We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts, excellent accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miller House Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Miller House Guest House to your Saves list
Miller House Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   36 Miller Road, Ayr KA7 2AY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 62 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great hosts, excellent accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were four golf buddies traveling to Scotland for the first time. For the West Coast portion of our stay, we selected the Miller Guest House, mainly from the reviews of others. It turned out to be an excellent choice. We were greeted by our host upon arrival, and were shown up to our very clean rooms. The off-street parking and separate guest quarters really added to the experience as we could come and go as we pleased. Our hosts were also very accommodating, the day of our departure, they made special arrangements to have an earlier breakfast for us so we could make our tee time.

The location of the Miller Guest House was fantastic, with easy walking to various restaurants that we ate at during our four nights there. It was close walk to the shore and shops, and a friendly pub right across the street.

Thanks again for our first introduction to Scotland!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    23
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
98
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Very friendly and relaxed welcome. The accommodation is a good size and is clean. We were a family of 4, one of whom is 18, and so the loft conversion which has a separate room was ideal. The free wifi and off street parking. Excellent breakfast, made to our convenience. The hosts were very accommodating and always greeted with a smile. Recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed one night. The hosts were friendly and considerate. Gave us tips on where to eat which turned out very well. Our room was large and comfortable. Very clean. The breakfast was excellent. The situation is quite quiet but very close to shops, restaurants and station in the city centre. Its own entrance is also a plus as the hosts live in a separate part of the house. The house itself was quiet and they had bookcase on the way up to our room for those who had forgotten reading material.

Would certainly return and recommend it to family and friends.

Valerie Norris

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at Miller House and we are hooked. The children (now 11 and 9) absolutely love staying here, as do we. The hosts are friendly and accommodating, the location is perfect for the railway station, beach and town. We found a pub round the corner showing football and serving lovely food and ten pin bowling across the road. There is a childrens park just in front of the beach that we walked to every night before supper - takes about 5 minutes to walk to beach and park. We can highly recommend the cooked breakfast and is well worth paying extra for if not included. Room 5 - the loft room is clean, light and airy with a spacious bedroom, separate lounge area and bathroom which has a great view over the garden and rooftops. There is a TV with DVD player and coffee and tea making facilities in the room.
We spoke to other guests who said its a great place to stay if you like golfing and the host says he can arrange discounts in the local area.
We borrowed books, umbrellas and DVDs.
Have told everyone who is willing to listen to go and stay here if they go to Scotland. Will hopefuly be returning again next summer.

Room Tip: Room 5 - loft room is lovely for families and larger groups. There are stairs to climb... I belie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Very clean hotel,excellent breakfast.
Will certainly come back.
Nothing to much trouble.
Walking distance from railway station and a short walk to the city centre and the beach.
Spotless rooms and nothing to much trouble for the owners.
Never heard any noise from outside or anybody in the other rooms

Room Tip: All rooms double glazed and quiet.Very handy for beach,city centre and railway station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Doesn't feel like a guest house, more like a hotel feel. The let rooms are separated from the main house and has its own entrance which we liked. Will generally stay away from B&B's as Always hated the feeling that I'm staying in someone else's home, but this place is great. The room we had was very spacious and well appointed, breakfast was awesome and the location perfect. Will certainly come back.

Room Tip: Room 1 is spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Miller House the night before our scheduled flight from Prestwick Airport. Off road private parking is available to the rear of the property and we were greeted by the owner upon arrival. He was really welcoming and showed us to our room which exceeded our expectaitions in terms of size and quality of decor. The owner was happy to provide recommendations for local restaurants, all of which were in walking distance of the Miller House. Upon returning from a lovely meal at the Tree House restaurant, we jumped into the enormous bed which were dressed with crisp sheets and allowed for a great nights sleep. Following morning we turned up for breakfast approximately 40mins earlier than we had informed the owner we would. However, this didn't appear to be a problem and we were promptly served a fresh and hearty breakfast which set us up for the day. All in all, an outstanding guest house at an extremely reasonable price. Will definitely return if I ever require accommodation in Ayr.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miller House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miller House Guest House

Address: 36 Miller Road, Ayr KA7 2AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Miller House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miller House is a large Victorian bed & breakfast which is situated on Miller road in Ayr's town centre close to all local amenities, it is a spacious contemporary accommodation with its own private entrance and private off road parking. Recently refurbished to a high standard. 6 foot beds in most rooms, WI-FI & LCD TVs. We can also accommodate large parties and golf can be organized if you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Miller House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miller House Guest House Ayr, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miller House Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.