We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dinner at very low Prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Racecourse Hotel

Save Saved
You added Old Racecourse Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Old Racecourse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Victoria Park, Ayr KA7 2TR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 hotels in Ayr
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner at very low Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I had dinner in the Old Racecourses dinning room and was amazed at the prices which were ALL Starters at £2.50
ALL Main Courses at £5.95
ALL Puddings at £2.50
I am a real " Foodie" as was my companion, and found the food to be perfectly cooked and presented. It was all piping hot and served promptly from a smiling waiter.
He and the Dining room manager struck me as being professional and friendly, with a relaxed manner.
The only reason I did not give 5 stars was because the decor was dated but it had a beautiful frieze and fireplace. It is certainly a lovely building.
This must be the best value food in Ayr. I live in Ayr but don't know of better, and there are great restaurants around.

Room Tip: I am reviewing the food and dinning room only as we did not stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    15
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
15
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Visited this hotel on several occassions for dinner. Very good value for money as can get 2 courses for under £10. Food is tasty and generous portion sizes. Decor a little dated but usually quite cosy in the dining room. Menu is quite simple and not an awful lot of choice but something there to suit everyones taste. Will visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My Sister and I decided to stay over after a visit to Ayr Racecourse on 21st September 2012. Our room was absolutely huge, very clean and very comfortable. The en-suite bathroom had two sinks and lots of mirrors, perfect for 2 females getting ready for a day at the races! The Staff were all friendly, attentive and we had our dinner at the hotel on Friday night and there was plenty of choice and the food was piping hot. The breakfast was the best full Scottish I have had anywhere and we would definitely go back and have recommended the Hotel other members of our family and our friends.

Room Tip: We were in room No. 1, lg. double bed and single (or suitable for families)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on 4th August for the one night. Our room was very clean and of good quality. We also had our dinner on the Sat night and have to say it was fantastic value for money, great portions and very nice indeed, The staff were extremely friendly and nothing was a bother for them. It was also very central to Ayr and within walking distance to where we had a tournament on both days.
Our breakfast in the morning was also made to order and very good indeed.
We will definatley return to this hotel and would recomend to anyone looking for a friendly good hotel in a central location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My Daughter had her 9th birthday "baking" party here. Staff were friendly and helpful throughout party and their attention to customer service made day extra special. Kids were able to enjoy sunshine in spacious garden to side of hotel which also had selection of toys to choose from. There are picnic tables in garden that may give young families a better view of the play area. Overall this hidden gem in Victoria Park is competitively priced as a restaurant and hotel and is worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayr
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We had a christening at this hotel on sunday and it was amazing the staff are very helpful and very attentive. It was a perfect location for our celebration as we used one room for the service and then went through to the dining room for our buffet, which was also great-yum yum. It was very reasonably priced for the amount we got and tea and coffee were free flowing. We were made to feel very comfortable and at no point made to feel we were over staying our welcome. This is the second christening we have held there and would not hesitate to book it again in the future. Many thanks to all who helped with our daughters special day. xxx

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Stayed just one night to meet up with touring relatives. Had lovely big room with bay window which was very clean, bright and comfy. Decor just needs a refresh. Ensuite tiny with just a shower (but a very good one) and also suffering a little bit of decorative fatigue, but still very clean. No frills in room i.e. no complementary soap, shower cap or anything. Had a sandwich at lunchtime in the hotel which was fine but didn't eat at night so can't comment on food quality other than to say breakfast was good, especially the bacon. Staff helpful and attentive. I think with a little TLC, some money spent and some extras offered this could be a real wee gem of a place. Is understandable though in tough economic times that there isnt money always about to invest. Id prioritise the windows in the bedrooms though as many were painted shut so it got very stuffy. The one in our room that did open had a broken sash cord so wouldn't stay open. Receptionist did however give me a pointy wooden wedge to keep it open..I bounded up the stair brandishing it like Buffy which gave my husband a laugh.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Racecourse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Racecourse Hotel

Address: 2 Victoria Park, Ayr KA7 2TR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Racecourse Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately run hotel, with 7 en-suite rooms. Real Ales and traditional bar lunches and suppers served in both our bar and restaurant, seven days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Old Racecourse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Racecourse
Old Racecourse Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Racecourse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.