We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Ayr

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Ayr to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Ayr
Highfield Drive, Ayr KA8 9SH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 20 hotels in Ayr
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a night prior to flying out on holiday. Hotel is fairly close to the airport and there are a couple of restaurants nearby plus a 24hrs Asda. The rooms are clean but basic and there is not a lot going on down at reception or facility wise but for a bed to get your head down its hard to beat the value it provides.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    44
    40
    19
    14
See reviews for
43
50
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
wigtownshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great place to stay good value for money and extremely helpful staff. The gentleman on reception on saturday 23rd march was suoerb and assisted me with booking a last minute room when we were stranded and unable to get home. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Good value for money. We were able to book in advance and take advantage of cheap rates! Clean, comfortable, plenty of hot water. A very nice room. We were able to get a meal at Frankie and Bennys next door which was really good as well. Easy to find, but not a lot of parking for the size of the hotel, still we always managed to find a space. Staff were great and very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Extremely good vfm! It would be ridiculous to rate this other than 'excellent' for value at £15 for the night. Booked in advance and got exactly what we expected basic hotel room in a good location but a little noisy from the main road, plenty of local restaurants we ate at frankies and bennys on a Monday night and got a 25% discount (Monday night discount!).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

You know what you're getting with the Travel Lodge - basic accommodation at a reasonable price. This is true for the TravelLodge in Ayr also - where we stayed for two nights at half term. The family room was basic - pull out kids bed, TV, kettle, bathroom. We slept well. Staff friendly. Bathroom could have been cleaner but was fine once I wiped it over with a baby wipe.

The location was pretty good - easy to find right next to a Frankie and Benny's and a Subway. Asda with a cafe within 5 minutes drive. Ample free parking. 5 minutes drive into Ayr and Prestwick. A good base for exploring the surrounding area including The Robert Burns Museum.

Room Tip: Room 7 is on the ground floor overlooking the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Booked to stay at the hotel with my partner and would only return if they give us a different room, on arriving at the lodge the parking was busy but managed to get a parking space quite fast, we waited to after 3pm or they will charge you extra to gain ur room faster, When going into the reception area, was really clean and was a man on the desk, and we were shocked as he told us a story about his experience at a travelodge. {not what we wanted to hear}

On arriving to our room there was a cleaner still cleaning so waited couple mins and then I chapped the door she was happy for us to come in and wait will she finished the room off.

The room was very big, had a soft only had 3 pillows but the bed was very comfy,

The only problems about the room was ,

1.The bathroom floor was very squeaky every-time we stood on it.
2. There was funny looking stains on the ceiling and on the sides of the wall
3.Only 3 pillows
4. Floorboards above us felt every-time the people moved it felt like they were about to come down on to our room.



Overall Best bet is to try it your self and at the end of the day its a bed to sleep on.

Room Tip: Book early to get a good price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The location was excellent- Frankie and Bennys Restaurant is about 50 yards away. Also there is Subway take-away snack bar nearby.

The travelodge was very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Ayr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Ayr

Address: Highfield Drive, Ayr KA8 9SH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 hotels in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Ayr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Ayr Hotel Ayr
Travel Lodge Ayr
Ayr Travelodge
Ayr Travel Lodge
Travelodge Ayr Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Ayr, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.