We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muirburn House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ayr
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Muirburn House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Muirburn House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Annbank Road, Annbank, Ayr KA6 5AG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 62 Ayr B&B and Inns
Lubbock, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Without a doubt, the best B&B we stayed in during our 16 day adventure. Margaret and Stuart have outdone themselves in amenities and special touches. Homemade cookies and fruitcake to start and a room that was completely delightful. There is a beautiful garden patio to sit out on and sip your tea at dusk. The breakfast room was set beautifully, attention to every detail. Stuart made us a reservation at the Stair Inn and gave us directions. Dinner was good, but was glad to get back to the room and into the comfy bed. Could have stayed several days!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
55
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

Stayed with margaret and Stuart the week-end we took our daughter to university.
They made our stay so special, the warm welcome, the food and the hospitality is beyond compare to any other B&B we have ever stayed in, and we have stayed in a few throught-out this country and abroad.
If you are looking for that extra special place to stay then Muirburn House is the place to visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

We B & B 'd through Ireland and the UK for 2 months and this stands out by miles as the best and yet was surprisingly very competitively priced. Margaret and her husband have ticked all the boxes, from home made cookies and cake upon arrival to the quality of bed linen and robes provided. The mattress was fantastic. Nothing was too much bother for them. This is how they ALL should be but then again our stay in Muirburn would not then have been so special. If ever we return to Scotland we will definetly have an extended stay in this fantastic B & B.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagsAyr, Owner at Muirburn House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Muirburn and that you feel our little B & B was the highlight of all your accommodation experiences during your 2 months in Britain. Our aim first and foremost, is to ensure our guests have a relaxing time and feel at home here so I'm glad we managed to achieve that for you and we were able to help make your trip an unforgettable experience - in a good way!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We recently stayed for one night en route to Cairnryan from the Highlands and - I'm not prone to exaggeration - it was perfection. Every possible detail was attended to and personal touches were everywhere. Margaret and Stuart are lovely genuine people who take great care to give you a warm welcome and then give you plenty of space and privacy to enjoy their home. The room, bed and en suite were spotlessly clean and comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful. We had a dinner reservation in nearly Enterkine House and Margaret insisted on dropping us off and collecting us which made it very convenient and a very nice end to our holiday. This B&B is also very convenient to Preswick airport (if you've got a car). We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagsAyr, Owner at Muirburn House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Thank you so much for your wonderful review - it is especially gratifying as you have travelled a great deal as evidenced by the number of contributions to TA you have made, so we are honoured that you think everything at Muirburn is perfection! We did thoroughly enjoy having you here and glad we were able to make the last night of your holiday so special.
Looking forward to seeing you again when we will ensure you enjoy more of the same good hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We were travelling with my partners parents from abroad so the pressure was on to find great accommodation yet keep connected with the culture which I find you can do by staying in B&Bs. We were lucky that two rooms were available the week before arrival in Scotland but apparently this is not usual in the summer months. We were warmly greeted by Margaret and Stuart and showed around. They live and work as a small farm set in a quiet village just 30 mins away from Glasgow and in a central location to all the coastal golf courses. We were instantly amazed by how beautifully maintained the rooms were and delighted in their attention to detail. We could tell that they have poured their energy into creating their B&B and take pride in offering a quality, comfortable stay. Cake and biscuits were left in the hallway along with heaps of travel information. The room facilities and breakfast were 5*. We were unfortunate to have a punctured tyre during our stay and Margaret was so sympathetic and did what she could to help which we really appreciated. We fell in love with Scotland and have no doubt that our stay at Muirburn House on our first night was a good sign (even with the puncture!). Margaret and Stuart were most friendly and hospitable and next time we hope to meet the animals!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagsAyr, Owner at Muirburn House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 20, 2010
Its always pressure when you are the one who has to make arrangements for others so we are so glad that your choice came up trumps with your party and the others felt you had made the right decision to stay here at Muirburn!
We're glad that you all found everything to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable - hopefully the puncture didn't take the edge off that!
Looking forward to seeing you again when we will introduce you to Snap, Crackle and Pop, the pet pigs and if you can stand it, our "little" dog Ghillie, the Irish Wolfhound! The horses you no doubt noticed - peering in your bedroom french doors in the morning when you woke!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River Junction, Vermont
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

A most enjoyable and comfortable overnight. Our hosts were friendly and very accommodating. Breakfast was excellent and facility delightful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagsAyr, Owner at Muirburn House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 29, 2010
Hi Judy
Thank you so much for your review - great to see it finally appeared! It was good that you and your cousin enjoyed your couple of nights here with us at Muirburn and you found everything you needed to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable! I know there are some fantastic B & Bs where you come from so it was good to know we didn't disappoint! Looking forward to seeing you again if you are ever in Scotland in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

These reviews do not lie folks, we booked our stay at Muirburn on the strength of TripAdvisors reviews and we were blown away with the level of hospitality, service and the sheer quality of the B&B. Margaret and Stuart are two of the loveliest people you will ever meet. We will certainly visit again and look forwad to doing so.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagsAyr, Owner at Muirburn House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 20, 2010
Many thanks for leaving such lovely comments on your stay here. It was so nice to meet you and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay at the start of your holiday - we were even more delighted that you enjoyed Muirburn so much that you changed your plans to come back and spend the last three days with us! We'd love to have you back for a "catch up"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Muirburn House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muirburn House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Annbank Road, Annbank, Ayr KA6 5AG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottish Tourist Board luxury bed and breakfast accommodation in beautifully restored farmhouse, 4 miles from Ayr/Prestwick, 5 miles from Prestwick Airport and 2 miles from main A(M)77 route. Fully equipped ground floor en suite rooms with separate entrance in courtyard setting and direct access to decked area overlooking beautiful countryside. Ample parking. Secure storage for golf clubs, etc. Our breakfasts are legendary using free range and local produce and featuring many home made items. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Muirburn House Bed & Breakfast Ayr, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muirburn House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.