We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th Birthday reunion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ellisland House Hotel

Ellisland House Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ayr
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ellisland House Hotel
Save
You added Ellisland House Hotel to your Saves list
19 Racecourse Road, Ayr KA7 2TD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 62 Ayr B&B and Inns
Hassocks,West Sussex, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“50th Birthday reunion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Thank you Ellisland House Hotel for providing a perfect venue for our School reunion. All the waiting staff were friendly and helpful,keeping glasses topped up and food delivered to the correct person, mostly without us realising they were there. The food was also of a high standard and piping hot. The function room was spacious providing us with plenty of room to mingle with pre dinner drinks and then sit down for dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    25
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
20
41
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I attended a school reunion at the Ellisland Hotel, Ayr. The food was wonderful and the staff were hugely accommodating of 34 rather noisy ladies!! We were fortunate enough to have the exclusive use of the conservatory which was wonderful. A few of the ladies stayed the night and were delighted with their accommodation. Would definately visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I have eaten here many times over the years and the food is always very good. We went on Saturday evening for my Mum's 86th birthday. Everyone enjoyed the evening and were very complimentary of the food.

The only thing I would say was that initially the service seemed rushed. We had only just sat down and not had the opportunity to order drinks when we were asked for our food order. I asked if we could have a little more time and to order drinks first.

The people who were serving us were polite and pleasant - a wee joke here and there is always nice. Very good in deed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

My first visit and certainly not my last. Cullen Skink was the best I've ever tasted, followed by Trio of Fish which was cooked to perfection. Mum's banana chicken was also amazing - I had to have a taste. Great surroundings, and staff were first class with their prompt and friendly service. I can't wait till my next visit.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Cullen skink was fantastic, not a single bone in sight. Main courses well presented and delicious, liver though was a bit chewy in parts. Quick efficient service despite the very young staff.

Only criticism is that our table was right in flow of traffic from kitchen and right beside ordering till, so was a bit draughty with constant waiting staff rushing past and not in any way private or romantic.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Couldn't fault the food, enjoyable from 'starter to sweet'. Cullen Skink was the best I have ever tasted, the beef bourguignon mouth wateringly tender, the lemon cheesecake, with raspberry, brandy snap dishes and vanilla icecream deliciously luxurious.
The only critiscism, on arrival the entrance was a little chaotic, waiting for a table meant getting in the way of the ultra efficient waitress who wanted to access the first dinning area(3 in total) and paying on the way out caused a bottle neck.
Grand location, wonderful menu, terrific service, must for all, but not all at the same time, and book a table first to avoid disappointment.

Room Tip: Book a table in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Can you guess that we loved staying here? Such a great hotel, incredibly friendly staff who were doing a great job looking after guests.
We had a suite under the eaves so there was a sofa bed for our 3 year old daughter and a massive bed for us in the other room.
Dinner was excellent, the wine list well thought out for the food and the service was quick and unobtrusive from a friendly cheerful waitress.
We want to go back, such good value, nice people

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ellisland House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellisland House Hotel

Address: 19 Racecourse Road, Ayr KA7 2TD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Ellisland House Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ellisland House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.