We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day by The Seaside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A' Turas-Mara Guest House

A' Turas-Mara Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added A' Turas-Mara Guest House to your Saves list
A' Turas-Mara Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   25 Castlehill Road, Ayr KA7 2HY, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% ROOM DISCOUNT
Ranked #16 of 62 Ayr B&B and Inns
Kirkintilloch
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Day by The Seaside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have stayed here now three time and each time we are presented great rooms with great service, Cant fault this bed and breakfast, Jackie and her husband are lovely hosts. The breakfast is excellent plenty to chose from. Will be poping back down definetly when hopefully there will be a race meeting also the guest house is a stone through away from the sation as well great location, Recommened this guest house strongly

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
30
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Myself and my partner enjoyed a visit to this guest house the rooms are 1st class there is everything you need hairdryer/toiletries/ tv and all rooms are ensuite the breakfast menu is amazing fantastic choice something for everyone,highly recommend staying here Jackie is a great host

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I have stayed at many b&b's but this one by far is the best one ever. Great service from both owners, they are a great laugh and very helpful. The breakfast was top class, very wide choice off food. Coffee was fab and the Billy's pancakes with syrup is to die for. Room was very comfy and very clean. This bnb comes with little extras like cotton buds, tissues, mints and water in a lovely jar. Very personal touches. I will be back and telling everyone about this great place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was a spare of the moment booking for an overnight stay in Ayr on the way back from inverness, the price was very reasonable so I booked after seeing only good reviews.

The Guest house is amazing feels like luxury as soon as you enter the front door and you get a very friendly welcome and shown to your room. The room was large with a beautiful bathroom with so many bathroom products you would never need to ask for anything extra. The facilities where great with plenty of tea and coffee and a bottle of water which makes a nice change.

The breakfast was out of this world with so much choice including black pud, potato scones, French toast, haggis, fruit pud...it goes on and on so I won't bore you apart from saying the chef was chatting to us about his French toast and pancakes and I can say they didn't disappoint. If you are staying in Ayr don't look at the large overpriced hotels check in here without a second thought...perfectly located to get into the town, free parking and its clean, quiet and perfect breakfast.

The Wi-Fi worked great and check out was easy and quick.

Thank you for making the stay so comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights - we arrived earlier than the checkout time but Jackie was so accommodating, she gave us our keys and allowed us to drop our bags in the lounge and provided a parking permit so we could begin our day without any delays, we had a very pleasant surprise when we arrived back to our room and Billy & Jackie had moved our bags into our room for us.
The room was spotlessly clean, beds were the most comfortable we've ever experienced and we have stayed at some five star hotels in the past.
We had breakfast on our second morning which was fantastic, Jackie provided additional portions for us and we then had a long conversation which left us feeling like one of the family.

When we visit Ayr, before we book our travel we will make sure we arrange to stay here again, we cannot recommend this B&B highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed one night and it was lovely. Clean, comfortable and welcoming. Breakfast was lovely as well! If your going to stay in ayr then i woukd highly recommend this than a chain hotel. We had a family room with a lovely little ensuite which was spotless and comfortable, very homely atmosphere!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Jackie is very caring and had some good chats. For what it costs its well worth a stay there and is conveniently located for the station.
Would have been nice to have a bath rather than a shower on the cold days. Breakfast was a good selection.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A' Turas-Mara Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A' Turas-Mara Guest House

Address: 25 Castlehill Road, Ayr KA7 2HY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A' Turas-Mara Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jackie and Billy look forward to welcoming you to Turas-Mara their beautifully maintained and comfortable Victorian Guest House. A place you can relax and enjoy the homely atmosphere while sampling the famed Scottish Hospitality. Less than a 5 minute walk from Ayr Town Centre and Railway Station and only 5 miles from Glasgow Prestwick Airport (direct rail route). Turas-Mara is only 5 minutes from the wedding venues of Brig O'Doon or Western House. We offer a complimentary lift to these hotels for wedding guests (please let us know if you require this service at time of booking). An ideal base to explore Burns Country or enjoy a golfing holiday. All our rooms have been decorated in a modern but homely style yet retain original features. Our bedrooms are all en-suite with free WiFi , flat screen digita7l TV with Freeview, DVD player and many extras to help you enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your A' Turas-Mara Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A' Turas-Mara Guest House Ayr, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A' Turas-Mara Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.