We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Enterkine Hotel

Save Saved
You added Enterkine Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Enterkine Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Annbank, Ayr KA6 5AL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 hotels in Ayr
Hamilton, Scotland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Gem of a Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Had a one night stay on a Groupon deal. This is a small country house Hotel with 6 bedrooms in the main house and an annex some distance away which has 7 bedrooms. We stayed in the main house in the Margaruitte Suite - large bedroom with king size bed and tea and coffee facilities, a large bathroom with old fashioned bath and a separate power shower cabinet. There was also a lounge in the suite, with a settee and flat screen TV.

A pleasant welcome and cream tea on arrival and superb dinner with food that must rank with the best in Scotland, tastefully served by attentive staff. Coffee at open log fire was a nice touch, served with homemade shortbread. Breakfast was a treat, looking out over the valley of the River Ayr. The hotel is under the flight path for Prestwick Airport, but the Airport now has so few flights that what few planes flew over were barely noticeable.

The Hotel is a hidden gem and the whole experience exceeded my expectations.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room in the main house, it is well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    19
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
15
62
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We went to Enterkine last week, after receiving a voucher for Christmas. We upgraded to the Woodland Lodge and I'm so glad we did. The website pictures do not do it justice. The lodge was absolutely beautiful, it's situated across from the hotel and is a haven of luxury!
The dinner , which was included, was fantastic. The Goats cheese soufflé was to die for, the menu was innovative and we enjoyed every course.
After dinner we sat in front the the fire and enjoyed some drinks with other guests. We will definitely return to Enterkine, we had a lovely night and being so near to Glasgow It's great for a night away without travelling far. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed one night in January purchased as a groupon deal.

We were showwn to the Enterkine View room which was huge with a massive balcony.

Included in the deal was cream tea and dinner, cream tea was excellent in front of the fire. Dinner was extremely good, only niggle was having to pay extra for extra courses and extra for beef but was worth it. The food although very Masterchef style was outstanding.

The hotel does suffer from planes going overhead but that added to the excitement of sitting on the balcony watching them come into land.

Breakfast in the morning was nice with only one gripe - the sausage tasted quite cheap - and why not lorne sausage it's supposed to be a scottish breakfast!

We loved it, staff were friendly without being over fussy and it was a lovely night away. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for the Enterkine View Room, you won't regret it especially on a hot summer night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was the second time we have spent the night here. Both times we paid to upgrade to a room in the main house. Both rooms were large and nicely appointed. The staff were friendly and very attentive without being intrusive. The evening meal was delicious and was rounded off with coffee by the open fire. We will definitely be back,

Room Tip: An upgrade to the main house is definitely worth it to make your stay extra special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Recently had a lovely night via group on break staff very attentive. And extremely helpful . Had a lovely room with a superb view sadly weather was against this view as it rained and rained what a pity.i would advise upgrade to the hotel it was well worth the extra.it was a pleasure to be be in a lovely hotel with amazing surroundings.enjoy the atmosphere of the area and on your way out buy some eggs and put your money in the honesty box either duck eggs or others excellent..

Room Tip: Choose a room in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My Fiancee and I spent the night in the woodland lodge and loved it. Its quiet and secluded but only a minutes walk from the front door of the hotel. Great service from all the staff and the dinner in the restaurant was outstanding. Following a peaceful and very comfortables nights sleep we enjoyed a lovely cooked breakfast in the restaurant. We had to complete our stay by giving a home to an Enterkine bear. Would recommend staying here to anyone.

Room Tip: Go for the lodge for a romantic retreat
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes,Fife,Scotland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We enjoyed a 2 night internet deal break and upgraded to the main house for £20 per night, it was well worth it. Check in was simple and easy. We were allocated the Oval room which is large, clean, well furnished and has a lot of character. The ensuite bathroom is also very large. The bed was large and comfortable. This room overlooks the Marquee which may prove noisy if an event was on (no events on our weekend), but this would not have bothered us at all, I only mention it for benefit of those who may like total peace and quiet. We were able to see inside some other rooms and all look large and spacious with really nice view towards Enterkine, indeed the room called ‘Enterkine View’ has a very large balcony. The ‘Bothy’ in the garden is a very intimate retreat, it oozes charm and looks very cosy. We ate in the restaurant on our first night and the quality of the food was excellent, the surcharge for the steak is a wee bit hefty, but drinks are reasonably priced. Service was quick and efficient from the friendly staff who advised us of places to eat and see live music in nearby Prestwick. The same standard of service was evident at both breakfasts.

We enjoyed our stay at Enterkine House and would not hesitate to return, perhaps when an event is on.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Main House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Enterkine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enterkine Hotel

Address: Annbank, Ayr KA6 5AL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Enterkine Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Enterkine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enterkine Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enterkine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.