We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Bed & Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast
39 Whitletts Road, Ayr KA8 0JD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 62 Ayr B&B and Inns
london uk
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Brilliant Bed & Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed at Afton Villa for two nights so that we could attend a wedding at the Ayr racecourse hotel (just opposite) and we loved it. Faye, the owner, is delightful, relaxed and made us feel extremely welcome. The place is spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated and our room was large, quiet (even though it was at the front of the house) and had a fabulously comfortable king-sized bed and a great en-suite bathroom. Breakfast was available until 10am and there was a large choice of food on offer.

It's about a ten minute walk into the centre of town and, all in all, this was a great stay and I would thoroughly recommend Afton Villa.

Room Tip: Even though Afton Villa is on a main road, the windows are double-glazed so there is no traffic nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Guest Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to add your review for Afton Villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    11
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
57
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Summerfield, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

My daughter and I spent 10 days there, and it was lovely, Faye was extrememly friendly, and cooked us a good Scottish Breakfast every day. Everything was within walking distance, we even walked to the beach. Lots of history in and around the town. The rooms were outstanding and a good size. We would definately go back there. Thanks Faye for being such a gracious host.

Room Tip: The rooms were just like pictured, clean, nice size and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Dear Guest Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to add your review for Afton Villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

My mother and I recently stayed with Faye at the Afton Villa B&B. We walked everywhere we needed to go since it was so close to town, train station, race track etc. The pictures you see in tour are completely accurate it is a beautiful home and garden. Faye treated us so well and it was a complete pleasure to stay there. We have family who live in Ayr and if we ever return we will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: The room upstairs has an ensuite but the shower is extremely small which is typical in the UK. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Dear Guest Reviewer
Thank you for taking the the time to add your review for Afton Villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed there when we went up to our friend wedding , the room was really really large and really nice, the lady was lovely and very helpful, great breakfast .only five minutes walk from the town and 15m from a lovely Beach. had a lovely time and I will defo go again and stay at Afton Villa . Lovely Lady . :):)

Room Tip: the large family room was great. very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Guest Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to add your review for Afton Villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We spent 4 nights staying at the Afton Villa B&B ,and found Fay the host a lovely person and will definitely do it again .
The accommodation was first class ,spotless A!+++standards
We had Bella our greyhound with us and she was welcomed with open arms ,only one suggestion change the gates in the car park to a SLIDING format ,it would be surprising how much extra room it would give in the car park ,As for our stay it was well worth it. Thank you Fay
Alex & Margaret Boyd
Haddington
East lothian

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aftonvilla, Owner at Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Dear Guest Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to add your review for Afton Villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port William, null, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

My husband, two children and I stayed two nights in Afton villa B & B and thoroughly enjoyed it. Faye is a lovely woman who is only too happy to help and make you feel at home - there is honestly nothing that I could say negative about our stay at all - I would highly recommend this lovely B & B to everybody!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aftonvilla, Owner at Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear Guest Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to add your review for Afton Villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lochwinnoch
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Just returned from our stay at Afton Villa where we were made very welcome and looked after in every way by owner Fay. Our luxury room was indeed lovely and had everything in it to ensure our every need was met.

I could not have been handier for us, just short stroll to the wedding venue at Westerton House, and the gardens at the villa itself looked so pretty, we wish we could have been there a little longer to sit in them and enjoy the surroundings. We would definitely recommend Afton Villa to anyone visiting the Ayrshire area.

Room Tip: The luxury room with bay window is just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aftonvilla, Owner at Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Guest Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to add your review for Afton Villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast

Address: 39 Whitletts Road, Ayr KA8 0JD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast is a family managed B&B ideally situated across from Ayr Racecourse & Western House Hotel.We have 4 bedrooms 2 of which are en-suite and situated on the first floor, 3rd bedroom which is a small single/twin with shared facillities is also on the first floor, 4th bedroom with separate bathroom for sole use only is situated on the ground floor. Located in the centre of Ayr, close to many good restaurants and only minutes from peaceful walks along the banks of the River Ayr. Robert Burns Birth Place Museum is two miles & Culzean Country Park is just a twenty minute drive. All prices are inclusive of breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast Ayr, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.