We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“web site misleading and offers poor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Meridian Bier Cafe

The Meridian Bier Cafe
1 Killoch Place, Ayr KA7 2EA, Scotland
01292 287032
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 140 restaurants in Ayr
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, European, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Meridian is a bright, spacious and central cafe, bar & bistro that serves contemporary food and stylish cocktails in chic cosmopolitan surroundings.
ayrshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“web site misleading and offers poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Looked at the menu for this restaurant online and thought the offers looked good value. The menu on the web site is out of date and all the offers on the actual restaurant menu are more expensive.

The staff were very attentive and efficient.

The starter for two, antipasta, wasn't enough for one person never mind two and really was pathetic and was not worth the money. Thankfully the main meals, ordered off the main menu, were far better and good value

I would go back but would not order any the specials.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestaurantManagerAyr, Manager at The Meridian Bier Cafe, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments!
I am sorry you did not have a particuarly positive experience with us and sincerely hope you will come back to try us again.
We have a new website which is live and up to date with all our offers and menus, including a facebook page that is updated daily. Unfortunately our old website has not been removed and this is possibly the one you saw...apologies for that.
I am pleased you enjoyed your main courses and can only say in defence of the price of the Antipasti board that it really is the quality of the meats that were considered not the quantity.

Mhairi Paterson, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    25
    22
    7
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Consistently good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Enjoyed tapas and bottle of house red last night. We regularly go to this restaurant and are never disappointed. Staff are very pleasant and know what they are doing. Food is freshly prepared and the menu is varied and interesting. Full marks to the chef.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestaurantManagerAyr, Manager at The Meridian Bier Cafe, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments!
I passed your review onto our Chefs and they say thanks!
Our staff are all longterm and therefore know the food/menu/drinks etc inside out - ask them anything!
The tapas deal is very popular, and just to let you know all day Thursday it is the same deal but for £25...can't beat that :)
We look forward to meeting you both again soon.

Mhairi Paterson, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Never been disappointed here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Have been here a number of times for tapas - always come away with a smile, it's that good! Called in this week, and fancied fillet steak for a change - unfortunately none available but offered rib-eye. All I can say is "Wow" - this chef is so good...... by far the nicest steak I've had in a long time.
The decor is different, for Ayr, but clean, refreshing and welcoming; the staff are so helpful and pleasant, and the food is really good - with a diverse menu.
Definitely keep coming back for more.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestaurantManagerAyr, Manager at The Meridian Bier Cafe, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments!
An excellent review thank you...so pleased you will be coming back, definately the sign of a good restaurant :)
I can personally agree with you regarding the steaks...they are cooked to perfection and, for that very reason, are extremely popular!
We look forward to meeting you again soon.

Mhairi Paterson, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is the place I would return to in Ayr. It is friendly and the deals on offer are terrific. We had a sharing platter of smoked haddock risotto woth poched eggs, brilliant. We had been her before for afternoon tea and promised ourselves we would return for a meal, not disappointed. The have special offers on for tapas, sharing platters, burgers and pizzas, most of which include a bottle of wine or drinks. The food is magnificent and they have some nice booths whcih add to the enjoyment. Go and try it, you will love it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestaurantManagerAyr, Manager at The Meridian Bier Cafe, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments!
We at Meridian are delighted with your review and I have passed it on to our Chefs in the kitchen.
Our menu does have some fantastic deals on it, all at brilliant prices and I am glad you decided to come back to us!
Keep an eye out for our new menu....coming soon!

Mhairi Paterson, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
girvan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“lunch fri 3rd August”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

we visited the Meridian for lunch with my sister in law and my husband i had been before for dinner which was also nice .The staf are very tentative to our needs were friendly and helful the atmosphere was good not too busy our drinks arrived and not long after our food arrived so we didnt have to wait too long it was lovely had the chicken fajita wraps with a bucket of chips my husband had the sam my sister in law had the tempura chicken which she enjoyed the meal was lovely and i would recommend the meridian for lunch or dinner we all enjoyed our meal .

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestaurantManagerAyr, Manager at The Meridian Bier Cafe, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your comments!
I am pleased you enjoyed your lunch with us and thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment.
The staff love what they do here at Meridian and take a lot of pride in being aware of the customers needs, I am delighted this was noted.
It is fantastic that you woud reccomend us to family and friends...spread the word!

Mhairi Paterson, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Meridian Bier Cafe also viewed

Prestwick, South Ayrshire
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 
Ayr, South Ayrshire
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 

Been to The Meridian Bier Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meridian Bier Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.