We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Mercure in Ayr.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Ayr Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Ayr Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Ayr Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dalblair Road, Ayr KA7 1UG, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Jarvis)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Ayr
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Mercure in Ayr.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel was ideally suited for our needs, the centre of town, the railway station, and the sea front where all no further than a few minutes walk away, the staff where very pleasant and helpful, the room was clean and had a nice view of the sea, but lacked comfort in the way of a couple of chairs, it would have been nice to sit in comfort to read or watch tv, also if you like a drink it was rather expensive in the bar, or at least I thought so, but all in all the hotel was very pleasant and we would stay again. ( we rated this hotel an 8.5 )

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that, on the whole, you were able to have an enjoyable visit. The team always strive to make sure every guest has a memorable experience.

We do hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Ayr and give us the opportunity to welcome you back. If it is possible we will be more than happy to provide you with an extra chair to make your stay all the better.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    129
    96
    42
    24
See reviews for
64
152
13
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lanark, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

For £45 a night I wasn't expecting miracles but this hotel was everything I could have asked for and more. Cheap, secure parking; friendly, helpful staff; and easy to find. The morning after the night before meant that I was a little to fragile to experience the breakfast but my friends who made it down throughout enjoyed the food.

Downside, there was only one... I felt that the en suite could have been a little cleaner, the shower curtain had been used by a previous occupant as a handkerchief which was a bit off putting when having my morning wash but other than that I would definitely recommend this hotel to others who might be venturing down for a stay in Ayr.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feeback following your recent stay with us. I am pleased that, on the whole, you and your friends had an enjoyable visit.

Needless to say I shall pass your comments on to the Housekeeping Department to prevent any future occurances.

I hope that you will look to stay with us again during any future trips to Ayr, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennylands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

A very well situated hotel right in the heart of Ayr, it is suitable for all groups and ages and is within walking distance from the beach, shops, pubs & clubs.
The hotel offers a varity of services and would highly recommend the restaurant & food...
The hotel is excellently managed and all staff were very friendly and helpful.

In summery I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Eat in and enjoy the food.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your meals and found the staff to be friendly and helpful. This is something that we pride ourselves upon at the hotel.

I will be sure to share your kind words with the whole team and we look forward to your return.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Got a voucher for my mum for Mother's Day ! £100 between us for a night stay, full use of facilities, a three course dinner & breakfast. Great value ! Staff were lovely and friendly - always smiling and helpful ! Our dinner was delicious and the staff were wonderful ! Our room was a good size with everything we'd need for a night stay.
Swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna were great and we had a great time relaxing !
Great location and literally a five min walk from the train station.
Great night away

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that both you and your Mum had an enjoyable, relaxing time and were able to make use of all the facilities.

I will be sure to pass your kind words on to all of the team and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland uk
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here for the second time due to it's location. First impression of the outside of the building is terrible but the hotel is clean, comfortable and not bad for the price we were charged however if you want luxury stay elswhere. There is small leisure centre where you have to use your bedroom towels and then later when back in your room you can request replacements, we found this a bit odd and rather inconvenient. We did not pay for breakfast this time as we did not particularly enjoy breakfast when staying here previously. Would probably book this hotel again though due to the location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us, I will be sure to pass your comments to the Leisure and Restaurant Teams.

We will hopefully be able to welcome you back on your next trip to Ayr and perhaps give you an improved breakfast experience.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel ticked all the boxes when we took a group of adults and children away for the weekend. Central location; competitive prices; rooms clean and tidy; food fine; special mention to the staff who were very accommodating; pool an added bonus. Would strongly recommend for large groups and we would not hesitate in returning again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your weekend with us. I am pleased that you and all the group and an enjoyable stay.

I am delighted that the hotel team made your stay as comfortable as possible and the group were well looked after.

Upon your future visits to Ayr, whether as a group or with the family, I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Mercure Ayr Hotel.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I was part of a large group of both adults snd children thst stayed here for the weekend.
We found the hotel to be very clean and pleasant with good facilities. We enjoyed the lovely pool and the games room in the basement was a super area for the children to play in. Some of the areas would benefit from a little fresh decoration, but don't let that put you off. The best feature of this hotel is the wonderful central location. A 5 minutes walk to a lovely beach snd a fantastic children's playpark, while the shops are only a minute 's walk away in the other direction. It is also surrounded by a range of excellent restaurants. We loved Saffy's which is just across the road from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Many Thanks for your feedback after your recent stay with us, I am delighted that you had an enjoyable weekend.

I am pleased to see that you were able to take advantage of the local amenities and had some time to make use of our own leisure facilities.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel whether that be as part of your group or for simply a weekend away with the family.

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Ayr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Ayr Hotel

Address: Dalblair Road, Ayr KA7 1UG, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Jarvis)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Ayr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Ayr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ayr
Ayr Ramada
Mercure Ayr Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Ayr Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.