We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Newton Arms

The Newton Arms
111-113 Main Street, Ayr KA8 8BX, Scotland
+44 1292 261674
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 145 Restaurants in Ayr
Price range: $11 - $23
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Pizza & Pasta, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Our traditional, Scottish, Pub was built in the late 1800s and has been operated as The Newton Arms since then. In 2012 we undertook an extensive refurbishment- keeping the original bar but bringing a modern, relaxed and stylish environment to the old pub. We have modernised the exterior too with a return to the original black flags and white wash and a superb beer-garden out back with tables and a relaxed space for when the sun shines!Join us for a fantastic craft beer or ale or a delicious glass of wine and enjoy our library area for an intimate evening with friends. Dine at any table in the pub and try something tasty from our new menu with some amazingly creative and delicious options: from awesome chicken wings to slow-cooked pulled-pork or the famous Newton Burger, we have something for everyone. And if it's a first-class, authentic pizza you crave, we have our home-made range of gourmet pizzas all week (and 2 for £10 Wed - Fri). Try something different and enjoy The Newton Arms. Our kitchen is open Wednesday to Sunday 11.30Am to 8pm
1 review
“Lovely Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I visited The Newton Arms for the first time today for lunch with two friends and have to say I was very pleasantly surprised. The food was delicious and we were even given a wee treat of some free ice cream! Very reasonably priced and great service. We will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewtonArms, General Manager at The Newton Arms, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We really appreciate it. Great to hear you enjoyed your first visit to the pub and we hope it's the first of many!

We only took over the pub just over a year ago and gave it a complete overhaul so we're trying to spread the word and get people to come and try us out and hopefully be pleasantly surprised like yourself.

Great food and drinks at reasonable prices is important to us as well as excellent customer service. To ensure we stay top notch we rely on feedback from our customers so thank you again for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    6
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ayr 9 in a row reunion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Just to say a huge thanks to pat the (general manger ) and all his staff for making it possible for my familie in friends to celebrate my fathers life time achievement award and allowing him to get together with supporters he had not seen in over 40 years.
A fantastic night ,great food & band provided and we felt a warm welcome a soon as we entered the bar.
Also just like to say that night made over £200 through ticket sales and raffles and this will be split between Malcolm sergeant charity & the Kano foundation for young children

A great credit to yourself and all your staff.

Many thanks
John Paul cahill family,friends,members of Ayr 9 in a row

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewtonArms, General Manager at The Newton Arms, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
You're very welcome. Glad everyone had a fantastic time and enjoyed the food and live music. Celebrations should be memorable and our team here work hard to ensure that they're just that.

It was an absolute pleasure to host your father's celebration and well done on the money raised that's going to two well worthy causes! See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Family annual trip - meal - The Real David Cameron and Daughter and Granddaughter ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Just finished fabulous dinner,great bar,all 3 meals were superb quality! Nothing was too much trouble,great hospitality, thanks to everyone! See you soon x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewtonArms, General Manager at The Newton Arms, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
You're very welcome Carolann. We've tried to create the perfect pub for families that is suitable for all ages. It sounds like we've succeeded! We're pleased that three generations of the Real David Cameron's family enjoyed their meal. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food while chilling in the beer garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Really cool and funky menu, really had a bit of difficulty making the decision in the end I went for haggis nachos and a baileys cheesecake with a super amazing choc sauce

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNewtonArms, General Manager at The Newton Arms, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Great response to our new menu, thank you very much! And thank you for posting a cracking photo of our Baileys cheesecake.

Deciding what to choose from the menu is certainly a big problem - just means you're going to have to come back and try something different the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
“Defo a must try!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Was in there for dinner Wednesday night....had Bubbas Shrimp and Grits, Pulled Pork Chiabbata and Baileys Cheesecake. Thoroughly enjoyed it, highly recommend the pulled pork!! staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and it was a quick and efficient service. Defo a must to try!!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewtonTeam, General Manager at The Newton Arms, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thanks for the positive feedback and excellent recommendation. Glad to hear our pulled pork is a winner and it's good to know our food and service is consistently top notch. We're continually making improvements to deliver the perfect pub and it sounds like the changes to our menu has been a success. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Newton Arms also viewed

Ayr, South Ayrshire
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 

Been to The Newton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Newton Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.