We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, friendly and very clean family run hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbotsford Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ayr
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbotsford Hotel
Save Saved
You added Abbotsford Hotel to your Saves list
14 Corsehill Road, Ayr KA7 2SE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 hotels in Ayr
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great, friendly and very clean family run hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We arrived here after leaving very disappointing accommodation elsewhere in Ayr.
Staff went out of their way to help us here.
We spent 4 nights as a family in 3 adjacent rooms.
Rooms were immaculate, beds very comfortable and bathrooms very clean, which was a great relief after previous place!
Hotel has a very homely, relaxed atmosphere with a Scottish theme in main rooms.
We were very sorry to leave this morning!
Can't wait to get back again!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    22
    5
    2
    6
See reviews for
18
27
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prestwick
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Ayr Ice Hockey Legends dinner with over a hundred diners held here again as last year a great success. Everybody easily served with hot food. Staff attentive but not intrusive. Bar staff made sure all had sufficiency in very pleasant surroundings. We will return

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Everyone was so kind, tried to offer me breakfast even though I had missed the window...I also forgot my hair straightener in the room, and the staff kindly posted it to me after I phoned, refusing money, insisting that I donate to charity instead. Room was comfy, if a little on the cold side. But the friendliness more than made up for any weakness with the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here in room 8 before a friend's wedding in Alloway. We were welcomed with a roaring fire and a friendly smile and decided to dine there for the evening. Our room was fairly spacious and the bathroom was enormous and we loved looking at all the collections in the hallways and stairs. Dinner was great delicious hearty portions. We spent some time in the original copper topped bar and tables and very much enjoyed the owner's chit chat and a little history of the hotel

Only downside was the room was a little tired but in keeping with the hotel

Room Tip: Number 8 was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Have never eaten here but it is my local ale house consistently has great pint of deuchars. Other guest ales feature but why try the rest when you can have the best. Bar staff very friendly. Food looks great though I have never tried it

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Scotland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We booked the function suite for a birthday party and a number of us also booked rooms for the night, five couples. Fantastic service from the host and his staff, couldnt do more to help make it special from arrival to leaving.

The chef even came and spoke to us at breakfast to ask if we had had a great night. Nice touch that they work as a team.

Rooms were very nice and comfortable, breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I have stayed at the Abbotsford Hotel on numerous occasions and it has always been a very pleasant stay, the staff are courteous and friendly, the rooms are clean and tidy and a suitable room temperature to sleep in. I have eaten at the hotel when I have stayed there and the food has always been of a good quality. Since staying there I have been made very welcome by both staff and locals alike, I highly recommend this hotel if you stay in Ayr.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbotsford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotsford Hotel

Address: 14 Corsehill Road, Ayr KA7 2SE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 hotels in Ayr
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbotsford is a family-run hotel established in 1966 in a residential area a short walk from Ayr town centre. Our management and staff create a warm and informal atmosphere and always ensure your stay is both comfortable and relaxing. A wide range of activities are readily accessible from the Hotel's location making it an ideal base for both sportsman and tourist alike. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbotsford Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbotsford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.