We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staff and management very friendly and helpful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elms Court Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ayr
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elms Court Hotel
Save
You added Elms Court Hotel to your Saves list
21-23 Miller Road, Ayr KA7 2AX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Ayr
edinburgh, scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“staff and management very friendly and helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Close to Ayr town centre this hotel offers good value for money, an excellent welcome and, for my daughter and I, offered a very comfortable room with a great breakfast. The room was very clean as was the hotel throughout, reflecting what can only be good management. We would both have no hesitation in coming back to this very friendly, well run hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
15
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnley
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I was in room 3. A small but adequate single room, clean room with a comfy bed. When I was taken into the room it was freezing. The very helpful receptionist, who carried some of my luggage up to the room, tried the radiator, it was on but not over warm. She showed me the bathroom (Looked new) again this was absolutley freezing and the only heating in it was the towel rail which was turned off.

I used the bar service for a snack which was very nice and again a nice friendly employee to serve me.

Anyway, not a bad nights sleep, but the room had not heated up at all.

I went into the bathroom and had to put a towel on the tiles as they were absolutley bitter, like they had been outside all night. I turned the shower on and low and behold "COLD". Gave up on the idea and had a sink wash.

Went down for breakfast and the receptionist again was really welcoming and helpful and the breakfast was very good with a good selection and well cooked.

Its a shame, the only thing that let my stay down was the room heating and the coldness of the bathroom and cold shower.

Room Tip: If you get room 3. Ask for an extra blanket
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Neuk of Fife
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A warm welcome by the receptionist started our stay on the right foot. The receptionist - sorry, I didn't note her name - had many roles and was excellent in all of them. Bar in the late evening, breakfast in the early morning,
The hotel was spotlessly clean and well decorated and my single room, though small, was comfortable and the en-suite, with shower over bath was perfectly adequate.
We ate out in the evening so I couldn't rate their dinner offering but the cooked breakfast was substantial and delicious.
We were in Ayr for a luxury day at the races and planned to have a two night stay. However sadly the race day was cancelled on our first morning and rather than spend the day aimlessly wandering around town in the pouring rain we opted to check out and return home. This resulted in our having to pay for the second night as the hotel has a 48 hour cancellation policy (I'm not complaining, just stating a fact. We knew the rules when we booked!)
Had we stayed longer I would have been better able to 'judge' the hotel and perhaps given a higher rating, but what we had was very pleasant and if I were to return to Ayr, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My cousin and her husband always stay in this hotel when they come over from Canada for a visit. I joined them for dinner a few weeks ago and it was a pleasant experience. We ate from the set price three course menu and it was wonderful value. The food was freshly cooked and portions were ample. I enjoyed the meal and will return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

stayed here over night,the staff were great and freindly couldnt be any more helpful, room was spotless bed was so comfy great nights sleep, breakfast was lovely and plenty of it . would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed two nights here in August and haven't a complaint. Porridge was cooked to order and the room was clean. Hotel five minutes from train station and about the same from the centre of Ayr.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 days last year and check in was quick and friendly.. Our room was spotlessly clean and beautifully deorated. The bathroom had obviously been refurbished and had a great power shower with plenty of hot water! Breakfast was lovely with all the usual selection - well worth getting up for. We ate in the restaurant one night and the food was delicious. The menu had plenty of choice for all tastes. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elms Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elms Court Hotel

Address: 21-23 Miller Road, Ayr KA7 2AX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Elms Court Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elms Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.