We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room needed as we had early morning flight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Ayr

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Ayr to your Saves list
Travelodge Ayr
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Highfield Drive, Ayr KA8 9SH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Ayr
south west scotland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Room needed as we had early morning flight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Comfortable room, good soundproofing from outside noise, but inside can be a bit noisy. Pillows a bit bouncy and high but I think that pillows are difficult to get right for everyone. Clean and well maintained hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
11
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The room was large & freshly decorated, the double bed was comfortable, an electric kettle & tea, coffee, sugar were provided and there was an LCD TV. The room was quiet. There was plenty of nearby parking and a Subway across the courtyard where you could get a nice cafe latte & bacon & egg roll for under £3 in the morning. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Excellent accommodation for an excellent price.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were greeted by a very pleasant young man on arrival, who welcomed us and asked about our plans during our stay. On arrival in the room, it was very clean and welcoming and had a lovely view of the Isle of Arran and the Firth of Clyde. I was pleased to find 4 of everything as other places we've stayed only provide mugs for the adults. The TV was also ideally situated to watch from the double bed as there was no other room due to having 2 singles up for the children. Very comfortable nights sleep. The shower the next morning was fabulous, even after 3 other people using the water, it was still hot and had high pressure. The best shower I've ever used! Just a shame there was no-one on the desk on leaving to bid us farewell and to pass on the comments too. Would be good if they offered wifi for longer than 30 minutes without paying. Would recommend to anyone staying in the area.

Room Tip: Great views on the entrance side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice, clean hotel with a modern decor. Great location if you have a car, Local shops include Asda & also a Frankie & Bennys restaurant right on the doorstep of the hotel. We visited with our daughter and niece and we all enjoyed our stay. Only exception was a family who let their young kids run amok in the hallway at 1.30am, otherwise would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballachulish, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for two nights in April. Room was fine - clean and tidy. There were two of us but only one chair in the room. Please reinstate the couches or at least add additional chairs. The floor was a bit noisy and I'm sure the folks below us heard every footstep. We certainly heard the elephants in the floor above!

Room Tip: Ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was all we required for the short stay. we had a very nice meal at Frankie and Benny's next door.the only small complaint was that there were no chairs to sit on. Staff at customer service desk very helpful..


  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have already sent to emails to travelodge complaints department ans have heard nothing which probably annoys me more. We stayed at Travelodge Ayr in April as a family break with my sister and mother. Our first night was great and comfortable. But the second night was horrible. After getting my toddler into their bed clothes, he went next door to my mum and sister while I took a shower. He was playing with his toys for about 15 mins and tben they decided to calm him down and get ready for bed at about 10pm. At 10.30pm there was a loud knocking on the door as if it was the police trying to do a raid. My elderlymother My mother answered the door to a very intimidating large angry member of staff who proceeded to shout at an elderly lady about how if there had been numerous complaints regarding noise. We were not aware of the poor sound proofing and the child had only been playing for 15 mins with his toys. He then proceeded to threaten my elderly mother about how she would have to leave if he has to come up again. My mum who is recovering from a heart condition proceeded to say ok but he kept repeating the same threat over and over again. This was the first time he had come up and there was no gentle pre warning before his aggressive disrespectful behaviour to my elderly mother. He was so loud that he was heard from the other room but they did not think he could possibly be speaking to an elderly perdon like that so did not invedtigate. I could hear him from the shower and my sister was also in the room listening to his aggressive behaviour. It was a terrible night with everyone too scared to even cough or go to toilet especially the little kids who were petrified to sneeze in case the bad man makes them sleep in the car. Noone had a relaxing night and it ruined our break. When my husband went and spoke to him he shrugged his shouders that he was basically in the right. Is this how travelodge train their staff in customer service and how to speak to customers. Was it really right that an overbearing aggressive male spoke to an elderly female in that manner. We have stayed in other travelodges and had encouraged family to stay there. But now we will never stay in travelodge especially the one in Ayr and will return to premierinn. The matter hasn't been dealt with even with emails of complaints and reporting to staff in the morning of the unsatisfactory treatment of my mother. I cannot believe how he was justified to use such threatening aggressive behaviour to my mother and to continue even after she agreed that no more noise even though the
noise had already stopped 30 minutes before he banged on the door.
I would give it no stars but had to guve it a star.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Ayr, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We’re truly sorry to learn that you did not receive a high level of customer care as we pride ourselves in delivering this exceptionally well to every customer every day. We assure you that we take matters such as these very seriously and we would like to investigate this further. To do so, please provide us with more information by using the contact us section on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Ayr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Ayr

Address: Highfield Drive, Ayr KA8 9SH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Ayr 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Travelodge Ayr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Ayr Hotel Ayr
Travel Lodge Ayr
Ayr Travel Lodge
Ayr Travelodge
Travelodge Ayr Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Ayr, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.