We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% Happy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Ayr Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Ayr Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Ayr Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dalblair Road, Ayr KA7 1UG, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Jarvis)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Ayr
Glasgow
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“100% Happy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Just stayed there with the wife and 3 kids after attending a wedding at Alloway. Sure it's a bit 70's but for us it was perfect. Good price, we had a nice double room with a view down to the sea, all clean and fresh with a great bath, plenty of hot water. The kids were 2 rooms away in a sort of suite so the two girls had a bed each in the main room and the boy had his own room off that, both with TV's. Again clean and fresh. Helpful welcome when we arrived late that night, plenty of car parking space behind hotel and it cost us £2 overnight with a free extension into the afternoon- checkout was just before 12 noon but we were able to leave the car there and pop down to the seafront and also round some great local streets with some excellent shops. Next morning we all ahd a great buffet cooked breakfast, again staff were on the ball and pleasant. The quality of the cooked items was very good, not like some hotels I've been in. Plenty of nice quality fresh orange juice, again not the cheapo stuff some places serve. We selected this hotel so the kids could use the pool. This was small and a bit dated but generally in good order. The hot tub was excellent. Pool staff were pleasant but also (and quite rightly) stepped in quickly when the kids started misbehaving. All things considered for the price we paid I was 100% satisfied. Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your feedback. I am delighted that you had a happy stay with us. The hotel team continually strive to exceed guests expectations and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Many Thanks

Lindsay Steele
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    145
    112
    48
    26
See reviews for
68
164
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I chose the Mercure Ayr as it's part of the Accor Le Club loyalty points programme.

The hotel building itself is a very stark 60's/70's concrete construction and the entrance from the rear public car-park isn't particularly inviting.

The welcome from reception was efficient and friendly enough though. Whilst the hotel would benefit from a good re-decorate, to be fair the bedroom house-keeping was fine. The best plus point of the room being the massive king-size bed which was very comfortable.

I had a couple of drinks at the bar before going out to eat and service was a bit on the slow side as the staff were doubling-up on waiting duties in the open-plan restaurant. Service was friendly enough though.

The self-service buffet breakfast was ok.

I think this place is very typical of one of several ex-Ramada Jarvis hotels which were taken over by Accor/Mercure. Perhaps they have long term plans to put a bit of investment into these establishments.

All things considered though, I wouldn't have a major problem staying here again, as it also has a very good town centre location with free parking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback.

As you will be aware we rebranded in October and we are in the process of refurbishing many areas of the hotel. This process will be over a period of time and we are looking to bring the hotel in line with all other Mercure Hotels.

We do try and ensure all our A Club members are upgraded to our superior rooms and I do hope that you will revisit the hotel when you are next visiting this area.

Many Thanks

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larbert, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Mercure Hotel .Rooms were good, very clean with all facilities except a fridge .The beakfast and dinner excellent . THe staff very friendly and good parking .They also orgainised a 3 day golf package for us at good price

Room Tip: Do not have a room near the disco at weekends . Try to get a sea view on a high floor the veiw over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your feedback. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I take on board your comments regarding a fridge in the bedroom. We are currently looking at different options regarding this. The hotel team continually strive to exceed all our guests expectations and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Many Thanks

Lindsay Steele
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stayed here with family in April 2012, i saw some many good reviews and was looking forward to my stay, at first sight the hotel does not look up to much, rather dissapointing actually. Inside was not much better, the reception staff were helpful and polite. Our room was clean but what a horrible room, i have seen better in hostels, the whole hotel started to look rather unpleasant, dirty worn down carpets, chewing gum on them, the chairs at the bar looked as if they have been from an old secon hand shop. Breakfast in the morning however was a joy to waken up to, the staff although looked busy and actually looked as if they could do with more staff were so friendly and helpful and could not compliment them enough, they made our stay worth while, even wrapping up some pastries for my wife to take back up to our room. We checked out and i was glad to be going home, if it was not for the staff i honestly would not come back to this ''hotel'' again.

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your feedback and your nice comments regarding the staff. The hotel was rebranded in October and as such is in the process of refurbishment. We continually strive to exceed our guest expectations and I am sorry that we failed to do so on this occassion. I do hope that you allow us to restore your faith in our hotel and would ask you to contact the hotel directly when you next wish to stay in the area and we will ensure you are allocated a superior bedroom.

Many Thanks

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

This hotel was not to bad untll the breakfast experience. This was like something from faulty towers. We were told to "take a table up there" and had to remove chairs from stairs to get to a table. We were not offered tea or coffee and had to eventually ask for it after we had finished our breakfast. Fresh fruit juice were all empty the whole time we were there. The female staff had no interest in working whatsoever. To say they were lazy was an understatement. I even saw one of them mutter "for f£$%* sake" when a customer asked her for something. Also had people shouting and swearing outside our room at 2.30am
Will never be back. A reasonable hotel completely ruined some of its staff.

Room Tip: book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FALKIRK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We have stayed here before and have been pleased but on this occasion the room was awful.It seemed to be a single room with a small double bed squeezed into it.The room stank strongly of cigarette smoke and the walls and carpet were filthy.There was a set of drawers with one draer completely missing and there was only one chair.We couldn,t move without bumping into each other and we had to sit on the bed to watch tv.Fortunately the weather was lovely so we didn't need to spend much time in the room.Also the toilet roll holder fell apart on first use.Sad to say this has put me off this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room as they cost the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback. I am very sorry that you were unhappy with your bedroom. As you may be aware we rebranded in October and we are in the process of refurbishing many areas of the hotel. I did note that you had stayed in the hotel before and I do hope that this does not prevent you from returning to the hotel in the future. Please do contact the hotel directly and we will ensur you are given a superior room.

Many Thanks

Kind Regards

Lindsay Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stayed at the Mercure Hotel in Ayr with my golfing buddies.
Have to say great service, helpful receptionists and great location to shops, central to all Golf courses, minutes walk away from clubs and restaurants.
Our favourite being the Indian - Ayr India.
Here again in the summer and will most certainly stay here again!!

Room Tip: Great location to all amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your feedback. I am delighted that you had a happy stay with us. The hotel team continually strive to exceed guests expectations and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Many Thanks

Lindsay Steele
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Ayr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Ayr Hotel

Address: Dalblair Road, Ayr KA7 1UG, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Jarvis)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Ayr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Ayr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ayr
Ayr Ramada
Mercure Ayr Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Ayr Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.