We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice museum” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Robert Burns Birthplace Museum

Robert Burns Birthplace Museum
Murdoch's Lone | Alloway, Ayr KA7 4PQ, Scotland
08444932601
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 18 Attractions in Ayr
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Birthplace of poet Robert Burns.
Scotland,UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Nice museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Nice museum, however staff were not that friendly and I got pounced on for using my camera,only museum I have been in where camera use is banned.
Was full of school kids when I went but was spacious enough to cope with this.Kids looked to be enjoying it, lot's of activities geared to kids which is good.

Nice walk to nearby Burn's house with sculptures themed to the bard.
Would I visit again, no, would I recommend to friends, yes .
All in all it is a good museum but not as friendly as some, lot's for kids and adults, worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    112
    30
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Troon, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Finally, a museum fit for the bard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Robert Burns finally has the museum his reputation demands. an excellent display, laid out thematically around his major poems and his life. Plenty of fine artefacts from his life and multiple opportunities to keep both children and adults amused. A visit to the excellent cafe tops off a visit to this lovely building. A jewel in Ayr's crown

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Day Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

good day out the house, relatively cheap and can take in brig o' doon just down the road from the Burns attraction.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic wee trip around the museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This museum is a fantastic attraction, especially for kids. it has interactive puzzles etc for kids to do, very educational and the walk through the town to the different buildings is really interesting. I would definately recommend this attraction to everyone and I learned alot more about rabbie burns.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A stroll through time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

It was a spur of the moment trip. Again free for National Trust members. Never knew much about Robbie Burns but the museum was so informative. Looking at his influences, and how they come out in his works. You then get entry to the Cottage, Brig o doon and the Kirk. Finished at the Burns Monument.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robert Burns Birthplace Museum also viewed

 

Been to Robert Burns Birthplace Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robert Burns Birthplace Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.