We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and drink” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GlenPark Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ayr
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
GlenPark Hotel
Save
You added GlenPark Hotel to your Saves list
5 Racecourse Road, Ayr KA7 2DG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 62 Ayr B&B and Inns
Ayr
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Have now eaten here on a number of occasions. The staff are friendly and the food is excellent.
The real ale which is brewed onsite is also of a very high quality. The food is freshly cooked and they were happy to cook something for my son which was not on the children's menu. Thanks will return.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Beer is indeed good as Ayr Brewing Company virtually brew on the premises ( garage at the side ) however for food this is not a destination. I met some friends here recently for a drink and we decided to have a bite to eat - not my decision but went along with it. Dining room is basic and surroundings not very appealing. Food was below average to say the least. The beer battered haddock was greasy and the chips were kind of thrown on the plate...the pate starter was served with oatcakes which are easier than toast I suppose but I personally prefer garlic bread with mine. On the plus side the food is inexpensive - but you get what you pay for. This hotel has the overall feel of being run down with chipped and peeling paint in evidence and going by previous reviews it needs some TLC. Shame really as it is in a decent location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed here 6th/7th February 2013 usually stay at the Hoirzon Ayr which is excellant but decided to try somewhere different should not have bothered. When we arrived a very friendly lady booked us in and gave us the room at the top of the stairs with walk in shower as husband had knee replacement in January. Now here is a list of all the things not just bad about the place they where terrible. Shower had a about 1/2 inch mould round tray, tiles where dirty, floor tiles covered in marks and grout missing,mirror in room had large crack, milk for tea was off (came out solid),round edge carpet 1inch thick with dust, top radiator the same, window thick with mould and blind covered in dust and you could not open it. Went down for breakfast 3 tubs of cereal and milk and one choice of fruit juice on table no fruit etc. breakfast scambled egg microwaved and one solid lump, sausages deep fried i think if not (Black on the outside and inside) mushrooms plate covered in black from them (need to be binned) i did not eat anything and was not asked why.Husband eat his he had different but he said it was not great but he was hungry, next day we had boiled eggs as we where eating our breakfast the owner put the lights out on us in the dining room one of the staff pointed out he does this alot.I got the impression they cater for mostly contractors and maybe for them this is ok but when you are paying £35 ahead each we expect more. The only plus point was Alison who is very helful and always happy the bar has a nice atmosphere but that is more the customers who come in, also the matress was comfortable. We go away for lots of 2 days break over the year and have never had such a bad time. My husband wanted to complain and get a reduction i just wanted to pay and leave so that is what we did but we will nver be back

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had been recommended to go here for the food and beer. The beer is excellent well worth a visit . Looking forward to our next visit will be having a bar supper next time . Bar staff very helpful and attentive atmosphere great can t beat a coal fire

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My partner and i have moved to glasgow and visited friends in ayr who took us to the glenpark hotel. We went on a tuesday night, and it happened to be quiz night so we decided to stay. An absolute bargain with 2 meals for £10, the portion sizes were great, food delicious. My friends had the penne arrabiata and cajun chicken crepes and my partner and i, being real ale fans, had the fish and chips and steak and ale pie... Both made with their own brewed beers! Overall a good night, definitely worth a visit if you are in the area or havent been for a while!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West Scotland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Have eaten here a few times now and always enjoy the wonderful selection of food on the menu and it isn't overpriced. The surroundings are very pleasant and the staff eager to please. My husband likes the beer that is brewed on the premises.

The hotel / restaurant are located very close to all amenties. Have never stayed in hotel so can't comment on the rooms.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

nice stay at the glenpark hotel ayr 21st sept 12, two nights, breakfast to die for, staff friendly would stay again would recomment to family and friends prices very reasonable £35.00 per night bed and breakfast you can get two main meals for £10.00

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GlenPark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GlenPark Hotel

Address: 5 Racecourse Road, Ayr KA7 2DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
GlenPark Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GlenPark Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.