We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand new and very friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse to your Saves list
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse
Wheatpark Place, Ayr KA8 9RT, Scotland (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Ayr)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ayr
Kettering, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Brand new and very friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Went past it on A77 but soon found it on outskirts of Prestwick. Very modern hotel with a bar and restaurant on ground floor next to reception. A very friendly greeting and the usual layout of room, shower room no bath.
Had the £22 meal deal and went to the vey comfortable restaurant and was greeted by Laura an asset to the hotel and ambassador for Scotland.
The food was better than i expected and great value. So much so that i couldnt do the excellent breakfast served by the same lady, who remembered my name from the evening before.
Very convenient for Ayr and Prestwick Airport.
Well done Premiere another success.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    114
    36
    7
    10
See reviews for
91
176
13
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lanarkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have just returned from Premier Inn Ayr we enjoyed a relaxing weekend with friendly staff on reception and the lovely waitress who served us in the restaurant. The room was spacious and clean I think the hotel has just been refurbished, my husband loved the shower I missed my bath :) The hotel has no rooms with baths but was fine for a weekend. Food was delicious had sirloin steak with trimming. Premier Inn's are great value especially if you book in advance and book online. Looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located for a day at the races, just a short drive from Ayr Racecourse.

The In-house restaurant is quite small and on a busy evening you could be waiting a while for a table. we did not have dinner there as we went to the Frankie and Benny's across the road. We did have drinks and breakfast in the bar area and the staff were very friendly.

The rooms are your usual Premier Inn standard however they do not have a bath just a shower cubicle but this is clearly stated in the room description.

Overall an okay hotel, not the best Premier Inn I have stayed in but you really can't go wrong with Premier Inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed with my wife over a Saturday. Hotel busy with a variety of clients - nevertheless staff very polite and efficient despite busy spells. Room totally up to standard - clean and fresh. Drinks from the bar reasonably priced and a good selection on offer.
Breakfast of excellent quality and value - food consistently refreshed.
My wife took particular notice of the staff and on checking out commented on how friendly and efficient they had been from the manager to the housemaids.
A Premier Inn to return to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent value. Room with disabled facility provided a large wetfloor shower. Staff very friendly & helpful,
Totally relaxing stay. No early checkout leaving plenty of time to enjoy an all you can eat breakfast
which is a bonus to look forward to.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Premier Inn had taken over from Holiday Inn. We found no difference in service. Staff were exceptional (hello Lauren or Laura). We ate a couple of times here, meals were adequate and inexpensive, rooms comfortable.
Only drawback - we booked and paid in full when we organised it through Expedia back in March.
Upon arrival they took our credit card details and when I checked out, found they had charged us for the room again. When this was pointed out, staff were very good, and they were going to follow up. As I had a plane to catch, I couldn't hang around so they were given contact details. I've been back in Australia 3 weeks and have not heard a thing, I emailed Premier Inn, no response.
We were also charged for breakfast and were told that under the Holiday Inn booking, this was included.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duns, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Typical of every Premier Inn basic, clean and good value. We were allocated a room equipped for disabled persons which was not really suitable for us. Single beds were too short for my 6' plus husband. Easy parking with security barrier. We ate at the on site restaurant and we were rather disappointed. Before we had even ordered we were informed we have no new potatoes, baked potatoes etc etc the list seemed endless. We settled on the curry only to be informed there was no naan bread or vegetable side dish available. Staff were pleasant and attentive. We would stay again but would request a double bed in a room not adapted for the disabled and eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse

Address: Wheatpark Place, Ayr KA8 9RT, Scotland (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Ayr)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ayr
#4 Family Hotel in Ayr
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
#7 Business Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn AyrA77Racecourse is located just 3.5 Miles from Glasgow Prestwick International Airport and from some of the best historic Golf Courses in Scotland including Royal Troon and Turnberry. The hotel is just minutes drive away from Ayr Racecourse home of the Scottish Grand National and William Hill Ayr Gold Cup. We are also only 5 miles away from the Burns Birthplace Museum where you will see the birthplace of Robert Burns. Surrounded by the beautiful coastline of the Firth of Clyde with good access to Kilmarnock and Glasgow, our Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds and an onsite restaurant serving a mix of contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ayr Hotel Ayr
Ayr Holiday Inn
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.