We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Airport Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Abbotsinch, Paisley PA3 2TE, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Paisley
Kilbirnie, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Airport Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here prior to flying out to New York. Could not be handier for the airport. The staff are very friendly and the rooms are as you would expect from a Holiday Inn but perhaps the decor is starting to show it's age.
Bar prices are a bit expensive but comparable with similar hotels.

Room Tip: Internet advance booking is competitive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan B, Guest Experience Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear David

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport. As you pointed out, its a great tip to book online and in advance. Booking direct also you get the best rate available online, guaranteed!

Thank you, and see you again soon!

Duncan Boyd
Guest Experience Manager
duncan.boyd@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    458
    250
    108
    67
See reviews for
130
466
140
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

So my room is clean apart from a couple of curly black hairs in the bathroom...I can deal with that. But no wifi when I'm here with work?! And it's like £11 for a main meal....maybe I'm just too Yorkshire.
Right outside airport though so can't argue that!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan B, Guest Experience Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Poodleabroad

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay overall, however it definitely seems we dropped the ball when it comes to our attention to detail. I do hope you will accept my apologies.

We do have wifi available throughout the hotel, with a range of packages available, so I am curious to find out how you could not access. If you have any further details, please drop me a line so that i may investigate.

Thank you and I hope to see you again soon.

Duncan Boyd
Guest Experience Manager
duncan.boyd@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

on checking in we were allocated a twin room we advised the receptionist we had booked a double room . She checked but said they were no double rooms available my husband showed her the details he had downloaded from the internet showing it was a double room that had been booked three months in advance she apologised and upgraded us to a suite. We were really impressed,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan B, Guest Experience Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Diana P

Thank you for your review of Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport

It's really encouraging to hear that, when we do get things a little wrong, that we are able to recover appropriately, and go that little bit further to say sorry. It looks like you were booked though a third party agent, and unfortunately, sometimes we cant always guarantee a room type preference.

Its always a good idea to book direct with the hotel, that way we can guarantee a specific room type, and offer our best rates available, guaranteed!

I can't promise a Suite every time you stay, but I can promise you we will do our very best to ensure you have an enjoyable stay.

Thank You

Duncan Boyd
Guest Experience Manager
duncan.boyd@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I first used this hotel about 40 years ago when it was (I think) a Stakis Hotel - The Excelsior. Over the decades it has had an number of re-incarnations and owners and I have stayed and had good and very bad experiences. What has remained constant is it's great location. Travelling to/from Glasgow airport with a morning or evening flight means you can take the train to Glasgow, catch the ( free for over 60s ! ) airport bus direct to the terminal and cross the road into the hotel. You can even put your heavy luggage onto a trolley at the terminal and wheel it straight up to your bedroom.
Seeking some winter sunshine I booked a room this year for late January and also for our return in early February. The reservation was made online through Booking.com at £38 for the first stay and £54 for the second - no complaints there! A most friendly and efficient booking in procedure. No messing with paperwork - just state your name and provide a signature.
On each occasion we were told we had been upgraded to an executive room. I don't know about the standard room, but the executive room was not overly large. A good sized desk area with swivel chair and a large flat screen TV, almost too big for the room; a comfortable bed together with safe, fridge and trouser press - what more do you need? Negatives - a VERY deep short bath and finger prints on both inner and outer window panes. There is no free wi-fi anywhere in the hotel which I would expect to have if I was paying the full room tariff. Checking out was just as quick and easy as checking in.
Overall, if you require accommodation at Glasgow Airport this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan B, Guest Experience Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Highland-Mike

Thanks for choosing to stay again at Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport, and for reviewing you stay with us.

We do appreciate you returning to us year after year, and it is with our compliments and thanks we were able to offer a complimentary upgrade for your continued and valued loyalty.

You will be in a unique position to see just how far we have come in over 40 years at Glasgow Airport. I would love to catch up with you next time you are in the hotel and see if you had any further feedback we could use as a tool to improve our service.

Here's to another 40 years welcoming you back to the hotel!

Thank you

Duncan Boyd
Guest Experience Manager
duncan.boyd@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Glamorgan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Visit this hotel quite a lot. Always professional attentive staff, good bar area and very good standard of food in the restaurant.
Rooms are fit for purpose, although the air heating/cooling can be noisy in some rooms. Would benefit from free wi-fi and a gym, but overall fine.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan B, Guest Experience Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Prairie_Pete

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. You will be pleased to know that we continue to invest in our A/C/Heating system, working towards more efficient, silent running machines.

As you are one of our regular guests, perhaps you have a preferred room when you stay with us? Drop me an email before your next visit and let me sort this for you.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon

Duncan Boyd
Guest Experience Manager
duncan.boyd@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lohmar, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

After two short flights to Glasgow, this hotel was a sight for sore eyes. Out of arrivals in the airport and straight into the Hotel -Great!!

Check-in smooth and quick. The room was very small (but hey this is Glasgow Airport so no problem). Also the overall cleanliness was top (but ? see later)

Went down to the bar and had some food and a couple of pints of beer - again great. Breakfast was also super.

The price (without breakfast) 75 GB pounds, also OK

The downside of the hotel

Internet 5 pounds/hour (why do hotels always rip customers off with this service?).

The bath tub drain was full of hair (especially the ladies love this)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan B, Guest Experience Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Brian C

Thank you for your review following your stay at Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport

Our location at Glasgow Airport, just 39 steps from Arrivals, is certainly unrivalled, and a welcome sight for weary travellers after long flights.

I am pleased you enjoyed our food and beverage options, including our award winning breakfast buffet, but it seems we have, on this occasion missed an opportunity to impress you with our normal high cleanliness standards. I am sorry for this, and thank you for bringing the matter to our attention.

I hope it isn't too long before we have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Duncan Boyd
Guest Experience Manager
duncan.boyd@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed overnight as I had an unearthly hour of the morning flight. The room was clean, with a well equipped bathroom. The room was quite spacious with a decent desk for working.
Dinner in the restaurant was a highlight, the food was some of the best tasted in a 'corporate' hotel, and service was prompt and friendly.
I would definitiely stay here again, it takes away any hassle ariving for the flight being a two minute walk from the terminal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan B, Guest Experience Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Scot_Happy_Snapper

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport, and for taking the time to post a review.

Its truly fantastic to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I have already taken the liberty of sharing your comments with our Food and Beverage team, and I know they will be equally enthused to hear that they delivered a memorable meal and stay.

Thank you again, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Duncan Boyd
Guest Experience Manager
duncan.boyd@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport

Address: Abbotsinch, Paisley PA3 2TE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Paisley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Paisley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport is the ideal Hotel for those on business or enjoying a holiday in Scotland. Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport is the closest hotel to Glasgow Airport and only 10 minutes from Glasgow City Centre where fabulous shopping and nightlife is in abundance, an ideal base for anyone enjoying a City Break or many of the City Key Attractions. Direct Motorway access provides quick and easy links to the major Tourist Attraction of Loch Lomond, The Trossachs, Stirling and Edinburgh. While the Golf Attractions of Troon & Ayrshire are also within easy reach. For guests who need Long Stay Car Parking, the Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport has superb Park Stay & Go Packages which include Great Value Secure Parking for upto 15 days. For the Corporate Business Traveller there is the added benefit of our Academy Meeting & Events Facility with a great range of services. Please select the Meetings & Business link at the top of this page for full details. Our IHG Rewards Club members can now enjoy FREE WIFI Access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport Paisley, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.