We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 STARS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayrs & Graces

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ayrs & Graces to your Saves list
Ayrs & Graces
High Maybole Road | Carrick Lodge, Ayr KA7 4EE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 62 Ayr B&B and Inns
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“6 STARS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

16.04.11

We were celebrating my husbands early retirement !!! and then his rapid promotion in a new job. Our friends from Glasgow joined us. On arrival champagne awaited us kindly supplied by Rhona and Paul. Dinner was exquisite as was the house and the surrounding area. Breakfast fab. Perfection in every respect." We all agreed this is "TOPS"
Rhona and Paul are great hosts.
Alice & Ian Sanquhar.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
103
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

What a pleasant surprise to stay in such a warm, friendly, comfortable and luxurious place on our first night in Scotland. Rhona, our host, was an absolute delight, bringing a smile to everyone, and made our great stay even better. She welcomed us as though we were longtime friends. On the afternoon of our arrival, we enjoyed tea with Rhona, while we shared our plans, and talked about our families. We stayed in the Robert Burns suite, with the most comfortable bed in Scotland. Compared to the other two B&B's we stayed in other towns, we wish we had stayed longer than one night. The breakfast of smoked salmon on scrambled eggs, plus fresh fruit, ham, toast, porridge, and coffee was perfect, Ayrshire was our favorite area, with the rolling hills and pasture land, and the beautiful coastline, and very friendly people. Even a flat tire on our rental car did not spoil our visit, as the comfort and luxury of Ayrs & Graces made us forget any troubles. We look forward to staying again on our next visit to Scotland!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

From the moment you enter, to the time you leave, your hosts and your surroundings make you feel so special. This is the most luxurious B&B you could find, with exceptionally comfortable, peaceful and well appointed rooms, with stunning views of countryside. Rhona and Paul are the perfect hosts that match it all, with and make you wanting to come back for more.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

If you are looking for a touch of luxury, then look no further! The Ayrs and Graces is just beautiful. We had a couple of nights here last week and i just didnt want to leave! We stayed in the Robert Burns suite. It is immaculately clean and very comfortable. You have your own lounge with television / dvd and complimentry whisky and sherry ! The bathroom is equally luxurious with a huge bath and shower and with Molton Brown toiletries, not to mention the under floor heating!! In the bedroom there is tea and coffee, bottled water and even a hot water bottle for those cold winter nights! You are sure of a good nights sleep. There are french doors that open out onto a balcony with views over the countryside.
Breakfast is served in the garden room and is prepared by your wonderful hosts Rhona and Paul and is very delicious with plenty of choice!. And what can I say about Rhona and Paul...... you won't meet two nicer people, they welcome you in to their home like friends not guests. Their hospitality was second to none and I look forward to another visit!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

From the minute we arrived, we felt like we were getting the VIP treatment. With Rhona and Paul, the perfect Scottish hosts, that is what you can expect - every time. The countryside setting above the Robert Burns village of Alloway, makes you feel as if you're miles away from everything and yet the sights of Ayr, Troon and even Turnberry (take note, keen golfers!) are not far away at all. The rooms are immaculate and impressively styled and breakfast's worth returning for alone! I hope to return soon, as we arrived guests but left friends. Emphatically recommended. Thanks for a wonderful short stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

One night's stay was not long enough; we cannot wait to visit Ayrs & Graces again soon. The hospitality provided by our hosts with the most Rhona and Paul was second to none and the warm, welcoming surroundings of their immaculately decorated home were outstanding. We simply cannot fault any aspect of this b&b which is of the standard most luxury hotels struggle to achieve. Enjoying the views out to the Ayrshire countryside over a glass of wine on the heated terrace was a particular highight! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

My wife and I have had the pleasure of staying with Rhona and Paul twice. It was so unbelievably good the first time we had to go back to experience it all over again!
We should be there right now, enjoying our third visit, but weather in the UK has made the long journey too risky. So thinking of them prompted me to "go to cyber-print".
Well, if you've read Ayrs & Graces reviews you may think "too good to be true" I can assure you it's all true - Rhona and Paul really do treat their guests as friends, they are unbelievably good hosts. Nothing is too much trouble and the house is fantastic.
We stayed in the Robbie Burns suite (double bedroom, large bathroom and snug living room) on both occasions - superb. Breakfast is wonderful, fresh fruits, cereals, Paul makes great porridge (with cream and a dram of whisky) - Rohna provides the cooked elements full cooked to scrambled eggs and smoked salmon all truly delicious. A genuine home from home.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayrs & Graces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayrs & Graces

Address: High Maybole Road | Carrick Lodge, Ayr KA7 4EE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AYRS and GRACES is Alloway, Ayr's only 5 STAR Bed and Breakfast. A Luxury, Boutique Style, Bed and Breakfast, and a haven and refuge, a million miles away from the stresses and strains of our modern frenetic world! Rhona and Paul very much look forward to perhaps warmly welcoming you to our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ayrs & Graces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayrs & Graces Ayr, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayrs & Graces, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.