We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding venue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Western House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Western House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Western House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Craigie Road, Ayr KA8 0HA, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Sizzler
Ranked #5 of 20 hotels in Ayr
scoty
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“wedding venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

although a bit expensive, charge for room only & breakfast seperate at £14 per person, apart from that great location , views looking out to ayr racecourse, which would be good on a raceday . Our room was spacious & very clean , with little extras , defintently would go back ,also the staff were lovely

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, Revenue Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our rooms clean and spacious. With regards to the charge for breakfast, could you please call our Operations Manager, Gary White on 01292 294990, to discuss, as our Full Scottish Breakfast is only £9.50 per person and Gary would like to investigate your £14.00 per person charge further, but requires further information from you. We look forward to hearing from you.
Kind Regards
Pam Davies
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    236
    78
    20
    13
    6
See reviews for
72
155
4
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, England, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stopped by for dinner with the kids during a motorhome trip around Scotland.

When we arrived there was a wedding in progress so we sat by the fire and ordered our food.

Great service and lovely food!

I'm a bit of a burger lover and this one was epic!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, Executive Chef at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to review your dining experience at Western House Hotel. We are delighted that you found our Western House Burger the 'best burger in a long time'. We are always aiming for 100% satisfaction from our customer and guests. Great Food, great service and great surrounding makes happy customers and guests. Look forward to your return visit next time you are in Ayr.
Many Thanks & Kind Regards
Donald McInnes
Executive Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I couldn't fault anything about this hotel. The staff, the food, the room. Everything had little extra added touches that made this a memorable stay. One of the best hotels I have stayed in for a long time. Well done. Definitely worth a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Kind Regards
Gary White
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My Son and his Beautiful Bride got married in the picturesque garden and had their reception in the hotel. Everything was absolutely perfect. Many family members stayed overnight and were delighted with everything.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, Wedding Co-ordinator at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your very kind review. We are so pleased you all had a wonderful day.
Kind Regards
Jean Kerr
Wedding Co-ordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed there for two nights as a small get away before visiting my wife's family in Scotland.

We got a deal for 50 GBP a night without breakfast, which was real value for money - probably because it was off-season during the week. Our room was in the Courtyard building, but really spacious and nice. There were bathrobes and slippers on the bed when we arrived and biscuits on the night stand. The room was clean, the bed comfy.

The only downside was the missing electrical outlet to connect a hair dryer in the bathroom, as well as no real heater in it - so it was cold and steamed up when taking a shower.

All in all, a really nice place, that took care of the small things to make the stay enjoyable. Would go there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you found our Courtyard Rooms clean and comfortable during your stay. For Healh & Safety purposes, we don't provide electrical sockets in our bathrooms (apart from the shaving sockets), but we do provide electrical sockets above the dressing table for the hairdryer to be plugged in to. We look forward to your next visit to Western House Hotel.
Kind Regards
Gary White
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockerbie
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Had the pleasure of attending my daughters wedding at the Western House in the first week of October. Not coming from the town, I was not sure what to expect - although knowing my daughter, I knew the standard would be high!

To summarise
- Our wedding party was made to feel most welcome
- Events host could not have been more helpful
- Venue for the photo shoot, based around the pond, was a delight.
- Quality of food for the wedding meal was of a high standard
- Dimensions of the reception room dimensions were more than adequate for our party of 106 - and could easily have accommodated more
- Hotel suite was roomy, comfortable and just enough of a luxury touch to make you want to spend more time in the bedroom

If pushed, my ONLY quibble, was a poor quality sausage at breakfast - otherwise, as with the meal the day before, a high standard overall. And that IS my only quibble,

Room Tip: Spend a little and secure a bedroom in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, Wedding Co-ordinator at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your very positive comments. We pride ourselves in assuring a very high standard is maintained for all our weddings. With regards to the standard of our breakfast sausage, all our meat is sourced from local butchers, however your comment regarding this has been passed to our Executive Chef. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forwrad to welcoming you back to Western House Hotel for any future visits to Ayrshire.
Kind Regards
Jean Kerr
Wedding Co-ordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had our wedding at the Western House and we cannot praise the staff enough. We were lucky enough to have our wedding outside in their beautiful grounds which are kept immaculate. The service was certainly high standard, friendly without being imposing. The hotel itself is beautiful. The Courtyard may look drab from the outside but on an earlier visit we stayed there and the rooms were excellent with lots of little touches, such as slippers, dressing gowns, nibbles. This hotel far outshone many we have stayed at. So guys keep doing what your doing it works. Feedback from family and friends after the wedding, they loved it, they felt so relaxed and said it was one of the best weddings they'd been too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, Wedding Co-ordinator at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest
We are delighted that ou both had a wonderful day. Making wonderful memories for our couples is our main priority. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards
Jean Kerr
Wedding Co-ordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Western House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western House Hotel

Address: Craigie Road, Ayr KA8 0HA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ayr
#2 Business Hotel in Ayr
#4 Family Hotel in Ayr
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Western House Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning 4 Gold Star hotel located in Ayrshire, 5 minutes drive from Prestwick International Airport and with easy links by rail and road to Glasgow and Edinburgh city centre. The hotel, set in mature landscaped gardens, offers executive bedrooms and suites in the main house, and well appointed modern courtyard rooms.The 2AA rosette Jockey Club Restaurant offers an excellent dining experience using a high quality local produce prepared by our executive head chef.The hotel is an excellent venue for Meetings & Events and is the ideal base for both business and leisure guests. With free on site parking for over 250 cars and complimentary wifi.Western House is an ideal base for exploring the surrounding areas with many shops and golf courses nearby. Burns Country, Culzean Castle, and the Isle of Arran are within easy travelling distance.Awards Received:Scottish Hotel Wedding Team of the Year 2012/Scottish Reception Excellence Team Gold Medal 2012/Senior Wedding Planner Fellowship 2012/Scottish General Manager Gold Medal 2012/Scottish Rising Star of the Year 2012/ Scottish Rising Star General manager of the Year 2012/The Scottish Hotel Reception Team of the Year 2010/Visit Scotland’s Customer Care Award for Serviced Accommodation 2007/Hotel Review Scotland’s Customer Care Hotel of the Year 2009/ Hotel Review Scotland’s Scottish Wedding Hotel of the Year 2007, 2008 and 2009/Hotel Review Scotland’s National Hotel of the Year 2009/The Scottish Hotel & Review Guide Scotland’s Scottish Hotel of the Year 2009 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Western House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Hotel Ayr
Western House Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.