We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid hotel, a few rough edges” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Abbotsinch, Paisley PA3 2TE, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Paisley
UK
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Solid hotel, a few rough edges”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed here as all the hotels in the city centre were fully booked. Landed quite late so was a bit disappointed to be told that my room had been cancelled. This was quickly rectified, but neither the hotel nor central reservations have been able to explain what happened. As promised on the website, the hotel is right across the street from the terminal building.

As a Platinum member of their loyalty scheme, I received an "upgrade" which was actually a bag containing a bottle of water, some biscuits and a small bottle of white wine. Nice gesture, but of course the wine wasn't cold!

Thought i'd nip down to the bar - it was very busy after a football match had been on the TV with staff rushed off their feet - no hope of getting served so retreated to my room.

Breakfast in the morning was passable although some of the staff could perhaps practice using their "indoor voice" as i'd say to my kids. A gruff West of Scotland accent bellowing after 6hrs sleep isn't the best start to the day.

Easy journey into the city for meetings the next day - I'd rather stay in town, but a useful backstop, especially if arriving late.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan B, Guest Experience Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Its always great to hear from one of our most loyal and valued Platinum Priority Club members, so thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport.

I appreciate your candid and honest feedback, and please rest assured this has now been shared with the rest of the Management team as some great examples of how we can improve our service.

I'd love to look into your room being mysteriously cancelled. Perhaps you could drop me an email with your stay details so that I can investigate further?

Next time you are in the Glasgow Airport area, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel.

Duncan Boyd
Guest Experience Manager
duncan.boyd@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    499
    270
    116
    69
See reviews for
138
507
151
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were very impressed with all aspects of this Holiday Inn, and our only criticism is that we found the pillows uncomfortable. Lovely welcome from a charming receptionist, spotlessly clean room with wonderful TV options and good tea making set.We had a most enjoyable meal in the restaurant downstairs and the following morning, just a wee stumble over the road to the terminal.....highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan B, Guest Experience Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hi Allan

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport.

We do offer a selection of pillows, so its disappointing to hear that you found them uncomfortable, however I will certainly pass your comments onto our housekeeping team.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the near future. Please drop me an email before your next stay, and I will make sure we have your chosen pillow softness/filling available, ensuring you get a great nights rest before your next "stumble" over to the airport!

Thank you for your review.

Duncan Boyd
Guest Experience Manager
duncan.boyd@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

You really wouldn't think you were in an Airport Hotel at all. Great Breakfast facilities, even has a Pancake Machine...yum!! Nice Bar food in evenings. Lovely staff especially Jo the Housemaid who looked after us so well. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan B, Guest Experience Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay.

It's great to hear that Jo looked after you so well during your stay. I have already shared this review with her, and she was delighted to hear your comments.

Guests love our new Pancake machine. The fresh made pancakes are delicious. The team were invited to test the machine before it was installed. I swear had to put two extra holes in my belt after that day!

Thank you, and please visit us again soon.

Duncan Boyd
Guest Experience Manager
duncan.boyd@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have stayed here over 25 years pre- holidays.
This year the Staff were brilliant. They kept some luggage for us for 2 weeks , till our return.
The rooms were clean, functional and we are fasmiliar with hotel.
Lots of rooms now have safes and mini bar removed.
On our outward 2 night stay they kindly upgraded us and gave us robes and a bottle of wine in the room.
Reception allowed us to leave our money, passports, tickets etc..in their own safe and stored gifts in the kitchen fridge.
NOTHING was a problem..smiling faces and I cant thank them enough .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan B, Guest Experience Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
It's always great to hear from our regular guests. You are in a unique position to see the changes we are making at Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport, and I can see this is reflected since your last review.

We are constantly looking for ways to improve our service, and it seems that we are well on the way to delivering not just a good service, but a great service.

I have shared your comments with our Front Office team, who join with me in sending our thanks for taking the time to review your stay. The are equally enthused to hear that they contributed to you having a great experience.

Next time you are flying out of Glasgow Airport please drop me an email as I would love to meet you personally.

Thank you again.

Duncan Boyd
Guest Experience Manager
duncan.boyd@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon,england
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Have stayed here on several occasions while flying up for Celtic matches and have always found it a more than suitable for an overnight stay,close to the terminal,clean rooms,friendly staff and a decent bar and breakfast facilities in the morning.Very reasonably priced and good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Ideal for an overnight stay before flying out of Glasgow airport - just a donder across the road for check in - so the location would sell this hotel anyway: no incentive therefore to provide much of a service,eh? Not a bit of it - the quality is improving all the time. Evening meals and breakfast have improved both in quality of ingredients and preparation, the staff both local and foreign are extremely attentive and pleasant- Hi there Pat!- and the hotel have brought breakfast forward to start at 5 am so those of us with early flights can indulge in the ultimate luxury of early bag check then back across the road for leisurely cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

On arrival the carpark is TINY! With many cars all squished in, not a good start.
At reception, we had a little wait. Service was average.
The room, was horrid!! It was tiny, the walls are paper thin, I swear I could hear everything the couple next door were saying!
The bathroom was dirty. There was writing on the mirror (from when it was steamy I presume) and there were hairs on the floor, in the bathtub! Just Urgh!!
Such a shame because the location is fantastic.
Just think it needs a little sprouse up and new cleaners!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport

Address: Abbotsinch, Paisley PA3 2TE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Paisley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paisley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport is the ideal Hotel for those on business or enjoying a holiday in Scotland. Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport is the closest hotel to Glasgow Airport and only 10 minutes from Glasgow City Centre where fabulous shopping and nightlife is in abundance, an ideal base for anyone enjoying a City Break or many of the City Key Attractions. Direct Motorway access provides quick and easy links to the major Tourist Attraction of Loch Lomond, The Trossachs, Stirling and Edinburgh. While the Golf Attractions of Troon & Ayrshire are also within easy reach. For guests who need Long Stay Car Parking, the Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport has superb Park Stay & Go Packages which include Great Value Secure Parking for upto 15 days. For the Corporate Business Traveller there is the added benefit of our Academy Meeting & Events Facility with a great range of services. Please select the Meetings & Business link at the top of this page for full details. Our IHG Rewards Club members can now enjoy FREE WIFI Access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport Paisley, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.