We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great experience at the Berkeley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Berkeley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Berkeley Hotel to your Saves list
The Berkeley Hotel
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1 Barns Street, Ayr KA7 1XB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 62 Ayr B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Another great experience at the Berkeley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just enjoyed another great week-end at the Berkeley. It was so good we booked for another night as we didn't want to leave. We were on a family group week-end and the warm welcome that we received from John the co-owner really started us off to a great week-end. The meals were delicious and the canapes and sorbet were a delightful touch and the food was again as on previous occasions first class. Special thanks to John the chef for his amazing chicken tempura which I had on two of the nights. The rooms are beautiful with the attention to detail making them all slightly different (we have been in 4 out of the 5 rooms now) making this a truly "beautiful boutique hotel". Can't wait to make another visit to the hotel hopefully within the next month or two.

Room Tip: all the rooms are brilliant but my favourite so far has been room 3 - although I believe that room 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    41
    9
    10
    13
See reviews for
30
169
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed 27th and 28th April ,really enjoyed our stay,hotel was fab,food lovely,staff couldn't do enough for u,nothing was a bother.hotel in great location and walking distance for pubs and seafront,would def stay there again. Jackie Devlin

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two weekend nights. We were given a warm welcome from the owner as well as first class service from all the staff.
Our stay was great, our suite was tremendous and very comfortable, food was superb, overall our stay was a treat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at The Berkeley last year and loved it. Going back this year we were a bit concerned that it might not be as good. There are new people running the hotel, and I'm surprised to be saying it, but they have improved on what was already an excellently run hotel.

The room, food and customer service was as good as anyone could expect. We had our meal in the hotel the first night of our stay and it was all excellent.

We are hoping to go back to The Berkeley in June and are already looking forward to it. The Berkeley is without doubt our favourite hotel

Room Tip: Room number 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Came away for a midweek break with my husband and we were delighted when we arrived at the hotel. There was a real cosy atmosphere and it is so different and unique. John, one of the owners, showed us to our room and we were even more taken aback when we seen our beautiful room. John was very chatty and made us feel very welcome and nothing was a bother to him. We had dinner there and again were delighted with the whole experience. The dining room was again one you would have to see to believe from its luxurious curtains to the beautifully set tables and decor. The meal was superb and John, the chef and other owner, came out to say hello and stayed for a chat. Our whole stay was first class. Well done to John & John who have recently taken over this hotel for your care and attention to your customers I am sure you will do well and look forward to returning in the near future. Janice & Michael, Gllasgow

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Booked last minute for Scottish Grand National, arriving at 20.45 on Friday night. John (Hotel Owner/Manager) received us with a warm welcome and offered us option of something to eat despite late arrival. We were shown to our beautiful room allocated in the Mews at side of Hotel.
Bar area is lovely and comfortable to enjoy a few Cocktails! Had a tasty Full Scottish Breakfast before heading to the Races which set us up for the day. Dining Room is opulent in design and food is excellent without being overpriced like some of the other Boutique Hotels we have stayed in. Without question service and attention to detail from all staff was excellent without being pretentious, making us feel very at home.Thank you John and staff for a wonderful stay (Mr Wilkinson only has one thing to say - Chris Rea lol)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Two friends and myself had lunch at the Berkeley today and we all agreed that the whole experience was very pleasant. On arrival we were welcomed and shown into the Dining Room which was tastefully decorated and the table linen was crisp and clean. The menu was suitable for all dietry tastes the food was well presented and steaks cooked to each of our specifications. The joint owners even took time out of their busy schedule to talk to us. I would certainly recommend a visit and we shall definately be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley Hotel

Address: 1 Barns Street, Ayr KA7 1XB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Berkeley Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berkeley is a small family owned Boutique styled hotel and is and run by a small dedicated team, and has 24 hour night porter service, 5 sumptuous bedrooms a romantic restaurant and casual lounge cocktail bar, our large terrace is due to be heated & covered so guests can use this all year round and the gardens have 2 patio areas and are large enough to offer marquee weddings and events. We offer morning coffee & home made pastries, lunch and light snacks, afternoon tea, Traditional High Teas and evening meals to suit every occasion. We are a small hotel with a passion to do the best we can and raise the bar in hospitality. Our decor is strong and quirky! Comfortable and plush bedrooms which we take pride in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Berkeley Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Berkeley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.