We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelling MD who needs reliable hotels to stay in.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abbotsford Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ayr
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbotsford Hotel
Save
You added Abbotsford Hotel to your Saves list
14 Corsehill Road, Ayr KA7 2SE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Ayr
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Travelling MD who needs reliable hotels to stay in.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I have stayed at the Abbotsford Hotel on numerous occasions and it has always been a very pleasant stay, the staff are courteous and friendly, the rooms are clean and tidy and a suitable room temperature to sleep in. I have eaten at the hotel when I have stayed there and the food has always been of a good quality. Since staying there I have been made very welcome by both staff and locals alike, I highly recommend this hotel if you stay in Ayr.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    24
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
20
29
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

On a busy trip, I looked forward to a rest on my final night (22nd October) at the peaceful and interesting Abbotsford Hotel. Friendly welcome, log fire, tasty meals and a very good night's sleep. I think I shall stay longer next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gullane, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

As a tour operator I chose this hotel as a lunch stop for 26 french green keepers.
I dealt with Paul who was very friendly and helpful especially as he had less than 24 hours notice to cope with a group of this size.
However cope he did and most admirably.
The French were so impressed with the food and the place that they gave him some French wine that thye had brought over as gifts to the various courses they were visiting.
I cannot comment on the rooms as I have not stayed there but the food is good and the welcome warm, and you can't ask more than that....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are cold and poorly equipped, bed sheets stained & toilet was dirty.
Staff especially bar staff are rude and unhelpful. Food very poor and not very hot.
Plenty of better hotels in Ayr just don't stay here!!! You have been warned

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Hotel is in a nice location and is a lovely old building with loads of interesting memorabilia and paintings
However most of the business is confined to the front of the Hotel which is around 30 percent of the whole building. Therefore the bar is small and the dining room even smaller
Like a lot of hotels I guess that the other facilities are only opened up for weddings and receptions
The service and the food were alright
The room was cold and not very big
This was not good value for what we were offered and what we expected

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stranraer, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed here to attend a wedding reception in another hotel. Even though we only stayed one night (wish it was more) our experience was great from the moment we arrived until we left. Pleasant and cosy surroundings, friendly and efficient staff, lovely room, great food at reasonable prices, generally a place I would be happy to recommend. We live not too far away and would certainly come here again even if it was just to eat. A good sign too when a place is popular with the locals.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Spent the weekend at the Abbotsford with my bother and father. Paul, the proprietor, had phoned around on our behalf and booked early tee times at Belleisle and Troon Fullarton which were both very enjoyable courses.

The hotel was perfect for us with lots of atmosphere, immaculately clean (which must be some work with all the quirky curios and that fill the place!), great food and very attentive staff. So much more fun than a hotel chain. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbotsford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotsford Hotel

Address: 14 Corsehill Road, Ayr KA7 2SE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ayr
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbotsford is a family-run hotel established in 1966 in a residential area a short walk from Ayr town centre. Our management and staff create a warm and informal atmosphere and always ensure your stay is both comfortable and relaxing. A wide range of activities are readily accessible from the Hotel's location making it an ideal base for both sportsman and tourist alike. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbotsford Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbotsford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.