We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRILLIANT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Savoy Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Savoy Park Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Racecourse Road, Ayr, Scotland   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 hotels in Ayr
dundee, scotland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Loved this place, the staff are wonderful-nothing too much trouble-okay could do with a bit of a facelift in parts but would stay again. Food was great both breakfast and bar meals top notch ang
d great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    310
    98
    23
    14
    6
See reviews for
94
217
12
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have just spent two nights in this hotel with two friends, I think this is the best hotel we have stayed in in Britain. Check in was excellent, Staff were excellent, food was excellent and great value!!
I would recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Superior romm if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I booked a two-night stay at the Savoy Park prior to staying with friends in Glasgow. I booked less than a week in advance and got an excellent deal. I was travelling alone, which makes it even more important to choose the right hotel. It is within easy walking distance of the town (including the lovely Gaiety Theatre) and a couple of minutes from the esplanade - lovely for walking and views out of season. The room was clean and pleasant; the staff were friendly; the lounge bar and restaurant were welcoming and the food was good (I ate breakfast and dinner there both days). Worth noting that there is no lift and my room was on the second floor, so with a bad knee and a heavy case that was tricky. However, I should have checked that in advance, or asked for a room on a lower floor. It's only a minor point and certainly didn't spoil my enjoyment of this lovely hotel. Access to all the attractions of Ayrshire, such as Culzean Castle and the Robert Burns Museum, as well as Glasgow itself, is excellent.

Room Tip: Check accessibility as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We saw this hotel on booking.com, it looked lovely, rooms appeared to look large. We booked for two nights B@B for £140. when we arrived we were shown to room 10, the bathroom was just a little smaller than the bedroom ! wallpaper peeling off, we couldn't get a shower in the morning because no cold water was passing through, water was scolding hot. We had an evening meal which was lovely, staff were very friendly, but day 2 we decided to check out. we will not return

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Staff are so helpful. A staff member called lyndsey is exceptional, after being let down by the b&b i had booked into for an over night stay for my nephews wedding. I had no where to change, i was shown to a lovely small changing area & even though i hadnt booked in to the hotel i was given excellent service. The whole wedding day was fantastic from start till finish with fantastic food served both at the main meal & later at the buffet. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I booked this 3-day trip to Ayr with Stena Line from Belfast to Cairnryan because my husband had been ill throughout July and had to cancel his motorbike trip with the "lads - aged between 50 and 60"!!! The weather was extremely kind to us. On arrival at the hotel we were very warmly greeted by the 2 reception staff who told us to park the motorbike beside their window where it was agreed they would be on "motorbike minding duty"! One of the reception staff then accompanied us to our room on the first floor. We had booked an Executive Room to give us extra space for the motorbike gear. We were in room 6. There are a few steps up to the bathroom in this room but this was not a problem for us because we have no mobility problems. The room and bathroom were very spacious. The hotel was comfortably warm during our stay. This is very much appreciated when travelling on a motorbike. The hotel is full of character and the dining room is lovely. The breakfast was fantastic, buffet style but the eggs are cooked to order, delicious, so many time eggs served as part of the buffet are overcooked. We chose to eat in the hotel on both evenings and every dish was quite superb and beautifully presented. The location of the hotel is brilliant - 2 minutes to the seafront and approximately 10 minutes to the town centre. The gardens are stunning. The staff were all fantastic, nothing was too much bother for them. Towels and bedding very clean. We would certainly return to this hotel and would highly recommend it to other travellers.

Room Tip: All rooms in the hotel can be viewed on the website so you can choose your room before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We ate here while staying in Ayr x food was yummy, the staff we really friendly and the dining room was beatiful. Good vegetarian options :) I would certainly recommend this place to anyone visiting Ayr.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Savoy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Park Hotel

Address: 16 Racecourse Road, Ayr, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ayr
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
#4 Business Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savoy Park Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Savoy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Park Ayr
Hotel Savoy Park
Savoy Park Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.