We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel with friendly staff in good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill to your Saves list
Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Miller Road, Ayr KA7 2AX, Scotland (Formerly The Ivy Rooms)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent hotel with friendly staff in good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Just returned from a very pleasant weekend stay at The Ivy Rooms and would happily recommend it . It is excellent value for maoney and located just a short walk from the city centre . Although the hotel is currently having some renovation work done you'd never know once you're inside. It is exactly like the photos on the web.

From the minute we arrived the friendly staff made us feel very welcome. Once we'd checked in we were shown to our large, spotless, well equiped rooms. The shower rooms (no bath) were amongst the best and cleanest we've seen.

Although we did not have an evening meal in the restaurant, we can recommend the full english breakfast which was superb.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    36
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
85
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Decided last minute to go for a weekend to the sea and came across this hotel. Rooms are good and hotel in general very clean. Excellent location for the shops and eating places if your not eating in the hotel. The only downside was the barman "Wullie" that guy can talk and mostly about himself and how great his cakes are. So much for our quiet over priced drink. Appart from that yes I would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

Stayed at this fabulous hotel for 3 Nights while in Ayr visiting my family . lovely Clean spacious comfortable room , Huge bed was so good had trouble getting out of it ! . Breakfast was fastidiously prepared and the staff were helpful and really laid back .Would recommend this hotel to anyone .

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

We had a bad experience earlier this year but Ivy rooms very kindly sent us vouchers and we returned this weekend with friends and had a brilliant weekend. The hotel was beautifully decorated for christmas, the staff were very attentive, the breakfast was great and bedrooms were so warm and comfortable. We dined at the Tudor Restaurant which seems to be part of the same organisation and the food and staff were excellent. Thanks everyone it was a brilliant weekend, couldnt fault it. We will definetely be back The Browns.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

We booked our weeding in the ivy rooms and they could not have been better staff brill from start to finish
The rooms are a good size and great value food was first class.
Loved it so much we have booked to come back for new year

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

very clean,big rooms with plasma tv ,spotless bathroom with power shower ,good breakfast,and friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

I found the Ivy Rooms to be by far the nicest hotel I've stayed in on the Ayrshire coast.... And I've stayed in a good few. Greeted with a warm welcome I was shown to a huge rom boasting all the amenities you would wish for. The room alone represents superb value for money and puts many more expensive hotels in the locality to shame. I opted to dine in the restaurant that evening and the food was quite simply delicious. The breakfast that followed in the morning was of the same high standard but by this time I expected nothing less. I shall repeatedly stay in the Ivy for all future visits to the area and if you're looking for somewhere to stay I highly recommend you do the same.
Dave from Stafford

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill

Address: 11 Miller Road, Ayr KA7 2AX, Scotland (Formerly The Ivy Rooms)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ayr
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
#8 Family Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kylestrome Bar And Grill
Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill Ayr, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.