We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class guest house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Burnside Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Burnside Guest House to your Saves list
The Burnside Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   14 Queens Terrace, Ayr KA7 1DU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 62 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“first class guest house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We arrived at 5pm and were met by Liz, a very friendly welcome and first impressions were good. Then Liz showed us to our room (No 3). Wow, a huge room immaculately presented with a large king and a single bed (we had been upgraded) the decor was very good and we looked forward to a pleasant evening. Started by relaxing in the easy chairs set in the bay window reading a book. There was a modern flat screen TV with built in DVD player and a selection of films to choose from but we didn't need them.

A pleasant en-suite bathroom with a good sized shower and all expected facilities. We then went out for a curry to Rupee's as recommended by Liz just a short walk and well worth it (see desperate review)

Breakfast next morning was excellent with home made marmalade, perfect.

All in all a first class guest house with a lovely host, highly recommended :-)

Room Tip: No 3 if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
68
21
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Me and my friend stayed here recently for the bank hol weekend and loved staying here, Liz the owner is very friendly and the rooms are lovely
The breakfast was also very nice best we've had for a long time
will be back again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The owner Liz is such a lovely warm friendly person who greeted us both with fresh shortbread. Upon arrival, Liz even gave us a choice of rooms which was very decent and thoughtful (not many places will do that!). We stayed in the lovely front family room with en suite and quirky beautiful furniture. A menu was supplied for our choice of breakfast which was first class and well presented (equally as good if not better than 5 star Gleneagles in which we stayed the previous night). We will definitely stay here again if we are around Ayr and would highly recommend this place to others. Liz location is ideal for a lovely walk in Ayr beach/shoreline.

Room Tip: A real treat to stay in any of the rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Comfortable night, host was very helpful and could not do enough for us. We were in room 5 excellent bed very comfortable.only issue was the shower not used to " power showers found it hard to find an easy medium, and stairs a bit of an issue, glad we didn't take our bags up. Good choice of breakfast in the morning and served when we asked for it. Thanks very much

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

An amazing place to stay – a friendly welcome, a spotlessly clean room with all your home comforts and an excellent choice for breakfast. Normally a day tripper to Ayr but after staying at the Burnside due to a family event we will definitely be staying over in future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldhamstocks
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Alex & Linda A

Enjoyed our 2 night stay at Burnside B&B and Liz and her staff could not have been nicer the breakfast was excellent (including the tomato sauce.... bottle....Ha Ha and we would have no hesitation in staying there again So keep up the good work and best of luck for the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our 1-night stay in Room 2, in the rear, was comfortable.
The room was adequately-sized, with a small, but adequate bathroom added en suite. The heavy drapes kept out the light in the morning and the heater was on, though not necessary. We had a few technical difficulties with our charger, and Liz helped us diagnose the problem and was very, very helpful. We had no problem parking a block away, down the street. The room was pleasingly decorated and we liked the window seat.
She provided nine breakfast choices, and we enjoyed the haggis option and the fresh fruit & yogurt option.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Burnside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burnside Guest House

Address: 14 Queens Terrace, Ayr KA7 1DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Burnside Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent 4 Star accommodation centrally located in Ayr and close to seafront. Convenient for public transport, shops and restaurants with 30 quality golf courses within the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Burnside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burnside Guest House Ayr, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Burnside Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.