We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience at corner house, Ayr” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corner Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Corner Guest House to your Saves list
Corner Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1 Ailsa Place, Ayr KA7 1JG, Scotland (Formerly Dunlay House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 62 Ayr B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great experience at corner house, Ayr”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Booked this guest house though Glasgow great deals, fantastic value with excellent service you have to go to the Berkeley hotel round the corner to book in and have your meals but the Berkeley hotel was equally impressive and very opulent, the food both dinner and breakfast were delicious as was john's yummy passion fruit daiquiri wish I had tried a few more, the corner house was beautifully decorated and very clean the chocolates and robes were an added bonus and the bed was so comfortable can't wait to book again, only wish I had thought to ask if dogs were allowed as it turns out they have 2 guest rooms with separate entrance and a garden which they offer to dog owners.

Room Tip: Added bonus if you have an early start someone can come over from main hotel and cook your breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue10ayr, Guest Relations Manager at Corner Guest House, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hi There Joanne

I am sorry it has taken so long for us to reply to your kind review, we have been so busy and trying to get the computer set up web site and all other booking engines sorted, time has just flown.
We at the hotel are so pleased you were happy with our small town house and found things comfortable clean and good value. of course you may bring well behaved pets. we are all dog friendly here, and don't forget , if you are eating in the garden or terrace over at the Berkeley hotel your pet is welcome there too.
We are currently doing a winter deal so if you feel like returning do bring Fido!!
kind regards
Raimond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    11
    3
    2
    8
See reviews for
3
40
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

this guest house is now called the cornerhouse. my husband and myself spent a few days here, it was lovely the rooms are beuatiful i was really pleased, we had room 7 in the exstention our own entrance a wee courtyard with table and chairs . when we arrived megan the owner showed us round and asked us what room wee would like not only that she took us into the main building to see if we prefared a room in that , all the rooms were beuatful couldnt make up my mind so took rm7 . megan couldnt do enough for us we had such a laugh, we could have had breakfast in bed but chose to go up to the berkley hotel which is where you check in .the breakfast on both days at the hotel was fab all the staff were fantastic, megan asked me if on the monday i would like breakfast in bed at first i said yes, but on returnin to the guest house she was stayin all nite so she could make us breakfast herself . i said just to go home and we would have it in the hotel. we stayed chating and havin a laugh untill the wee small hours ,hubby was tucked up in bed snoring when i got in. we arrived as strangers and left feeling like friends so a big thank-you megan for making our stay wonderful, cant wait to visit again .

Room Tip: none all rooms are fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue10ayr, Owner at Corner Guest House, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Since re opening the guest house last year we have not been looking at trip adviser it seems all the guests who stayed with us last year wrote a review on trip for the Berkeley hotel our other place due to the fact that breakfast is eaten there so on the face of it , one would think we had a very quiet season...On the contrary, we had a huge number of lovely guests stay with us and like yourself said they would return
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, but can assure you I enjoyed your company even more....great wee late night chat and look forward to doing same again very soon !!!

Kindest regards
Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

after a little of a mix up....the owner Megan made sure that we were compensated and that we were made very welcome. Staff very nice and room was spotless as the rest of the guest house, breakfast was very nice and nothing was a problem, The room was tastefully decorated and attention to detail was noticable,everything was off good quality, bed was amazingly comfy. car parking was no problem and you were given a code to access guest house for those late nights in the town. great location, if weather had been better it was very near the sea,very close to shops,resturants and pubs in the centre perfect for the bus station. would consider trying Sister hotel the berkley which looked very nice.

Room Tip: phone direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue10ayr, Owner at Corner Guest House, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
Hey Mr Kezstar

How fabulous to read such a lovely review, for some time now we have been working hard to improve the Dunlay and to recieve such a great review means the world to us and proves there are decent people out there who appreciate our efforts
please come back and see us again some time soon and make sure you give me a call direct on 610170 so I can organise a visit to Berkeley for you
Regards
Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stranraer
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

Check in is at 4pm which we felt was quite late but we dutifully arrived at 5.30 to discover that they had had a hectic day and rooms were not ready. This would have been forgivable but no-one apologised and we were made to feel like we were just getting in the way. Staff semed very flustered but eventually presented us with a key. The lady owner then told us her chef had broken her arm so breakfast would be in her other hotel 15min walk (5min drive) away. After the disorganised arrival and still no apology we pointed out this wasnt ideal. i only wanted a simple "sorry" as i understand not every circumstance can be forseen but we were rudely told if we werent happy we could stay elsewhere! We had no other option but to go to this other hotel to have our breakfast. The food was lovely but it was spoilt by the fact this lady was serving it! i suspect she was still peeved at us for having the "cheek" to complain and barely acknowledged us. We felt very un-welcome and rushed our food. The next day we had breakfast in Dunlay and the atmostphere semed a little more pleasent (we were served by someone diff) Unfortunately it was too late to change my opinion of this accomodation and i wouldnt go back

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue10ayr, Owner at Corner Guest House, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Both myself and the team who work between our 2 places remember this lady very well, and they also recall hearing me say on several occasions how sorry we were for this unforseeable event, but whilst trying our very best to sort things out room wise this persons was quite obviously angry and unhappy with the situation no matter how hard we tried to resolve things quickly.
Indeed we did offer to find alternative accomodation for the people but they declined this, at no time did we expect them to leave and find their own alternative accomodation.
Their friends had also booked rooms with us and they allowed them to use their rooms to change in to enable them all to leave to go to a function, I am never knowingly rude to any one and would always treat civility with respect, It is unfortunate you felt my appologies not acceptable, or indeed did not realise I had appologised and can understand your frustration at your room not being ready but we can only do our best but then I also accept that this is not always good enough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east kilbride
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

my wife Caz and I spent a lovely night in the Dunlay, in the smallest room in the house, small yes, comfortable absolutely, shower enormous. couldn't have asked for more, the proprietors courteous and very friendly, breakfast fabulous, cannot understand how people can complain about this lovely old house in one of Scotlands' famous towns(auld Ayr that ne'er a toon surpasses for honest men and bonnie lassies) all in all we had a great time and will certainly be back. thank you for making our stay brilliant.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue10ayr, Owner at Corner Guest House, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
I have recently started to respond to all our review and just wanted to say a big thank you bigpara for your kind review, better my reply late than never!! Dunlay is what it is small and old with doors that creek and floor boards too. However, it is clean and comfortable and quite stylish.
I am delighted you as a couple you accepted the fact that it is small but also appreciated the comfort and service.
If you are ever back in Ayr please do come to our other place and share a drink with us in our new hotel, reviews of which can also be seen on trip advisor its called the Berkeley
Regards
Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

Dunlay House is ideally situated for taking a break in Ayr, being very close to both the town centre and seafront. The room we stayed in was furnished to a high standard and tastefully decorated, cosy and warm. The proprietor was extremely helpful in giving us any information and directions we asked for. The bed was very comfortable, and the breakfasts superb!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

I would recommend that other people stay at the Dunlay. I was made very welcome and found the guest house to have a very warm and comfortable atmosphere. Rooms were clean and cosy, and the location is handy for the beach and town. Nothing was too much trouble. A lovely lady and staff.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue10ayr, Owner at Corner Guest House, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Hello Tippler

I want to thank you for your kind review of the Dunlay. As a very small old house she is a little knocked and bruised but Raimond who mainly runs the house is a gem of all gems and takes great pride in keeping the house as clean as a whistle warm and cosy and indeed makes the guests a mean breakfast.
He will be delighted to read your review and possibly ask for a wage rise!!!! only joking. Seriously we thank you for sharing your findings with us on trip Advisor
Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Corner Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corner Guest House

Address: 1 Ailsa Place, Ayr KA7 1JG, Scotland (Formerly Dunlay House)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Corner Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corner house is a small 17th century town house situated on a quiet leafy corner 2 minutes walk from the beach & the town centre. The property is traditional with small cosy bedrooms which have adequate hagging space for short stays. our ensuites are all modern & reasonable in size with standard showers, many rooms have king size beds & we only use quality white linnen. The rooms have modern flat screen tvs, welcome tray, hair dryer,fresh towels & bath robes. Guests can enjoy a free! extensive breakfast choice at our Boutique hotel just a 3 minute walk away right up to 11.30am all guests are welcome to use the gardens, terrace & facilities at the Berkeley Boutique hotel & receive a 20% discount voucher to use against al a carte A small B&B both clean & comfortable and priced accordingly. PLEASE NOTE. check in is by arrangement to suit your travelling schedule ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Corner Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Guest House Ayr, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corner Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.