We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brig O Doon Hotel

Brig O Doon Hotel
Ayr KA7 4PQ, Scotland
01292 442466
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 140 restaurants in Ayr
Price range: $41 - $52
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
east kilbride
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“First class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is my 2nd visit to this hotel. I had lunch there earlier this year which was excellent. On this occasion It was a very good friend's daughter's wedding. Everything about this venue is first class. The location is amazing. The food was simply divine. I cannot praise the staff enough. Nothing was too much bother. Very friendly & very efficient. Would certainly recommend this beautiful hotel to anyone & will definitely return. .

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    81
    39
    10
    18
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely lunch in beautiful surroundings. We opted for starters and puddings, which were great. Three of us had a tasty Cullen Skink, packed with potatoes and fish, and the other starter of haggis Scotch egg also got top marks. My chocolate tart was amazing, and rhubarb crumble and vanilla pannacotta were also delicious. The sticky toffee coupe proved too much for our friend, so we were delighted to help her finish it. Service was quick and courteous, and the bill of £53 ( including coffees) was good value.
One suggestion I would make is that they might vary the ( very unobtrusive) background music, as " Ye Banks and Braes" can lose its appeal when you listen to it constantly!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Topper of a Restraunt ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Brig o doon hotel has to be one of the most beautiful little hotels in the whole of Scotland. Located in a very historical part of the country. We ate at the restaurant and the food was magnificent. From the moment we walked in we were welcomed by the staff who took our coats and showed us to our seats. The food was served in a professional manner and tasted amazing. If you are ever near the small town of alloway, go to the brig o doon for lunch. You won't be disappointed

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I had dinner in the hotel restaurant on 26 October (party of four). The staff were excellent and service was outstanding from the minute we walked in the door. This hotel caters for many weddings especially at the weekend and there was one reception taking place while we ate in the brasserie. My fears of noise were totally unfounded and we enjoyed our meal in perfect peace. Food was excellent although the portions could have been slightly larger - maybe dependent on us asking for side orders; however the size of the excellent sundaes made up for that and we were quite satisfied after consuming these.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Evening meal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were most disappointed by our recent experience in the restaurant. We have eaten there many times before and the food is always excellent and to be fair it was this time also. But the service was dreadful. We booked a table late and it became clear early on that the hotel should not have taken our booking as the restaurant was clearly too busy for the staff to handle. We were met in the foyer and we asked if we could have a pre meal drink in the holding bar. We sat there for 15 minutes waiting for someone to appear behind the bar and it then took another 5 minutes to bring our drinks. We were the only people in the bar!

The service in the restaurant was woefully slow. The wait was entertaining though as we watched a party of 6 complaining about the fact that two of the main courses arrived and 10 minutes later the others were still not there, nor were the sides!

The food, when it came to us was excellent but spoiled by the wait.

The restaurant needs to staff up!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brig O Doon Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Brig O Doon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brig O Doon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.