We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Arrandale Hotel

The Arrandale Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Arrandale Hotel to your Saves list
The Arrandale Hotel
2-4 Cassillis Street, Ayr KA7 1DW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Ayr
Somerset
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good Value for Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Excellent location to beach any AYR, town centre. Free parking just outside hotel.
Staff very helpful and friendly. Bed in twin room we stayed for 1st night very uncomfortable with springs digging in my back, a bit shabby, but we moved into larger double room for rest of our stay ,with very comfortable bed. and nice furnishings. Ensuite small but more than adequate for our needs, lots of hot water for showering.
Bar did seem closed but all we had to do was ring bell and LInda would come and serve us, very large comfortable lounge to sit in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    11
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
17
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Methil, fife, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel last night 07/07/2012. We were originally booked into another local hotel which was closed on our arrival! Linda agreed with our booking agent that we could stay at her hotel and she would be reimbursed by our agent.

The hotel is situated close to the town and all amenities, also close to the shore all within walking distance.

On arrival we were greeted at the door by a very friendly lady, she was very attentive and informed us she had booked us into her last room. The hotel was lovely and the communal area was comfortable and stylish! There is a bar area where guests can purchase drinks (which we did later in the evening)

Our room was pleasant we noted that all soft furnishings were of good quality! Thick curtains at the window which kept the room warm and also blocked out all light for a very restful night’s sleep. The room was clean and they provided tea, coffee, (with clean unstained mugs) Shower gel and shampoo. The bathroom was clean and we were provided with lovely soft clean white towels.

We sat in the bar/ lounge area which provided very comfortable and relaxing surroundings and shared a bottle of red wine which we had purchased from the bar. Linda the proprietor of the hotel spent time chatting to us and was happy to answer all our questions. Very friendly lady.

Breakfast was between 8am and 9am where we were offered a good choice of cereals, juice and fruit, and also a cooked breakfast. Other staff members employed here were equally helpful and attentive.

Through work my boyfriend has lived out of a suitcase in hotels throughout the UK for a number of years. On some trips he has stayed in rooms that cost well into the £100's per night. On departure he told me that this is by far the most welcoming, friendly and comfortable hotel he has ever stayed in, and believe me he is a hard man to please!!!!! He is very critical of everywhere he stays and on this occasion the only downside was that we could not stay another night.

What I find most sad and quite irritating is that if I had read the reviews on here I would not have booked this hotel and that would have been our loss!! I honestly wish we had booked this hotel in the first instance! I think it speaks volumes that the hotel was busy and we were given the last room available. We will definitely return and next time it will be our first option for booking!

Thanks to Linda and her staff for a very warm welcome and positive experience.

Room Tip: Make this your first choice when visiting Ayr! If she is fully booked I wouldnt be surprised and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here with my parents and our 17 yr. old son, so we rented 3 rooms. All were lovely, my parents room was downstairs (nice for them not to have to haul luggage upstairs), lovely room! Our room was upstairs and had a nice vanity, very comfortable twin beds, nice furnishings. Our son had his own room with a nice bathroom. Because they didn't have a family room available they didn't charge us for the room our son stayed in. That was unexpected and very much appreciated. The young woman who checked us in couldn't have been sweeter!! She was so helpful, kind and accomodating! We met the owner, Linda, the next morning and told her what a lovely stay we had and what a gem of an employee she had in the nice young woman who checked us in. They made us feel like family and we couldn't imagine a more pleasant stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed in the arrandale for 2 nights and would recomend to anyone . Linda the landlady was very pleasant .the hotel is in a great location for Ayr town centre. The hotel is spotless and towels were changed the two days we were there.we will certainly go back

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

When my partner and I booked in everything seemed fine, the lady called Linda was very charming and pleasant. Although that is where it ended. The bedroom - decor wise, was OK for the price, but as i work in the hotel industry myself i felt the standard was very low. i do not believe dirty sheets with stains that are some what to be desired and someone else's make-up on the pillow is exceptable. Also the hotel was FREEZING! we were cold all night in our room, the heating didnt even seem to be on! The bar was closed all day/night and when we went to the reception desk a few times to ask for help and guidence - nobody was around and even shouting Hello didnt seem to wake them up! also, how are us ladies meant to do our hair with one mirror on the wall at one side of the room and plugs at the other?! Very poor. would not stay again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

called up to book and asked if it would be ok to get access to a microwave on 1 occassion on the stay to sterelise my newborn babys bottles on the stay. my baby tarted crying whilst i was on the phone so i passed my baby to my partner and just as i did the lady called 'linda' who i was speaking to me hung up the phone on me. tried to call back straight away and the phone rang out. as you will have guessed i never booked. SO MUCH FOR FAMILY FRIENDLY! DO NOT RECOMMEND!!!!! she obviously cant stand hearing a baby cry.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

room was dated with dirty sheets that didn't get changed in three nights nor did the carpets get hoovered. The bedspread and curtains where dirty and stained. The bedspread almost certainly doesn;t get laundered each time guests leave. bathroom was tiny. no bath, the door had broken off the shower cubicle and had been replaced with a curtain that didn't reach the floor and let water leak if the shower head pointed the wrong way, the towel ring fell off the wall. Breakfast was hot yet minimal. The bar was there but never opened all weekend. All in all this is a b&b not a hotel. The welcome was warm and friendly and the service at breakfast was swift. beware if you like to lie in as breakfast is only served between 8am and 9am. Check in isn't until 14.30 although check out is much earlier. The £60 per room per night plus £7 per person for breakfast it is definitely way over priced.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Arrandale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arrandale Hotel

Address: 2-4 Cassillis Street, Ayr KA7 1DW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Arrandale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrandale Hotel Ayr
The Arrandale Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Arrandale Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.