We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Savoy Park Hotel to your Saves list
Savoy Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Racecourse Road, Ayr, Scotland   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence 2014
scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

spent a couple of nights here last week with my family
we found the rooms to be clean tidy and spacious and the area the hotel is situated is extremely quiet

the staff were very friendly and helpfull and pointed us in the right direction
re the local area
the food in the hotel from breakfast through to dinner was excellent
great location for the beach and town centre
all in all a good experience

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    127
    24
    13
    7
See reviews for
119
275
14
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

This hotel is in a lovely position within walking distance of the beech and town centre and the staff are very polite and helpfull. The biggest problem we had was cleanliness and the size of the bathroom. When we arrived there were some stains on the carpet and the bin hadn't been emptied. The glass shelf in the bathroom had not been washed either. However, the bed linen looked to be clean and fresh. The bathroom was tiny and the sink was so small you banged your head on the wall when brushing teeth! We also couldn't fill the kettle because the sink is too small - you had to ask for a jug of water or fill it one cup at a time. You also couldn't lock the bathroom door because it was in two halves and the gap in the middle was bigger than the lock.The meals were a bit of a dissappointment as well after all the good comments we had seen on here - very standard. We ate out after the first night.We did enjoy our stay but felt it was nowhere near value for money.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

We had reserved two rooms here. One for ourselves and one for our teenage daughter. Both rooms were far from clean. The carpets were stained and generally dirty and had not even been vacumned.The wallpaper was peeling,the paint chipped and dirty and in our daughters room there were dirty socks in one of the drawers. The hotel in general needs a massive overhaul as the carpeting on the stairs is threadbare to the third floor(no elevator by the way),the bathtubs are stained and rusty and the place looks tired in general. The ouside of the building is quite lovely however and the location is good. The hotel staff was not particularly friendly and the breakfast was just adequate.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

Staff very helpful and friendly, worked very hard to keep a very boisterous wedding reception running smoothly, did a grand job. Only down-side to the weekend was finding a pair of socks and underpants under my bed the following morning. As I was staying with my sister I would like to know what I had missed in the middle of the night? Who-ever stayed in room 3 on the 31st july 2009 maybe able to collect them from reception.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

Our recent stay could not have been better. It's like staying in a big old country house with modern bathrooms - lovely! However, the thing that makes this hotel excellent is the staff. They are all so professional, helpful, willing and efficient, it's just such a lovely experience - their customer service is second to none! Special mention too about food - there's really no point in going out; the food here is simply great. If you are going to Ayr, this is definitely the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

Friendly and comfortable.I travel with work a lot and stay in hotels too frequently.This hotel is cheaper than Holiday Inns etc and there is no comparison.At last a decent nights sleep,no banging doors,shouting and reving cars.Lovely old warm hotel.Food was first rate and if you have a dog with you the beach is just a short stroll away.Highly recommended in fact looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehaven cumbria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

my husband and i stayed here recently in the executive room which was large with lovely furniture and great bathroom the only negative is the bathroom tiles are very slippery when wet as i found out when i had a nasty fall.however the rest of thehotel was lovely , well kept and clean staff were very helpful and pleasant and the gardens were gorgeous. we met up with four freinds at night and decided to eat in our hotel as the meals were buy one get second free. we could not believe the quality of the meals for the price which was £25 for 6 meals un beleivable we enjoyed it so much all 6 of us dined there for a second night highly reccommended !

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savoy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Park Hotel

Address: 16 Racecourse Road, Ayr, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ayr
#1 Business Hotel in Ayr
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Savoy Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Savoy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Park Ayr
Hotel Savoy Park
Savoy Park Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.