We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“couldnt fault this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayr Gatehouse Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ayr Gatehouse Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Ayr Gatehouse Bed & Breakfast
31 Prestwick Road, Ayr KA8 8LE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 62 Ayr B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“couldnt fault this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

arrived at night, the hotel owner was so helplful and friendly booked my early morning taxi there and then, then showed me to the most amazing room, was beautiful, really loved this place and it will use it over and over this hotel is not a B&B but a classy hotel, stunning, prob only place ive ever stayed that was faultless

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    38
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
63
116
19
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Needing bed & breakfast for 1 night to attend the funeral of my mother we booked the Ayr Gatehouse based on Trip Advisor reviews.
Lovely large property.
Our en-suite bedrooms were extremely spacious and clean.
Good breakfast.
John & Denise were the perfect hosts.

We would visit again if in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West lothian
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Gatehouse . Last week end . John and Denise were very friendly and helpfull . The room was large and clean and warm. Nice hot shower. The break fast was amazing .the bacon ,the sausages , the toast , coffee and all the rest on the plate was tasty. You could help yourself to juice and breakfast cereal. We were asked if we wanted more toast or coffee. But what we both had for our breakfast more than ample . Well done to you both . If we get down to Ayr again we will definitely be staying there, that is if they have a spare room.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perachora, Greece
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Visiting on a drive through schedule on a stormy night, I can give no reveiws of the surroundings, but what I can say is that the premises are in an easily found location, you will be welcomed and introduced to your spotlessly clean and comfy room and sent on your way fully refreshed after a good nights sleep and well fed.
May I offer my thanks for advice on where to eat, where to fill up with fuel (a nice saving) and in particular for having food on the table a little earlier than usual to allow us to make our ferry.
Chosen for its (well founded) Trip Advisor reveiws.
Excellent value with comfort and welcome thrown in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I have stayed a The Ayr Gate House on several occassions and John & Denise have never failed to deliver a fantastic level of service. Their local knowledge is outstanding and very helpful. My wife is disabled and we encountered no problems with access or fittings.
All I would say is if your thinking of visiting the West Coast of Scotland then The Ayr Gate House would be the Ideal base for you.
Mike L.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of the same very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Myself and my wife regularly visit family in Ayr and have stayed in various hotels and B&B's. Our recent stay at the Ayr Gatehouse was by far the best we have stayed in. The quality and cleanliness of the rooms was excellent and the owners were extremely welcoming and helpful. The great breakfast rounded off an excellent stay. We will definitely be returning to stay again soon and would not hesitate to recommend the Ayr Gatehouse to anyone looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I last reviewed Ayr Gatehouse in December 2011.

I've just stayed there again, and if anything it is even better! My room was amazingly clean, as was the dining room and the communal areas.

Breakfast was very filling, and well cooked, there was nothing left on my plate!

And John and Denise are excellent hosts.

I can highly recommend a stay at the Ayr Gatehouse yet again.

Room Tip: I've stayed in several rooms and not had a problem with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayr Gatehouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayr Gatehouse Bed & Breakfast

Address: 31 Prestwick Road, Ayr KA8 8LE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ayr Gatehouse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayr Gatehouse Bed & Breakfast Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayr Gatehouse Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.