We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Craig Holm Guest House

Save Saved
You added Craig Holm Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Craig Holm Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   7 Queens Terrace, Ayr KA7 1DU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 61 Ayr B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Friendly welcome, lovely room clean & spacious.great location.Fabulous freshly cooked breakfast. Will certainly return.Thanks

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    4
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
13
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

My husband and I had booked a two night stay at Canter Holm in Ayr. On arrival the owner showed us our room which was clean and beautifully decorated. The owner then told us that she now owned another property and that she had a room available which was larger and had a sea view. We went along to see the other property. The room was far bigger with lovely views over the coast line, so we opted for this accomodation. Magdalena was in charge she made us feel most welcome on arrival. Once we had settled in Magdalena issued us this a free parking permit which allowed us to park outside the premises. Our room was well decorated and clean and the view was breathtaking. Breakfast was more than adequate with plenty of choice. The only downside for this B&B the outside does not reflect the tasteful finish on the inside. Highly recommended. Minutes from all ammenties.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this B&B in August and were happy with the experience. Our room was spacious and clean and had a nice view of the sea. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom, though a bit small with a shower only, was adequate and clean. The breakfasts were good and filling and made to order. The woman who caretakes the B&B was a bit harried due to the weather as her bedding is dried outside and then needs to be ironed and the wind and rain caused some delays for her. The B&B is close to the sea and within walking distance of where the action is in Ayr. We were also able to do a couple of walks in the countryside and visited a few small villages during our stay in Ayr. I would recommend this B&B to travelers heading to Ayr.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We stayed here few days. Room was nice decorated, clean and tidy. We had a beautiful seaview. Location wonderful, very close to the seaside. Tasty breakfast and nice staff. And, what is almost the most important, bed was very comfortable! I'm sure that we will return in close future :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Craug Holm for one night on our way to Arran. Our room didn't have a sea view but was beautifully decorated although the en suite was a little small it was really clean. The bed however was fab and we both slept reaaly well. Magdelana couldn't have been more helpful - she even got up an hour early to give us breakfast as we had to leave early. I got the impression that nothing would have been too much trouble. Will certanly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

location good and breakfast good thats all the good things i can say about this place the room was on the top floor and was very poorly decorated and the shared bathroom was very poor there was nothing enjoyable about this place

Room Tip: my tip would be to try another guest house room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

Right next to the Sea with beautiful seaview rooms, all refurbished and clean, lovely vibe. Fantastic huge breakfast and very friendly and efficient staff.
We got an extra heater in since we hadnt booked before. It is within walking distance to the old town and to supermarkets. One gets a free parking permit from the B&B in front of the house for the entire stay.To Robert Burns Cottage it is only 10 min by car.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Craig Holm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig Holm Guest House

Address: 7 Queens Terrace, Ayr KA7 1DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Craig Holm Guest House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craig Holm has been fully upgraded and modernized in Autumn 2006. This fine Victorian townhouse; furnished to superior levels, offers excellent and uninterrupted views of the Island of Arran and magnificent sea views of the Firth of Clyde. Set close to Ayr's coastal facilities and great beach walks, Craig Holm; like its sister guest house, Canter Holm, is located close to Ayr town centre, bus and rail terminals, and a mere 15 minutes drive to Prestwick International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Craig Holm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craig Holm Guest House Ayr, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craig Holm Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.