We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why choose a chain hotel when you could stay at The Crescent?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 26 The Crescent

Save Saved
You added 26 The Crescent to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
26 The Crescent
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   26 Bellevue Crescent, Ayr KA7 2DR, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Commonwealth Games.
Ranked #2 of 61 Ayr B&B and Inns
Bath, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Why choose a chain hotel when you could stay at The Crescent?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

Make no mistake: this is no cheap alternative to an anonymous room at the Holiday Inn. The Crescent is a gem of a little guest house, where proprietors Joyce and Michael Brennan will give you a warm and personal welcome. We occupied two of the bedrooms: a beautifully appointed double bedroom for us and a feminine and breezy loft twin room for our girls, both with ensuite bathroom. The king-size double bed provided our best night's sleep of our two weeks in Scotland! The attention to detail is impressive, from the tea and coffe making facilities in every room, to the fluffy white towelling robes in the wardrobe. It is obvious that Joyce has enjoyed designing and furnishing each room to give it a very different feel and appearance. We enjoyed the breakfast too: traditional cooked for the girls, porridge, smoked salmon and scrambled egg, and smocked haddock and poached egg for us, not forgetting the large bowl of delicious, fresh summer fruit! We are already looking forward to our next visit...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    245
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
140
18
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

This is the second time I have stayed at the Crescent and will certainly be back. The house is very close to the town centre and many eating establishments.

Michael & Joyce are really warm and friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. They make you feel like you are part of the family.

The rooms are beautifully decorated - in fact I would say stunning - and are all bright and spacious. All the little extra touches are there to make your stay extremely pleasant and comfortable.

The choice for breakfast is superb and is served in lovely surroundings - it's so relaxed you feel like you are in a friend's house.

IIf you are looking for luxury at a very reasonable price then this is the place to go

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

Had another enjoyable stay, it's situation makes it perfect for sampling the delights Ayr has to offer. Michael and Joyce are great hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them. We will visit again soon!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstone
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

Booked a quick overnight Sun thro' Mon & was very pleased to find that Mike upgraded us to the 4-poster room free of charge which was absolutely superb. So clean & comfortable. Also very pleased to find that standards havent slipped at all here. (Previous visit May 2008). Everything down to the breakfast & attention to detail is second to none. I would urge people to book up & enjoy the comfort & attention that Joyce & Mike provide. Long may you both continue to keep up the great standards.
Mr. E.T.Burns.Johnstone

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrteam, Owner at 26 The Crescent, responded to this review, May 12, 2010
Thank you for your very kind and sincere comments.

Regards

Joyce & Michael Brennan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

Having travelled all over Europe and spend many nights in hotels and B&B's, The Crescent is definitely one of the best places we ever stayed in. The warm welcome, very clean and comfortable rooms, great bed in which one sleeps deeply, and the delicious breakfast made us tick every box. You probably won't find better value for money at such high standard. (by Guy and Gunhild, Mancunian Belgians)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

We were visiting family and needed somewhere central to stay. We travelled with our 5 year old daughter who was put up in a small bed in our room which was perfect. The breakfast was lovely with warm hosts. Arran Aromatic bath products were a nice touch and i would recommend this place to a friend.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

This was the first time I had stayed in a guest house so I wasn't sure what to expect, but from the moment we arrived I felt we were visiting friends. Mike and Joyce went out of their way to make us feel welcome and to ensure we enjoyed our stay.
The rooms were beautifully furnished and it was clear that a lot of thought had gone into the needs of the guests. There was ample choice at breakfast the following morning and the food was excellent.
I really cannot think of anything negative to say, we were travelling with another couple and they felt the same. I wouldn't hesitate in going back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 26 The Crescent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 26 The Crescent

Address: 26 Bellevue Crescent, Ayr KA7 2DR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — 26 The Crescent 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star bed and breakfast situated in the town of Ayr. First class Scottish Hospitality. All rooms en-suite. Traditional breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your 26 The Crescent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No. 26 The Crescent Hotel Ayr
26 The Crescent Ayr, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 26 The Crescent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.