We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Appin House

Appin House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Appin House to your Saves list
Appin House
11 Carrick Road, Ayr KA7 2RA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 62 Ayr B&B and Inns
Fraserburgh
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Terrifc house, warm welcome, room and facilities more than wonderful, breakfast superb.........how many more superlatives are there! Thank you so much! Definitely back again.

Room Tip: All terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
44
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Warm and friendly welcome, Melissa and David made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble - including getting an item from Tesco's for us! The room was light and airy with a view over the garden and the ensuite was luxurious. Breakfast in the conservatory was the best of the trip.
The guest house was well situated just a short walk into town. We look forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We had a two night stay at Appin House to attend a family wedding in Ayr. The welcome was friendly, rooms were very modern and comfortable with en suite facilities and all amenities. Good choice of breakfast. Within easy walking distance to Ayr town centre. All in all, a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

This is my second time staying at this lovely B&B. Appin House is definitely a home away from home. Melissa and David are exceptional hosts, always going above and beyond to ensure their guests are comfortable and accommodated. I was in the UK attending to family business, and my schedule kept changing. Melissa was extremely gracious in ensuring that I had a place to fall asleep at night. While my unexpected schedule changes meant I had to change rooms, as they were full up and had booked the room I was supposed to have checked out of, Melissa juggled things around and I always had a bed to come back to, all with a minimum of fuss on my part. I left in the morning, and came back to a new room with all my luggage moved in for me. I honestly can not say enough about this beautiful home, and I will not hesitate to stay here on my return visits to the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We cannot recommend this B&B highly enough! The room was light and clean (in fact I don't think I have ever seen a cleaner bathroom) and the owners made us feel so welcome. They were both really chatty and friendly and the breakfast was absolutely delicious.

The evening we were there we ate in Cecchinis Italian Restaurant. Once again we were delighted with the experience. The service was excellent and the food was wonderful and very reasonably priced.

Overall our stay in Ayr was pretty much perfect. We will definitely go back to both Appin House and Cecchinis Restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloxwich
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Very warm welcome, shown to room which was very very tasteful. Tea/coffee available in room. Very luxurious, they made you feel welcome and had a friendly approach, and always with a warm smile. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they went out their way to please their guests. We shall now be regular guests from now one.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

very friendly family run guest house with excellent modern fresh room in ideal location for all local amenities within easy walking distance. Excellent routine each evening for selecting your choice of breakfast for following morning (which turned out each morning to be of 5 star quality)

Room Tip: Ask for en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Appin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appin House

Address: 11 Carrick Road, Ayr KA7 2RA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Appin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appin House Ayr, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Appin House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.