We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, convenient location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fairfield House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Fairfield Road, Ayr KA7 2AS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Ayr
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, convenient location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

A comfortable, well appointed hotel. Would quite happily stay here again. Recommended.
Unfortunately for us on the second day, there were two large parties with numbers of children who, while not being particularly badly behaved became boisterous as the evening wore on. There are two dining rooms here and each party positioned themselves in a different one - we could not get away from the noise. The spa was also full of kids every time we tried it. After bedtime doors were banging like a French farce as the various rooms full of kids were settled. Not the hotel's fault and it is difficult to see what they could do differently and I understand families need a break too. But somewhere quiet would have been nice!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    88
    25
    10
    7
See reviews for
34
147
6
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Booked on the strength of the reviews here and wasn't disappointed.

Great location although, whilst the hotel clearly has had money spent on it, the room was a little tired but nothing to get upset about.

The real thing to write home about is the Chef. I think the only food I've had better was Marcus Waring - it really is that good - so good in fact I had two main courses!! It's on a par with restaurants at twice the price. Go and see for yourself - it's like eating a work of art.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We booked a one night stay for our wedding anniversary, it was our first visit to the hotel which we found whilst searching on line, I liked the look of the picture gallery and decided to give them a call i was welcomed by Carin on the other end of the phone and was immediately put at ease with her warm and friendly manner she explained the tariff and the facilities so i went ahead and booked it. On arrival we met the lady herself and were welcomed to the hotel and everything was explained it felt more like being with friends instead of the usually stuffy attitude that I'm used to when on business trips, the room was very clean and comfortable, as was the rest of the hotel ,we used the leisure facilities whilst visiting, very relaxing especially the Jacuzzi.
The food was to a very high standard and the quality of service excellent a nice mixture of being there when required and also not continually being interrupted to allow for the enjoyment of the fine wine and food.
Breakfast had a good selection from continental to various fish options and of course the full Scottish .
Overall a great stay and a fine example of what a Four star hotel should be the staff were informal and genuinely friendly no plastic smiles here especially Morvin on reception who had helped us with enquiries and wished us a safe homeward journey, so if you want real friendly service and great value for money pick up the phone and enjoy.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Best hotel i have ever stayed in , room was the size of my house, food was the best ive tasted and the staff are so friendly and proffesional without being ott love the fairfield and will be back with rest of family. Well done

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I travel to Aye often with my work. I enjoy this hotel for so many reasons. Mostly the service that the manager and staff provide. They go out of their way to provide comfort one enjoys. Rooms are modern and internet is available. The hotel is a short walk to either the center of town or the beach. On occasion the manager can on advance request, have the bar open after hours to provide and enjoy a pint or two after a long days journey. The restaurant is not over priced but lots of locals enjoy eating here. So good food is where the locals are! Breakfast is normally included and healthy. Over all a quiet place to rest and relax and a must stay.

Room Tip: Any named room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have stayed here several times and always look forward to returning. It reminds me of my grand parents house growing up. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, always ensuring your needs are taken care of. The full Scottish breakfast is fantastic and the hotel atmosphere is very unique and comfortable. Each room is different and has its own charm. It is located on a dead end street that is quiet and has a great view of the water and the Isle of Arran just beyond a nice green space. It is also a short 5 minute walk to downtown Ayr, with more great restaurants and stores, and my favourite shop being Robbie's Drams. A big thank you to your staff for another memorable stay! ;-)

Room Tip: all rooms are non-smoking, but they have a few that are close to exits if you ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel was perfect for a night away to relax- on arriving our room was not suitable so we were offered another room this was no problem. Pool area small but that's all you need. Dinner was one of the best I have had with my steak being perfect compliments to the chef, our starter was a bit on the big side, noticed the menu was a little pricey but we had dinner included in rate! In the morning as our room was next to the laundry room we were unfortunately woken up to a few ladies gossiping talking about another member of staff this was the only down side to our stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield House Hotel

Address: 12 Fairfield Road, Ayr KA7 2AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ayr
#4 Business Hotel in Ayr
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
#8 Family Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairfield House Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield House Hotel basks in a picturesque seafront location on the Ayrshire coast in the heart of Rabbie Burns country, with spectacular views across the waters of the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran.Sumptuously furnished and appointed, Fairfield House Hotel offers the luxurious yet comfortable hospitality of the traditional Scottish country house, combined with every possible modern facility.All of our 44 en-suite bedrooms are beautifully furnished and decorated. A mix between the classic suites , seaview classics,standard en-suite doubles and modern executives provide our guests with a unique choice to suit their needs.For the ultimate in luxury, may we suggest the Carnegie Suite, with its four-poster bed and en-suite jacuzzi. The Fairfield House Hotel's guests enjoy excellent cuisine and comfort in our atmospheric, award-winning Martin's Bar & Grill. The restaurant, lounge, bar and decking area were recently transformed with a refurbishment.The hotel now boasts a modern and comfortable dining and relaxing area which is ideal for corporate, relaxed or formal dining. The restaurant, bar and lounge are completed by artworks from Peter Howson and Frank McFadden.Fairfield House Hotel in Ayr has gained two rosettes from the AA for its cuisine. This accolade has been held for a number of years now and we are proud to maintain these high standards.As Standard we provide free on-site car parking , free wireless internet throughout the hotel and free use of our leisure facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Fairfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Hotel Ayr
Fairfield House Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.