We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal but very poor customer service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brig O Doon Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ayr
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brig O Doon Hotel
Village of Alloway, Ayr KA7 4PQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 61 Ayr B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent meal but very poor customer service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had an excellent meal for a special occasion but on the evening we were there, it was very sunny and we were given a table in full sun. As there were no curtains on the windows, we asked for a change of seat and were given another table, still in the sun, and beside a radiator which was on!! We were told by the restaurant manager that there were no other tables available in spite of the fact that for the duration of our meal, three tables were all vacant. My wife and I could not wait to finish our meal and get out - it was the most uncomfortable surroundings - we didn't even wait for a coffee. I wrote the next day to the manager and waited over 10 days for a reply before I phoned them - that prompted a call from someone at the hotel but no apology. I wrote again to the group managing director - still waiting to hear from him!! It was such a pity that a lovely meal was spoiled by something which could have easily been rectified. Poor customer service.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    19
    10
    2
    9
See reviews for
32
37
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We were here as wedding guests. The setting is outstanding.
The staff are excellent, engaging and very efficient. We hardly noticed them but the food was served and cleared without a hitch.

We started with a salmon terrine with a lobster and potato salad, moist and nicely season salmon with smoked salmon wrapped around it. we then went on to haggis neeps and tatties with a whisky cream sauce, nicely presented and served piping hot. After a sorbet palate cleanser we had a main of either chicken or roast sirloin of beef. Chcken was moist with a hint of orange from the orange and walnut stuffing, the two thick slices of sirloin served slightly pink. White and milk chocolate dessert to finish. All in all very good and very impressed with the skills of the kitchen and waiting staff to get all the food out on time, hot and very well presented.

we will look forward to going back in the near future for a lunch or dinner

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Every time I come to Scotland and Ayr, I always pay a visit for at least a lunch here. The setting is superb in sun or rain. The gardens are stunning. The service always pleasant and attentive. It's not the cheapest place, but the quality is excellent in 15 years I've never gone away unhappy. It is my favourite place to go.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed here for a wedding and our room was amazing, absolutely beautiful. Really clean, sumptuous and totally gorgeous breakfast! Worth every single penny!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stopped here as it looked so pleasant, right next door to Burns monument and the lovely Bridge. Lunch was a very ample sandwich with crisps, simple enough but very well done. Nice staff and a reasonable price. Would definitely go back if in this area, nice memories.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We have been coming here ever since our wedding reception 29 years ago and cannot rate the place high enough. Great food, lovely surroundings, set in the heart of Burn's country. This was the first time we had tried their lunches and was suprised at the reasonable prices compared to what you would have been charged for the same at a lesser establishment south of the border! Whenever we come home (Scotland) we always make sure we visit for a meal. I have tried all the other Costley inns/hotels etc and although all are great, the Brig 'o' Doon will always be our favourite.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Bank Holiday Monday so our intrepid 4 booked a leisurely lunch at the Brig O' Doon. The restaurant was reasonably busy and we were seated by the maitre 'D.

Menus provided and we all noted that the 2 course special lunch menu at £12.95 had everything we wanted. Starters were well above the average for a hotel lunch menu and delightfully served. Mains of liver, a particular favourite of our party, and the fish and chips were super. A bottle of house Merlot complemented our meals. As it was a holiday we all succumbed to the the dessert menu!! Sticky toffee pudding and the pavlova were works of art. Coffee and fudge to end our lavish lunch and we left to pay the bill of £97 which we all agreed was well worth the extravagance.

Having read a few of the earlier reports about the restaurant staff and the poor service, we did think that the restaurant manager could do with a charisma implant as he was not at all welcoming however we could not fault any of the waiting staff and the service we received.

Food quality was excellent and its location in the heart of Burns country makes the trip special.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brig O Doon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brig O Doon Hotel

Address: Village of Alloway, Ayr KA7 4PQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Also Known As:
Brig O Doon Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brig O Doon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Brig O Doon Hotel to your Saves list