made meals. We had to phone to get booked into our room. We would go back again if the price was right

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed on the 12th Feb and spent a weekend at this hotel, great location but there was no facilities open, on arrival there is no-one on reception, you have to phone a number for someone to come and give you your room key.There was no bar open and no evening meals on offer.The breakfast wasn't too bad although it was a bit of a wait. Hotel could do with a renovation to bring it up to a modern standard, wouldn't go back there although would return to Prestwick again, nice friendly shops and pubs.

Room Tip: Front rooms have nice view over golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

I stayed on the weekending the 5th Feb 2012, very friendly staff and a good hot and cold buffet breakfast. The room was spacious and clean. Though the hotel had a heating problem the staff were efficient and called someone out to attend to it and the problem was solved within two hours. We were offered other forms of heating for our room also, which made a difference. I would recommend this hotel to friends, family and would return! Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed here on the 4th and 5th of feb 2012, the place was tired old and dirty. was a very cold weekend and the hotel heating was broken so we were freezing. The staff were fine the breakfast was ok although had to be heated in microwave , the view was nice but would not go back in a hundred years. My advice ,stay clear if your looking for somewhere nice.

Room Tip: keep clear
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I stayed here on October 22nd + 23rd. Very friendly staff and good breakfast facilities. The town centre and bars were 5 minutes walk and there was a soft play area on the sea front for the kids. Very enjoyable stay and conveinient to get to Glasgow by car or train and also to Prestwick Airport.

I would recommend a stay and I will be staying again. My room has a double bed and 2 singles which catered for 2 adults, 2 Children and an Infant.

Room Tip: Book early and also ask about options at their other hotel (North Beach) 2 doors away
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

My wife I stayed for 2 nights on a special deal. For the price we paid it was good value. The room was spacious with a double & single bed. The shower room was by comparison tiny, barely room to turn around. Very clean with fresh towels each day. Breakfast was very good with a selection of cereals,fruit juices,fresh fruit,yogurts in addition to the cooked menu.
During our visit there was only an occasional seemingly ad hoc bar service & no restaurant facilities for evening meals.We were directed to the North Beach Hotel which has the same owners and is only 50 yards down the road. We ate there on the first night and it was ok. However no brandy at all & not enough in the bottle to supply a large malt whisky. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prestwick Old Course Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestwick Old Course Hotel

Address: 13 Links Road, Prestwick KA9 1QG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Prestwick
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Prestwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Prestwick Old Course Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prestwick Old Course Hotel has gone through many changes as from February 201l, renovations and refurbishments. It is situated in the heart of historic Ayrshire, opposite the famous Prestwick Golf Club. Transport links to the Airport and Train Stations are easy accessible. Walking distance to the Airport(no aeroplane noise) and to Prestwick Town Train Station, next stop Prestwick International Airport ending at Glasgow Central Station. Walking distance to the sea front and local High Street shops. There is a selection of quality rooms available to our guests ranging from single, double, triple and family rooms. They provide you with excellent comfort with front facing rooms overlooking the golf course and sea front. Flat screen digital TVs. Free wi-fi internet connection with tea/coffee and biscuits. Free off street parking for residents only, based on staying one night, free parking up to 2 weeks depending on availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Prestwick Old Course Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestwick Old Course Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prestwick Old Course Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.