We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Enterkine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Enterkine Hotel to your Saves list
Enterkine Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Annbank, Ayr KA6 5AL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Myself & my husband have stayed here several times & each room we have spent the night in has been lovely, comfortable & spotless. The food in the restaurant is delicious & we enjoy going here for special evenings together. The staff fall over themselves to make sure you are looked after. On our first overnight we took our whippet with us, who they were delighted to have stay, though we have since been back a few evenings alone after he scratched some of the paint off the bedroom door & we had to pay £50 to get it rectified.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    27
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
20
76
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We held our wedding reception at Enterkine House and stayed for the weekend at the end of August.
We couldn't recommend the hotel more highly.
In preparation for our wedding, staff were always available to help with organisation and planning. The whole team is experienced and offered useful advice, along with local contacts, to help with much of the planning. The organisation was flexible, with efforts made to meet our many requests, no matter how small / large.
On the wedding day itself, the hotel couldn't have been better. The staff were attentive (but not intrusive), and ensured that everything ran smoothly. They were especially aware of older guests needing extra assistance, and made sure that everyone was well looked after.
Drinks reception outside on the lawn was idyllic, followed by meal and reception in the marquee. The food was superb, and service for 160 guests was excellent. The bar was well-staffed and reasonably priced.
Staff ensured that our band/piper/photographers etc were looked-after and fed, and helped get people on to coaches/arrange taxis etc at the end of the night (even personally doing a taxi-run when local taxis were unavailable).
Our stay over the rest of the weekend was terrific. The rooms are excellent, and meals in the house were grand.
I would struggle to criticise anything, and would happily recommend Enterkine House to anyone planning a wedding.

Room Tip: The woodland lodge is idyllic for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful overnight stay at the Enterkine Hotel. The Hotel is lovely, set in beautiful grounds. On arrival we received a warm welcome and were shown to our room (Oswald) which was very comfortable. The evening meal was excellent, service was first class, a big thank you to Colin ,Owen and Fiona who were friendly, attentive and professional . Breakfast was great , we really enjoyed our stay , we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed in the wooden bothy in the garden area. It was very funky to stay and although we were both 6ft, there was plenty of room. I did feel a bit like Frodo!

However, the bathroom design was rather poor. The taps had to be pulled to turn them and rubbed against the mirror and we were worried we'd break them. The top cover of teh bed was a bit scruffy and had a tear in it. For the price, you'dve expected better. The water also took a long time to drain from the shower and nearly overflowed.

Plenty of good parking.

We eat in the hotel. The food was marvelous. It was silver service as it was for a wedding party. The portions and quality were great. The beef was very thick and cooked beautifully. The wines were also very tasty. The pre-meal champagne reception was very good and we were regularly topped up and had some wonderful canapes.

Breakfast was served by a delightfully friendly lady and was of excellent quality.

Overall, a really good experience, but for the price, I was a bit disappointed over the lack of design thought in the bathroom. The main room and country house itself were both impressive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband booked a room for one night in the cottage in grounds of this hotel late on Saturday night. When we arrived on the Monday and checked in we were shown to a beautiful room (Enterkine View) in the main house. As this was not what we had booked we went down to reception to find out if this was supposed to be ours and explained that we had booked to stay in the cottage. The receptionist confirmed that we had been upgraded to the Enterkine View room. What a result! The room is usually used as a bridal suite. It was gorgeous, big, clean, massive bathroom and it had it's very own balcony which overlooked the fields and Enterkine river beyond. The whole of the hotel was very impressive. We did not have dinner, as we had already eaten, but went down to the lounge to have drinks. The service was excellent. Breakfast the next morning was served in the conservatory and we could not fault it. overall the stay was brilliant, service and staff were excellent and it was really clean. We will definitely be going back to stay longer and have dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamill, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were looking for one night away to relax and get away from it all which was not far away from home. Having booked one night dinner, bed and breakfast we were really looking forward to the break. The whole experience met and often exceeded our expectations. We received a very warm welcome, were allocated a lovely room overlooking the countryside and spend the afternoon sitting outside in the garden enjoying the sun and peaceful surroundings. The evening meal was excellent, well presented with attentive service at all time. The breakfast was also very good and it was nice to have eveything brought to your table rather than the usual buffet of juice, cerial etc. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and will return.

Room Tip: The Ovall Room was very spacious with excellent views of the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We booked a one night stay with bed, breakfast and afternoon tea and also decided to have dinner in the evening. We paid an additional £40 to stay in the beautiful wooden lodge.
The lodge surpassed our expectations by a country mile; it was luxuriously decorated and equipped and felt really special. The bed was superbly comfortable and no attention to detail had been missed.
Our afternoon tea was delicious with home made cakes that were of the highest standard; it is the first time I have tasted carrot cake that makes you go mmmmm and then wow. Delicate éclairs and the most indulgent coffee chocolate gateaux. The sandwiches were delicious too and cut into bite sized fingers. This proved to be nothing compared with the evening meal. The dinner we enjoyed is the finest meal I have had in a long long time, possibly ever. The selection on the menu was so varied that it would cater well for most palates and I struggled to choose. We were given some wee treats as we looked at the menu which were haggis bon bons and wee ratatouille tartlets, both served warm and we new we were in for a fine meal. I started with a tian of smoked salmon with chilli pineapple, langoustine and quails eggs, amazing. This arrived covered with a glass cloche that when removed released a smoke that meant that the starter engaged all the senses. My wife had a goats cheese soufflé; I never knew a goats cheese soufflé could taste so good. The mains were fillet of beef for my wife and venison for me, both cooked to perfection and bursting with flavour. These were accompanied by beautifully cooked vegetable selections including celeriac dauphinois and red cabbage amongst others.
Dessert- A raspberry macaroon with fresh raspberries a lemon curd filling and clotted cream ice cream with crushed pistachios. Having lived in Scotland for 20 years I know that they grow the best raspberries in the world, these were the best of the best, they tasted like raspberries should.
I am rambling on so I will just say that the breakfast was great too.
This was altogether a wonderful experience and was enhanced by OUTSTANDING service. Without exception the staff went out of there way to help and make our stay a joy. Colin on the desk provided us with printed directions to a selection of places we wanted to visit and they have also agreed to post me the Golf umbrella which I left behind. TRY THIS HOTEL, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try the woodland lodge, well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Enterkine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enterkine Hotel

Address: Annbank, Ayr KA6 5AL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Enterkine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Enterkine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enterkine Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enterkine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.