We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelodge ?Ayr” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Ayr

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Ayr to your Saves list
Travelodge Ayr
Highfield Drive, Ayr KA8 9SH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Ayr
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Travelodge ?Ayr”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recently refurbished with the new very comfortable king size beds, however the tv is old fashioned with poor recption and variable sound. Staff as in all we have been in are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
4
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel was great for me as I was going to Reus (Barcelona) from Prestwick Airport the next day which is around A 10-15 minute drive. Very clean and great value for money. Big car park friendy staff and great rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014 via mobile

travelling from North west Scotland heading to cairnryan I found myself heading for a sold out ferry. A quick book in here for an over night stay was easy and hassle free. Arrived to be greeted by a knowledgeable receptionist who pointed me to my room and advised me how long my forwarding journey would take. The room was basic but clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay again. Very comfortable beds and greatly situated.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jock In London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Needed a base for a couple of nights while in Alloway for a wedding...this fitted the bill. It's not where you would stay for a relaxing weekend away but as a handy base for a night or two it's ideal. There were references on here a couple of months ago to refurbishment, as far as I could tell that was principally the bed and bedding..the carpet didn't look that new. But both the bedroom and bathroom had been well cleaned. There's a seating area in reception but no other public areas. You'll see from Streetview that this Travelodge is located just off a main road but I didn't find it noisy. Probably handier to get to by car as it didn't seem to be well served by buses..at least a couple of miles from the seafront. There is a retail park with an ASDA, KFC etc just under a mile away but it's a good ten/fifteen minutes walk. There didn't appear to be other shops in immediate vicinity although there is a Frankie and Benny's just outside.
All in all it absolutely served its purpose of providing good-value basic accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Great value for money. Good location by main A77. Clean modern room comfortable bed, friendly staff. Only minor complaint was noise from other rooms and traffic on busy dual carriageway outside. Would visit again in the future..........

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

I booked this to break a journey home at 12 hours notice and was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the room and the price(£34) . There is a Frankie and Bennies next door if you wanted a hot meal although they open a little late (9.00am) for Breakfast. I used the Subway branch also next door which was very decent. I did not see much of the staff but when I did have dealings with them they were very friendly. I have no complaints whatsoever about this experience.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

I stayed here one Thursday night in November.

The Travelodge is on the main road into Ayr and can be seen on approach. Car parking is free and is shared with Subway and Frankie & Benny's.

There was no queue at check-in and I was upstairs to the second floor in no time. This hotel has been refurbished in the last couple of months and the room was very clean with the new look decor and new Travelodge bed. Wifi is payable at £3 for 24 hours and it's reasonabky quick.

Although it has been refurbished the work appears to be visual only as the floorboards are gone, particularly in the and around the bathroom. The noise was awful and could only have been worse if sitting in the room underneath.

Nevertheless I had a decent nights sleep. The new Travelodge beds are very comfortable and there wasn't a lot of noise from inside or outside which was good.

Overall it was a decent stay and I would consider staying again if in the area for the one night, however if staying longer I'd probably look elsewhere first as the room is very bare looking.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Ayr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Ayr

Address: Highfield Drive, Ayr KA8 9SH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Ayr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Ayr Hotel Ayr
Travel Lodge Ayr
Ayr Travel Lodge
Ayr Travelodge
Travelodge Ayr Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Ayr, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.