We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Balgarth Pines

The Balgarth Pines
8 Dunure Road | Doonfoot, Ayr KA7 4HR, Scotland
+44 1292 442441
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 140 restaurants in Ayr
Cuisines: Dessert, Scottish, Wine Bar, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Balgarth Pines is a contemporary, ambient Bar & Restaurant in the bustling suburbs of Ayr providing high quality food & drink in a relaxed, modern and comfortable venue. The familiar buzz of the Blaw Wearie Bar, aptly named after the par four 3rd hole at the famous Turnberry Golf Course, has returned with the bartenders offering craft beers, fresh cocktails, selected wines and a warming whisky list. Open 7 days, 9am 'til late.
Cumnock, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I enjoyed food, service was good as well. I had tried before to get in, so it can be busy, but it was a good meal. It was between 20-30 for 2 of us. Good.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    122
    53
    28
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worksop, United Kingdom
1 review
“special occassion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Excellent food & service:-) food came quickly beautiful presentation & hot excellent choice of starters,mains & sweets steaks cooked to perfection nothing was to much trouble for the staff after having meal in restaurant moved across to the pub side where they were having a pub quiz which we were invited to join in if we wished made to feel very welcome would 100% recommend to anyone

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Birthday Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

I was treated to dinner here for my birthday. The setting was lovely, the service great and the steak just melted in your mouth. Starters and desert were fab too. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“96TH BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Visited Balgath Pines tonight to celebrate our Uncles 96th birthday.
Ramp entrance to rear

Meal was thoroughly enjoyable hot well presented and delicious,
Staff all very helpful and pleasant

We all had cold drinks wee bit pricey £2-40p for small bottle sparkling water same for fresh orange and lemonade.

Will definitely return can thoroughly recommend

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First visit. First class.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

First visit since under new management. Very impressed by new decor and fab food. Even live music every Friday. Oh! and a nice pint of Guinness

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Balgarth Pines also viewed

Ayr, South Ayrshire
 
Ayr, South Ayrshire
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 

Been to The Balgarth Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Balgarth Pines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.