We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse to your Saves list
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse
Wheatpark Place, Ayr KA8 9RT, Scotland (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Ayr)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ayr
West of Scotland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
347 helpful votes 347 helpful votes
“Even better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel during its previous incarnation as a Holiday Inn Express and enjoyed it immensely. We were worried that standards might have changed with new ownership but I am delighted to say that we were delighted with what we found. Of course the brighter Holiday Inn décor has been replaced by Premier Inn's dark purples which is acceptable and accentuates the warm welcome. And speaking of warm welcomes, the young lady (dark hair) who was on duty was charming. efficient and kind and without doubt an asset to this company.

The room although not as capacious as other Premier Inns was spotless. The bathroom was gleaming and the bedding and beds were exemplary. On my last visit, I expressed dismay at the appalling TV facilities but this time I was delighted to see brand new Samsung TVs with full Freeview service. Another good feature is that the TVs are, 'governed' to a certain volume level so as to reduced disturbance to fellow guests. Quite a good idea really.

One caution I would offer is that you should not fully close your window because internal ventilation is very poor and you might as I did, wake up during the night gasping for air! The heating system works beautifully (once we got the hang of it). You might also find external noise to be annoying. Boy racers and large trucks regularly hammer past but then, none of this is the fault of the hotel and I'm certain that you would be given a room at the back of the hotel on request.

We didn't eat in the hotel so really cannot comment on the quality but there is a retail park 100 yards down the road with an abundance of food joints. Ayr itself has plenty of excellent restaurants catering to most tastes.

We didn't take breakfast because we felt that at near £9 it was rather too expensive despite the 'all you can eat'. We chose to have a Tesco breakfast which cost half the price.

We paid £29 which was a bargain in anyone's terms. If you are able to book at least a month in advance, Premier Inn almost always offers bargains like this. The regular price of £84 is laughable and anyone who willingly pays this to stay in a budget hotel in the West of Scotland is either desperate or daft!

Finally, be aware that this hotel is quite far from the centre of Ayr and just as far from the Racecourse. Walking would not be an option and I did not see any local buses or bus stops nearby. I think it should have been called, 'Ayr South' because suggesting it is near the Racecourse is an exaggeration to say the least.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    114
    36
    7
    10
See reviews for
91
175
13
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tenerife
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed 3 nights here, 13/9, 16/9 and 17/9. Rooms very clean, staff very helpful and friendly. Bar area basic but ok for a couple of drinks. Didn't eat here so can't comment on food. Excellent value for money

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We thought we should have a break away to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We opted to choose a premier Inn that we had not stayed in before. After booking a meal deal we were left dissapointed. Dont know how long we had to wait between courses but i know we were overall 2 hours from start to finish. My vegetarian option was inedible and had to be returned to the kitchen where we had an unsatisfactory explaination from the kitchen staff. I was very hungry by this time and finished by having a plate of chips as I did not want to wait any longer!!!
The hotel itself was its usual high standard of cleanliness. The staff were freindly and helpful.
There was only a shower in the room no bath. The handle fell off the window when we closed the curtains and to top it off we were asked to evacuate the building when the fire alarm was raised. It has not put us off returning to Premier Inns, however maybe give this one a chance to get over their possible teething problems!!

Room Tip: find out where the stairs are
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Rarely have we had to write a review such as this for a Premier Inn but here goes anyway.Stayed for two nights recently for a short break. This was the only hotel we could find within reach of our planned area, but on reflection wished we had looked a little harder! The hotel was obviously formerly a Holiday Inn revamped in the Premier Inn style - comfortable,clean and modern. But if you wish for a peaceful night sleep don't accept a third floor room. Ours had the constant drone of some sort of machine on the roof above us and the bathroom fan just would not turn off with or without the key card in situ. The car park around the back is a bit inconvenient as there is no designated walkway round to the front and the lighting was not switched on at all - an oversite according to reception and she has to park there too! Restaurant was a bit of a shambles. We had to wait for half an hour for a table as there was a private party booked in- no problem- that came when we ordered our meal. It didn't come after twenty minutes waiting and we were told on enquiring that there was none left! Great, so we ordered a distinctly bland and unappetising lasagne which came with only a choice of one side -salad, garlic bread or chips - not impressed at all. Maybe they are having teething troubles with a whole new restaurant and staff or just incompetent ???

Room Tip: Don't go for the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Arran, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

not had a great time off late but had a very enjoyable rest at this hotel everything was great wish we could have stayed a bit longer but will definitely return soon the hotel has just changed hands recently didnt have dinner there as we were eating at a friends but the menu looked interesting too much choice but we did have fab breakfast in the morning and had a look around the hotel very colourful and a very secure car park staff very helpful and friendly

Room Tip: near the main rd but had a great nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here when we attended a wedding in Ayr. Perfect that we were on the outskirts and close to the Ayr by-pass. Excellent sized rooms and fantastic bathroom. Shame other Premier Inns don't have same bathrooms. First time had the buffet breakfast which is a bit expensive. Staff all very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid a room near to the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darley Dale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This was the first time I'd stayed at a Premier Inn and I was pleasantly surprised. I was expecting nothing much to be premier about it. The rooms are adequate with a comfortable bed, the only downside is the window will only open an inch and apparently this is to stop you jumping out but really its not that bad to drive you to do such a thing. Staff were very friendly and surprisingly helpful. Breakfast was good with a wide choice and constantly topped up. Slight downside is its in the middle of nowhere so you need a car to drive into town. Slightly irritating is the refurb banging starts around 8.30 and workmen seem to have full access to all rooms which is worrying when you carry expensive equipment for work. All in not bad

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse

Address: Wheatpark Place, Ayr KA8 9RT, Scotland (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Ayr)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ayr
#4 Family Hotel in Ayr
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
#7 Business Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn AyrA77Racecourse is located just 3.5 Miles from Glasgow Prestwick International Airport and from some of the best historic Golf Courses in Scotland including Royal Troon and Turnberry. The hotel is just minutes drive away from Ayr Racecourse home of the Scottish Grand National and William Hill Ayr Gold Cup. We are also only 5 miles away from the Burns Birthplace Museum where you will see the birthplace of Robert Burns. Surrounded by the beautiful coastline of the Firth of Clyde with good access to Kilmarnock and Glasgow, our Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds and an onsite restaurant serving a mix of contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ayr Hotel Ayr
Ayr Holiday Inn
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.