We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a difference 6 months makes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Horizon Hotel to your Saves list
Horizon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esplanade, Ayr KA7 1DT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Ayr
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“What a difference 6 months makes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We visited this hotel for Sunday lunch 6 months ago and it was terrible. The surroundings and our waitress were lovely but the meal was a shocker so bad as to be inedible and a burger served on a slice of toast!!!
We decided to be brave and try for a revisit. What a difference- night and day. From 12 till 5 they offer 2 courses for £10 - a great deal though we had the ribeye steak which has a £5 supplement. The menu has been revamped and offers a good range of dishes. It would certainly appear that there has been a big change in the kitchen crew which was certainly needed given our previous experience. Everything was nicely presented, well cooked and tasty. The service was first class. The waitress even checked with us that the heating was at a comfortable level for us. The restaurant was quiet though , so will be spreading the word about the massive improvement.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    91
    35
    10
    3
See reviews for
44
118
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
inverclyde
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

have stayed in this hotel several times, the most recent being February, food is fantastic in restaurant( especially cooked breakfast) cocktails fab, staff great, rooms lovely, and great location for walks, cinema, pubs, etc def worth staying in

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just spent a very pleasant few days at this hotel, on arrival the reception is very well decorated with helpful welcomming staff. Our room was decorated to a good standard and had lots of space.
Dining room was a real pleasure to enter large windos allow you a great view of the Firth of Forth
Our mael was a true delight well cooked food served by friendly staff.
We both reccommend this hoel to others and we are sure that you will have a great time also

Room Tip: Try for a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

stayed here for 2 nights on a groupon deal and was pleasantly surprised good base to explore ayr and the Ayrshire coast .we had dinner on the first nite and you choose from the a la carte which was really good, excellent food and price of a bottle of wine was reasonable. second nite got a bottle of wine free with dinner which you pay for , I will be looking out for this again if goes on groupon .

Room Tip: if booking in advance try for a seaview , looks over to arran well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My Husband and i stayed at the Horizon Hotel for two night break with one of the glasgows great deal offers ,we had a lovely room everything you could ask for very clean plasma tv on wall even ironing board and iron in wardrobe ,which you dont always get in other hotels ,staff were all lovely and friendly bar /lounge area really nice and relaxing ,hope to come back again soon .

Room Tip: We stayed in room 19 on first floor lovely bright room ,facing side very happy with this room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Husband and I had a fantastic break at this Hotel, we stayed thanks to todays great deal and we def both agree we got more than we expected for our money.
The hotel staff were all lovely and really friendly and the food was excellent. The bar/lounge area very nice and relaxing. You have to try the cocktails especially the ...bonny berry sour which is Drambuie based, Mmmmm!!
We didnt eat in the hotel the second night but only because we had managed to get another deal for meals in the West of the moon pub/restaurant which is in the town and the food was excellent there too but we did head back to the hotel for another delicious cocktail.
Would have gave the hotel 5 stars but the bathroom was really needing some TLC but was clean. So all in all a fantastic time and do hope to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights & it was brilliant !

Staff were extremely friendly & very efficient. Food was fantastic too !

Bedrooms were lovely & cosy & very quiet, just what we needed.

Only downside was the shower really needs updating & possibly a full length mirror could be added.

Excellent value for money & we will definitely be back & recommending to all our friends & family.

Well done guys !

Room Tip: We stayed in room 12 which was at the end of a corridor & is an excellent room if you want peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Address: Esplanade, Ayr KA7 1DT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
#9 Family Hotel in Ayr
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horizon Hotel is the ideal location and a popular venue for holidays, short breaks, and activities, weddings and business functions.Offering quality and affordability, the Horizon Hotel is an award winning three star Scottish Hotel providing Scottish hospitality, and friendly efficient service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horizon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.